Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hardly noticed the nudity
I hardly noticed the nudity the first time I saw this film because the story is completely absorbing. The second time I had to agree, there is a lot of Zorg and Betty on view, but it is acted in such an un-selfconcious way that it seems completely natural, this pair are passionately in love, completely absorbed in each other.

There may be Spoilers if you read...
Published on 5 Feb 2010 by VCBF (Val)

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Find the original cut
There is an abiding illusion that Directors know how their movie should be presented and that the Director's Cut is therefore the one to get, the one to wait for. Occasionally perhaps that is true but for other films the studio knew best. This is one of those cases. The film depicts a writer who is becalmed in life until he falls in love with Betty, the muse that will...
Published on 22 July 2010 by Simon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aaah, Betty, 15 Jan 2007
This review is from: Betty Blue - Director's Cut [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I adore this film, and watch it again and again and again...

It is compelling, if not compulsive, viewing.

It is beautiful, powerful, sensitive, moving and totally addictive.

It is quite possibly the best film that has ever been made.

It is...Betty Blue...a classic...a one off...incomparable...unequalled...perfect in every way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betty Blue-subtitled DVD, 1986, 1 Feb 2009
By 
C. Hardy "Azuretower" (Castle Donnington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Betty Blue - Director's Cut [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a French film of Shakespearean proportions. It runs for nearly 3 hours, and is almost three films in one, following a young couple through three distinct locations, the first quite surreal; and meeting some great characters on the way. Pathos and humour it has, but be warned it is quite dark in places. It is well known for having the longest sex scene opening of any film, though this is not gratuitous in any sense.
I have watched this film twice, once shortly after release, and enjoyed it both times. It stands up well, and proves once more that the French film industry is leaps and bounds ahead, in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I hardly noticed the nudity, 2 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betty Blue - Director's Cut [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I hardly noticed the nudity the first time I saw this film because the story is completely absorbing. The second time I had to agree, there is a lot of Zorg and Betty on view, but it is acted in such an un-selfconcious way that it seems completely natural, this pair are passionately in love, completely absorbed in each other. The film charts Betty's deterioration from free-spirited extrovert, with a tendency to over-react to situations, to self-harming introvert Zorg can no longer reach. Actually, it isn't so much about Betty, as about the effect this has on Zorg. Neither is it a film about mental illness, as we, like Zorg, never find out what she is suffering from. The change in Betty is not linear, at times she is happy, stable and loving, everything seems to be going well; which makes the end almost unutterably sad. (I hope that isn't too much of a spoiler.) I think the final breakdown is triggered because she really wants a stable life and a family, then finds she can't have a baby: so this happy life is not to be for her. That isn't really explained very well in the film, perhaps it's only weakness, as you do find yourself yelling Why? Why? Why? at her sometimes (perhaps it is elaborated more in the Director's cut, but I saw the shorter version).
Parallel to this story is that Betty encourages Zorg to write. She believes in him and tries everything she can to get his writing published. At the end he is published, but too late for her to know, and is writing another book (and talking to her as the cat, very poignant).
This film looks amazing, but it is not "look" at the expense of content. Is quite rightly a classic.
Nothing more to add except to say that the English dubbing is poor, so watch and listen to it in French and read the subtitles, in fact watch it twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite films, 20 Nov 2009
This review is from: Betty Blue - Director's Cut [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
The viewer gets an early glimpse of Betty's psyche when her way of telling her boyfriend she wants to move is by burning down the house. Tragic, beautiful, complicated yet simple, many words describe Betty Blue but few really truly encapsulate the essence of her character. Ultimately doomed, the film depicts her slow and very real descent into her own personal hell.

This film has laugh out loud moments woven around a tragic story. The camerawork is sublime and there is not a bad actor in it. French film making at it's best. A true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French movie making at its best, 23 April 2009
By 
F. Panin "FabioStar" (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betty Blue - Director's Cut [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
There is not much to add to the other reviews. The movie is excellent, actors play naturally, the nude scenes are also very natural, the violent scenes are not extreme. It is a trip in the meandre of human minds, without the pretest of sending out a message or providing an answer. It leaves freedom to the viewer to feel and think. Besides, it is timeless. Recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable film, 27 April 2014
By 
B. MCGHEE (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betty Blue - Director's Cut [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I would just like to say I came across this film by accident on Amazon, read the reviews and bought it, no regrets at all.

I would describe it as world cinema / art-house with a black humour content that I found very funny at times, alas the last 20 minutes is both sad and poignant as Betty descends into madness.

There is adult content to the film mainly at the start, but almost as if the director wished to get it out of the way and then deal with the story proper.

I really must stress that I found this film very entertaining , mainly due to the unexpected comical turns the story took, almost to the point of farce, Betty does some very laugh out loud things, which I wouldn't like to say so as to not spoil the surprises for you.

Finally I would just add that I am annoyed that I didn't know of this film before, as it is excellent.
I hope I have helped you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uniquely and equally breathtaking and disturbing, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Refreshingly modern treatment of the descent from being a little eccentric to certifiably insane and so in love. Must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Betty Blue DVD, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. M. G. Spire (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betty Blue - Director's Cut [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD arrived in excellent condition, and well before the projected delivery date. This film is well worth a viewing, but is not an easy view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites., 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betty Blue - Director's Cut [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
There are three films that I rate as all time favourites and this is one of them. It is perfect. It takes you there. it takes you up and down an emotional roller coaster, takes you across country with believable characters and makes you just glad that you watched it over and over again, every once in a while. Definitely get this version though, not the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French Brilliance!, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betty Blue (Uncut) [DVD] (DVD)
Best film ever. Anglade is on song, Dalle is electric and the cinematography and soundtrack without equal.

Buy this film now if you haven't seen it and if you have, watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Betty Blue - Director's Cut   [1986] [DVD]
Betty Blue - Director's Cut [1986] [DVD] by Jean-Jacques Beineix (DVD - 2006)
£17.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews