Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rush of Blood to the Heart
People have waited a long time for something new from Morrissey, and afterthe press stopped attacking him and just ignored him, it seemed that hemight be gone for good. But after a few years' hiatus the Moz is backwith a vengeance on this magisterial new single that sweeps all before it. We have become far too used to the bland product pressed upon us - somany different...
Published on 20 April 2004 by Dudley Serious

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars your having a laugh
This is not a 5 star song, don't get me wrong I like morrissey but how he misses a good guitarist. It not that his lyrics have ever been at fault in his career it just the bland dull uninspiring, ordinary and insipid guitars. Irish blood, english heart is no exception, quick and in your face, but no nice guitar fills or flourishes. In fact its just a dirge, but at least...
Published on 12 May 2004 by Mr. G. Manuel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rush of Blood to the Heart, 20 April 2004
By 
Dudley Serious - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1] (Audio CD)
People have waited a long time for something new from Morrissey, and afterthe press stopped attacking him and just ignored him, it seemed that hemight be gone for good. But after a few years' hiatus the Moz is backwith a vengeance on this magisterial new single that sweeps all before it. We have become far too used to the bland product pressed upon us - somany different names - and they all look and sound the same - that it isinitially a bit of a shock to hear a single with real character. I mean,my God! How are we going to cope with an artist who actually has anindividual style? "Irish Blood, English Heart" brims with the singularappeal that has characterised Morrissey's best work. He has never beenafraid to speak his mind before, to attract and even court controversy. Here he seems to have grown in stature and is ready to face down hisdetractors. Take these lines, for example: "There is no-one on Earth I'mafraid of. And no regime can buy or sell me." Fighting talk! If theforthcoming album matches the defiant dignity of this single, hisopponents had better throw in the towel now because this sees him ready torecover the ground he lost in uncompromising fashion. Welcome, Morrissey,good to have you back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irish Blood, Firey Start, 20 April 2004
This review is from: Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1] (Audio CD)
Irish Blood English Heart is the typical Morrissey single. Short, sharpand direct it echoes of We Hate It When Our Friends Become Successful andis punctuated with the same rising crescendos. The lyrics are very snideas Mozza revists the furore over Madstock 12 years on ("I've been dreamingof a time when to be English is not to be baneful / To be standing by theflag not feeling shameful, racist or partial") and include the customaryswipe at the monarchy. All in all a promising beginning to Morrissey'scome back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been dreaming..., 9 May 2004
This review is from: Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1] (Audio CD)
This is a great CD!! 'Irish Blood, English Heart' is a triumphant return to form for Morrissey.
1) Irish Blood, English Heart
A great Pop song. Should be a top 10 hit in the UK & Ireland. His best single since "Now My Heart Is Full" in 1994.
2) It's Hard To Walk Tall When You're Small
An excellent b-side. Destroys any notion that Moz can't hit the high notes. From the lines "I burst into the public baths and I throw my weight around" the song takes an unexpected twist. "Compadre" is the new "I need advice."
3) Munich Air Disaster 1958
Brilliant. The line "I wish I had gone down with them..." is spine tingling. And when he sings "To where mother nature makes their bed" recalls the famous line from: I Know It's Over - "oh mother I can feel the soil falling over my head."
4) The Never-Played Symphonies
Possibly his best Solo b-side ever. You really feel as though you are in the depths of someone's mind who is dying. As they can see the light fade...we can hear the light fade. Morrissey seems to be singing a song about songs to songs addressed to one song in particular. Who else on Earth could write a pop song in such a way? Nobody. This is an ode to the songs that were never recorded or simply came to him in a flash of the muse like a fairy who dances around you in glitter & glow and then just goes. Moz speaks to that fleeting, ephemeral song/moment that is gone before you have time to grab it and bottle it. The lyrics also suggest a man who is looking back on his life at all the things that did not work out: lost ideals & dead dreams, that as you get older, become part of you and haunt you...for you are no longer young and so become resigned to them. And as he passes away with a tone of regret, sorrow and nostalgia but above all *peace* - these songs/things that never came to be (and not his family, friends and foes) are all that he can see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing song with amazing B side, 23 April 2004
This review is from: Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1] (Audio CD)
Morrissey, we love you.
This has got to be one of the best comebacksingles of all time, it's full of anger, passion, and the misery thatmakes morrissey the master of mope rock. Rocky guitars, pounding drums, ahummable tune and ... a rubbish video, hey you can't have it allright?
Awesome song, go buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Punchy comeback single, 13 May 2004
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1] (Audio CD)
Its finally here - the first new recording in 7 years! Irish Blood is a slightly strange choice of first single from the new album - it's unquestionably a great song, but the lack of catchy chorus and the self-referential lyrics make this a suprising choice against more obvious fare as The Last of the Gang to Die.
Only one B-Side here, but Its Hard to Walk Tall When You're Small is a good uptempo rocker, and Morrisseys voice sounds better than it ever has before as he slips into falsetto (something he hasn't done for so long many were beginning to suspect he could no longer reach the high notes anymore). Though tell me - it's not really about Ringo Starr is it???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back to the old house, 14 May 2004
This review is from: Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1] (Audio CD)
wow! 'irish heart, english blood' is a really excellent single.
heard it live on his last UK tour and it was fantastic then, i'm really glad it has transferred so well into a studio recording.
the b-side is brilliant. very smiths.
a must: buy the other 'irish heart, english blood' single as well because 'the never played symphonies' is the most gorgeous thing i have ever heard since 'now my heart is full'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's back, at last!!!, 2 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1] (Audio CD)
Morrissey is back. It's been a long time coming but listining to his first single it seems that the wait has been worthwhile.
Irish Blood, English Heart is exactly what you expect from the neverending fountain of insperation named Morrissey.
It make's you believe again that there's still some hope left in pop.
The songs rock's right from the start and the only flaw I can find is that it's just too short. Welcome back Morrissey, we've missed you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars your having a laugh, 12 May 2004
By 
Mr. G. Manuel (newcastle upon tyne, tyne & wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1] (Audio CD)
This is not a 5 star song, don't get me wrong I like morrissey but how he misses a good guitarist. It not that his lyrics have ever been at fault in his career it just the bland dull uninspiring, ordinary and insipid guitars. Irish blood, english heart is no exception, quick and in your face, but no nice guitar fills or flourishes. In fact its just a dirge, but at least it melodical and vibrant which gets going well at pace. Lyrics like "I still dreaming of a time when people are sick to death of labour and tories" at a time when of course they are, arn't they, lowest polling votes ever etc doesn't exactly seem relevant or at least profound. As it is only 2 minutes long, its over almost as soon as it started. It a decent pop song, a good return but he's done better, and alot better at that. Die hard fans will love it, pop fans will like it, and its worth buying but 5 stars definitely not. Hope the albums offers some true classics rather than the quick sweet candy that this single is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my god, 13 May 2004
By 
joe meza (los angeles, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1] (Audio CD)
just listened to the whole thing on vh1, i know i couldnt wait, and i thought damn this is one of his best works along with vauxhall and southpaw and of course arsenal. when i first heard the one min. clips i thought ok moz you can do better and faster then that, then i heard the single and was like ok better well no greater, now this im blown away cant wait to get the cd.
this is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning new single, 4 May 2004
By 
Eric Hartman (Rotterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1] (Audio CD)
Finally a stunning return to form by Morrissey. This is what we have been waiting for, a single that kicks you in the face! Morrissey is back, and it's about time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1]
Irish Blood, English Heart [CD 1] by Morrissey (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews