Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seller's finest moment with a bit of birdy num num
I've read some reviews of The Party in which Peter Sellers plays the Indian actor Hurundi V Bakshi, and these reviews make out it's a racist and offensive film.....and if you think so, you're probably not an Indian. Speaking as an Indian, I don't know any Indian who hasn't fallen in love with this film.
Sellers is in Hollywood, playing the part of a really bad actor...
Published on 18 Dec 2004 by shantnwcubed

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "In India, we don't think who we are. We know who we are."
Peter Sellers plays a bumbling Indian actor who after inadvertantly ruining the most expensive scene in a film shoot is accidentally invited to a high class party of film-types and socialites. Seeing a white actor being darkened up to look Indian and put on an accent is a bit cringeworthy these days and doesn't make for the most comfortable of viewing, but it has to be...
Published on 24 Sep 2010 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seller's finest moment with a bit of birdy num num, 18 Dec 2004
This review is from: The Party (2 Disc Special Edition) [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
I've read some reviews of The Party in which Peter Sellers plays the Indian actor Hurundi V Bakshi, and these reviews make out it's a racist and offensive film.....and if you think so, you're probably not an Indian. Speaking as an Indian, I don't know any Indian who hasn't fallen in love with this film.
Sellers is in Hollywood, playing the part of a really bad actor. After causing disaster on the set, he is fired, and through an unfortunate incident, accidently invited to the film producer's house for an A list Hollywood party. At the party, he causes havoc and mayhem, and his lovable character is a fish out of water, showing up the Hollywood celebs for the grandiose, pompous self-indulgent people that they are.
Hurundi will make you laugh so much, you will hurt from getting stitches. As an Indian, we all have relatives living in Europe and the USA who just do one or two things which seem strange to anyone who isn't an Indian (I only found this out after marrying a Scot), however, Hurundi does all of these things. He is a painful reminder to Indians how ridiculous we can all be, and he is an even more painful reminder to non-Indians of how ridiculous the rest of the world can be.
If you love Goodness Gracious Me, watch it, you'll love it! I guarantee it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 28 May 2004
By 
This review is from: The Party (2 Disc Special Edition) [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
Some may find his portrayal of an Indian offensive. Some may say it's not politically correct.
I am an Indian (UK born though). Speaking from an Indians point of view , and having shared viewing of this movie with family and people of other ethnic backgrounds I can honestly say this has to be the best amalgamation of typical Indian traits I have ever had the pleasure of watching.
I have met so many people with parts of the quirks and ingrained politeness that Sellers so accurately put together. I watch the movie and at least one person watching with me can say that is so like someone they know. It really is genius!
Watch this movie. If you're Indian I would recommend it even more. Take it as it's meant - fun!
Fave bits: the scene when he is too polite to excuse himself to go to the bathroom while a pretty lady sings for the crowd.
The bird cage bit and how he manages to bungle things up and still manages to....well that would be telling now!
Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A deserved cult classic, 8 Dec 2006
By 
J. Taylor "Wagnerian" (Cambridgeshie, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Party (2 Disc Special Edition) [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
'The Party' is something of an archetypal Blake Edwards film in that it was dismissed by both critics and audiences on its first release, but over the years has subsequently become something of a cult favourite. In this case, the film is not only considered (rightly) to be a classic Edwards-Sellers collaboration, but also something of a milestone in comedy cinematic history with its largely improvised style hanging off a very thin, almost non-existent plot.

What makes it all the more a remarkable achievement is that it was made at a time when both director and star were in the middle of something of a career rut - neither having had a solid hit since 'A Shot in the Dark' 4 years previously, Sellers was to appear in the hideously overdone 'Casino Royale' before sliding into virtual obscurity, appearing in a series of minor and largely forgettable films (two of which where considered so poor by the distributors that they were never released!), while Edwards was to go on to make the hugely expensive flop 'Darling Lili' and fared no better with his big screen version of 'Gunn' and his John Ford-esque western 'Wild Rovers', both performed badly at the box-office and nearly made Edwards give up moviemaking and retire to Europe! Only with 'The Return of the Pink Panther' in 1974 did both their careers finally get back on track.

As mentioned before, 'The Party' was largely improvised, with a slender script of just 60 pages being used as a basic outline for scenes. This is perhaps why the film is so well loved as it gives both star and director a chance to work on their greatest strengths: Edwards for setting up farcical slapstick comedy situations, and Sellers the chance to give a glorious character-based interpretation. As for accusations of political incorrectnness, the main character of Hirundi V Bakshi is very much the hero of the story, with the audience sympathising with him every step of the way. His inpetness makes him endearing and there is none of the "funny foreigner" antics that make other comedies like 'Mind Your Language' and 'It Aint Half Hot Mum' embarassing to watch today. Sellers was a great admirer of Indian culture and his mannerisms displayed here are not played for laughs or to stereotype but are part of the characters reactions to the mayhem around him. The villains of the piece are the snobbish Hollywood moguls and moneymen who make up Tinsletowns ruling elite (Edwards was to treat them much harsher in his later satire 'S.O.B.').

The DVD presentation is excellent, with a beautifully sharp anamorphic picture and remastered digital 5.1 stereo sound. The extras include a making of documentray and a rather technical feature about the early use of videotape to replay scenes just shot (a standrad practice in all moviemaking nowadays).

A highly reccomended comedy classic to cherish, with plenty of laugh-out-loud moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Sellers at his hysterical best, 5 May 2004
This review is from: The Party (2 Disc Special Edition) [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
Peter Sellers greatest, and (possibly) least known comedy is coming - June 7th
It's previously only been available to those that have multi-region DVD's - so for us luddites the wait is over !
Peter Sellers plays an Indian actor, who finds himself at a top movie producers Hollywood party - enjoy the ensuing mayhem.
There are so many reasons why I love this film:
It's classic Blake Edwards 60's comedy slapstick
It's Peter playing the bumbling Indian actor that make's this film such a classic - he does the innocent fool so well!
So many superbly timed jokes - the bird seed scene is among my favourite
A fantastic script
It's my single most sought after DVD
If you haven't seen this film before, & you enjoy the Pink Panther series - Slapsick comedy - get this on pre-order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sellers on Top Form!!, 4 April 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Party (2 Disc Special Edition) [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
I love Peter Sellers, especially when he's on top form and here, he is most definitely. So much so, feeling a little poorly I stuck the DVD in the player as soon as it arrived. Normally, DVDs can take days/weeks, even months before I get round to seeing them.

I had seen this on TV many years before and after purchasing the Pink Panther complete set online, I added 'The Party'. Why not, I thought.

The gags are both visual and spoken, expected and unexpected. When you expect the expected, the unexpected actually happens, no doubt helped by seasoned Sellers director, Blake Edwards.

Many have written reviews going into those gags in detail and the validity of an English comic actor playing an Indian but all that takes up valuable laughing time. So, watch it, laugh and soak up the crazy late swinging '60s fashions and furnishings. Watch out too, for the tiddly waiter who says almost nothing but is almost as funny as Sellers.

The 2 disc Special Edition has a short colour accompanying booklet which is fun and on the bonus disc, it is listed as having 'The Party Revolution:"A New Technology" featurette (whatever that might be!), a documentary and several profiles, original trailer and some extra Sellers interviews and clips. Subtitles for the main film are in 12 of the most common European languages.

If you enjoy Clouseau (and who does not?) then this a must and should be on prescription (the DVD is currently about half the cost of an item on prescription - and gets to work straight away!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Old School Comedy Proving that Old Really is Gold!, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Party (2 Disc Special Edition) [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
This reminds me so much of my childhood where my and my dad would watch this together. My very inexpressive and serious father would then laugh till he cried. Lol. This film really is hilarious and not offensive at all - I am British Pakistani and love this!!! Birdie Num Nums was particularly funny (you'll know what I mean when you buy it and watch it)! :D

Peter Sellers was a genius - to think he improvised through most of the film really demonstrates his talents to the world. RIP dude - you're alive through our laughter!

Buy this people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it's a party, 7 Mar 2010
By 
J. J. W. Heemst (The Hague Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Party (2 Disc Special Edition) [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
It's a vintage movie but it's still hilarious. Peter sellers is brilliant in the role
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun dvd., 12 Oct 2009
By 
A. W. Adams "eng.berty" (cornwall, england.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Party (2 Disc Special Edition) [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen this dvd many years ago and thought what a very
funy film ,I laugh all the way thro it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best P Sellers movies, 12 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Party (2 Disc Special Edition) [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
This must be without the best portrayal of an Indian character in the film industry. At the same time the movie utilised some ground breaking technical techniques (as explained on the second DVD) that were used ever since as a standard (such as instant video reviewing of scenes, provision of only a loose scripting framework with much of the moves and dialogue developing on set, and more).

If you need a guaranteed laugh this is the movie for you. Mr Bean is a pale shadow in comparison (and that is not saying that you have to like Mr Bean to like this movie ...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How all good parties should be!, 8 Oct 2011
By 
canon snapper (South West England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Party (2 Disc Special Edition) [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
The notion of an actor "browning up" for a role seems pretty odd in modern times but, for me, The Party does not suffer for it at all. Peter Sellers has the talent to carry it off convincingly.

Also, the fact that the film doesn't have a plot to speak of is not important to me. It's simply 100 minutes of good, clean entertainment with a great mixture of slapstick, more subtle visual gags, and charm. Matching up to Sellers' role in the film is the excellent job done by Steven Franken of portraying the increasingly intoxicated waiter, Levinson. The scene around the dinner table and in the kitchen is priceless.

J. Edward McKinley also deserves mention as the long suffering party host, General Clutterbuck. In the latter stages of the evening, with the party spiralling out of control, he is told his wife has just fallen into the swimming pool. His deadpan response is, "Get her jewellery".

Director Blake Edwards' affection for Laurel and Hardy shows in some scenes, such as Hrundi Bakshi trying to pass a telephone over to General Clutterbuck who is already holding a couple of glasses of whiskey. The ensuing tangle of arms and telephone cable is pure L & H.

Buy this film and enjoy some clean, light hearted humour and some real belly aching laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Party (2 Disc Special Edition) [1968] [DVD]
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews