Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than 2, not as good as 1
Well - the second film was clearly in no way as good as the first which it attempted to be a carbon copy of. This one, Salvation, puts a twist into it with the murder-mystery element of it and that is good - it saves the film from being another wannabe despite the constraints of O'Barr's Crow universe meaning that this film must be a revenge film. The plot has a little...
Published on 9 April 2004 by Curtis Allen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It nearly made me cry
Quite simply, it sucks. The reason it nearly made me cry is just that it is so poor.
The Crow was an excellent film from an excellent director. The Crow: City Of Angels was a not-bad follow-up from a different director, but still maintained the dark, gothic appeal of the original.
The Crow: Salvation hasn't got the gothic bit, it's a lame plot with a bad...
Published on 7 Jan 2005 by Simon Daultrey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Possibly... The worst film I have ever seen, 12 Feb 2005
By 
Ms. Ailsa Kilpatrick "ailska" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
The original film is a work of art, Brandon Lee truly captured O'Barr's original character, and anyone who knows the tragic story behind the comic strip will agree that the emotion needed is brilliantly conveyed. True, I think less of the first movie as an adult than a teen now that the goth romanticism has been purged from me, but the cinematography and excellent soundtrack alone earns merit. Salvation, however, is utterly terrible. Corvis appears desperately to be attempting dark, sarcastic wit, where he seems more suited to a 90's teen slash horror flic. There is simply nothing behind the performance. Even Kirsten Dunst, whose captivating performance in The Virgin Suicides was only a year before this, was wooden and unbelievable. This could be due to a terrible script, half of which seems to be a re-hash of the original. Soundtrack is okay, but badly arranged, and it suffers due to some nasty editing. This movie may appeal to teen goths, or the people who enjoy the fanfic novels, but sadly it seems to be an over-repeated concept that is simply not original or believable as a repeat. All I can say is that liking the first movie or the comics really has no bearing on whether you will like this dreadful production
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crow, 26 April 2014
Terrific horror tale, The Crow is superior to other horrors, great cast and story. Really gory and full of slayings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE CROW STILL LIVES, 1 April 2013
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
This was a very decent effort in my view.

Has a different storyline to the others which was fresh and I think Eric Mabius brings something different to the lead role.His crow is very much different to the previous LEE'S - JOKERESK , PEREZ - SAD CLOWN , MABIUS - CALM PSYCHO .

Definately a watch , out of the the four crow films this is a strong 2nd .

BTW - Kirsten Dunst is irrating, you wish her charcter was dead not her sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of all 4 Films!!!, 28 Mar 2012
By 
Ciarian F. J. Miles (Tunbridge Wells, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
In my opinion I thought this was a great film and i enjoyed it more than the other 3 films, I like the way that instead of make up in this film its Scars from the Helmet, The Plot was a great revenge story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Crow is falling from its heights, 2 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
Oh dear. A sequel inferior to a sequel which was inferior to the original, this isn't looking good.

This time it's Alex (Eric Mabius) who is wrongly convicted of the murder of his girlfriend & is executed in the electric chair but not before discovering in his death throes that he was framed by corrupt cops. So, he is resurrected from the dead by the Crow in order to find those responsible.

Ergo, rather than a blood-lusted pursuit of known killers, this movie takes on a murder-mystery motif as Alex needs to discover who is behind the crime & deliver justice. To be fair, it's ballsy to take on this radically different approach, not to mention the very cool origin of Alex's Crow features - peeling badly burnt & corroded flesh from his face to reveal a Crow appearance underneath.

But the movie is let down by poor production & choice of cast. Released straight to Video/DVD but looks like it was meant for TV as it's cinematically naive, everything filmed in close quarters.

Alex's journey fails to draw you in, thanks to very poor acting all round by an oversized supporting cast, Kirsten Dunst does little to help, not to mention Mabius himself being a largely ineffective Crow - he looks good but comes off as curious, excitable & fails to emote at all - there is no sign of anger or vengeance in him even when killing off adversaries with gratuitous violence (stabbings, impalings, severed limbs etc)

This film is a big disappointment because it's actually a really good idea with very poor execution that only brought the franchise one step closer to its demise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars She isnt good, 18 Nov 2009
By 
Sarmite Kraukle "Sarmux" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
Who the hell got that yoke to ruin this movie too??!!!Kirsten Dunst isnt good,she ruined spider man,she ruined another movie i love,thank god she's not in original,well thats obvious,but first one is savage,maybe coz of the sad story that happened while shooting movie R.I.P.!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great performances throughout!, 9 July 2009
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
The Crow-Salvation is brilliant,beats the other sequels I have seen but lacks the originality and just aint as mesmerising as the original.However I think most of The Crow fanbase will love this.Great performances throughout,especially from Eric Mabius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars salvation, 14 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen all of the crow trilogy before, but had forgotten how good this one actually is. But still none of them are as good as brandons'. That said salvation is so much better than, city of angels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 2 Nov 2008
By 
John Allen "lensworld" (LINCOLNSHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film - it was always interesting and lively and if Brandon Lee had been the lead every one would be raving - brilliant - leave it alone you boring idiots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, 30 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
After owning this DVD for over 3 years on Region 1, they finally allowed the licence to release it. It does not disappoint either. After watching this one, that pathetic attempt known as City of Angels will finally fade from memory.
The premise of this one is that Alex Corvis is framed for the murder of his girlfriend and is put to old Sparky, the electric chair. He returns from the dead as a Crow Warrior to hunt down those truly responsible for the murder, his only clue being that one of them had scars on his arm. Dunst and Mabius work well in this movie, as does Fred Ward, what little he really see of him and he does steal the show.
There are some original tricks thrown in for those who have not read all of the comic books, novels and other spin offs.
Some people have panned this one, basing their comparisons to the original with Brandon Lee, don't! This is a seperate Crow movie with a seperate storyliine, it has nothing to do wit hthe original's story, though there are some similarities, though there would have to be in The Crow.
Definately a worthy addition to the Crow series, just a shame it took them so long to release it here in Britain :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crow - Salvation [DVD]
The Crow - Salvation [DVD] by Bharat Nalluri (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: £3.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews