Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than 2, not as good as 1
Well - the second film was clearly in no way as good as the first which it attempted to be a carbon copy of. This one, Salvation, puts a twist into it with the murder-mystery element of it and that is good - it saves the film from being another wannabe despite the constraints of O'Barr's Crow universe meaning that this film must be a revenge film. The plot has a little...
Published on 9 April 2004 by Curtis Allen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad not great
the biggest issue with this film is that it is compared to the original too much, I've done this myself and thought i'd try and give it a fair portrayal.
so firstly what is good about this film? it's gone back to that dark look that the original had though the colour isn't as washed out, there are some amazing healing scenes that just were not possible to do in...
Published on 9 Dec. 2008 by anthony chaplain


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than 2, not as good as 1, 9 April 2004
By 
Curtis Allen "capndred" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well - the second film was clearly in no way as good as the first which it attempted to be a carbon copy of. This one, Salvation, puts a twist into it with the murder-mystery element of it and that is good - it saves the film from being another wannabe despite the constraints of O'Barr's Crow universe meaning that this film must be a revenge film. The plot has a little more to it than simply "man-rises-from-dead-and-kills-people" which could be a complaint about the first two films (though not so much the first as it was a more original idea then) Also, this film loses the long hair 'n' leather look of the first two films, which, again, is welcome to prevent it becoming somewhat of a cheesy cliche, know what I'm saying? And there is an interesting twist on the pierot make-up! The deaths of the bad guys are varied though sometimes there was a nagging feeling of, "oh whoop-di-doo, he has killed another person. I wonder how he'll slip the ol' Crow symbol in there this time" that got a bit samey.
I think the performances are more than adequate with the relationship that develops between Dunst and Mabius developing nicely - though their first meeting is a technically a touch dodgy - she doesn't recognise him?!
I would recomend this for ANY fan of The Crow - It does the books and first film justice. And for people who aren't sure about watching the first one, maybe because it looked a bit too gothy - check this one out. It is a self-contained story so you don't need to have seen that one to see this and he doesn't even look very gothy in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE CROW: SALVATION, 4 May 2007
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
I had bought this with the original THE CROW & THE CROW: WICKED PRAYER. I watched this last night in bed and I really enjoyed it. Its not as bad as people are making out. I admit the make up isn't as good as the original but it still does the job. This was a straight to DVD film so its not going to be that well known or well received but its still a good film in its own right.

Kirsten Dunst (Spider Man) and Eric Mabius (Cruel Intentions) star in The Crow: Salvation - the third film in The Crow series. Wrongfully executed for the murder of his girlfriend, Alex Corvis (Mabius) returns from the dead and sets out to find the real killer. Aided by his girlfriend's sister (Dunst)... and under the guidance of the mysterious crow he unmasks a tangled web of corruption and deceit. Alex seeks not only retribution for his injustice, but redemption for the darkness in his soul.

The Crow: Salvation is better then I expected. Although the straight to DVD feel is apparent during the action scenes. Salvation is a very good sequel in The Crow series.

The violence of course is bloody and gory but this time it actually feels justified like the first time with Eric. Alex uses his healing powers more then they did in the other Crow films, either from actual need to heal or just to be playful. A common aspect in The Crow films seems to be each hero is shot several times by several eople and they then look on in amazement as they die by the hero's hands.

The acting was decent but nothing mind blowing. Mabius seemed to be having more fun doing the action scenes then the heart felt scenes and it shows. Kirsten Dunst is good in her role but everyone else isn't (apart from Mabius). What made the first film stand out was the villains had depth and each one was unique but with Salvation the villains are introduced then they face off with Alex and meet their death, zero depth just all typical tough villains that try too hard to be considered evil/brutal.

While this is no masteriece Salvation pulls its weight and manages to be really good but its still not perfect.

I've seen all types of straight to DVD films and there is normally something about them that tell you why they are. This should have been in the cinema but due to the studio execs seeing it as not making as much money as the original it bypassed cinemas and went to DVD.

If your a fan of the series I recommend you see this film and try and see it as a film in its own right because it ends up being a pretty good film in its own right.

Thank you for reading my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Crow is falling from its heights, 2 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
Oh dear. A sequel inferior to a sequel which was inferior to the original, this isn't looking good.

This time it's Alex (Eric Mabius) who is wrongly convicted of the murder of his girlfriend & is executed in the electric chair but not before discovering in his death throes that he was framed by corrupt cops. So, he is resurrected from the dead by the Crow in order to find those responsible.

Ergo, rather than a blood-lusted pursuit of known killers, this movie takes on a murder-mystery motif as Alex needs to discover who is behind the crime & deliver justice. To be fair, it's ballsy to take on this radically different approach, not to mention the very cool origin of Alex's Crow features - peeling badly burnt & corroded flesh from his face to reveal a Crow appearance underneath.

But the movie is let down by poor production & choice of cast. Released straight to Video/DVD but looks like it was meant for TV as it's cinematically naive, everything filmed in close quarters.

Alex's journey fails to draw you in, thanks to very poor acting all round by an oversized supporting cast, Kirsten Dunst does little to help, not to mention Mabius himself being a largely ineffective Crow - he looks good but comes off as curious, excitable & fails to emote at all - there is no sign of anger or vengeance in him even when killing off adversaries with gratuitous violence (stabbings, impalings, severed limbs etc)

This film is a big disappointment because it's actually a really good idea with very poor execution that only brought the franchise one step closer to its demise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad not great, 9 Dec. 2008
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
the biggest issue with this film is that it is compared to the original too much, I've done this myself and thought i'd try and give it a fair portrayal.
so firstly what is good about this film? it's gone back to that dark look that the original had though the colour isn't as washed out, there are some amazing healing scenes that just were not possible to do in original that were fun as well as being graphic.
Dunst's acting was ok as was Mabius and there shared screen time is the only real time you start to pay attention.

Now the bad points and unfortunetly there are a few.
the major issue really is with the bad guys, the acting is below par and to be honest you don't care what happens to them and going back to the original you actually connected with the bad guys you wanted to see them die.
the other issue with really dissapointed me was the fact that alex's powers whent when he thought he'd killed the guy with the scar and he goes a bit mental, as this is a supernatural based film you'd think that alex would have a supernatural awareness that his mission wasn't over and his powers wouldn't go, in the crow eric thought his mission was over when he fought top dollar and only lost his powers when the crow was shot, so this concept apears to be a bad continuity error

based on those issues i would only recomend this movie to people who could honestly watch it without comparing it to the 1st movie.
as a stand alone film it has some brillian special effects, some quirky moments that make you laugh the only down fall is the acting is poor in areas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Region 1 only, 18 Dec. 2003
Why this movie hasn't been released in the UK is beyond me, it is brilliant, compelling, it keeps you on the edge of your seat, has great tragedy, poetic justice, action, tears, thrills, chills second only to the original The Crow movie released in 1994.
This one is about a young man executed for the murder of his dead girlfriend, but he is not the murderer, so the crow brings him back to get revenge. His only clue to his girlfriend's real murderer is that the murderer has some steel bolts inserted under the skin on his left forearm.
The Crow: Salvation introduces new twists to the Crow mythos and some very powerul performances. Ward (Tremors and Tremors 2), Mabius (Resident Evil) and Dunst (Bring It On) are fantastic, Ward easily stealing the show when he appears. The relationship that develops between Mabius and Dunst is well characterised and portrayed.
Well worth getting your hands on even if you were put off by the poor attempt known as The Crow: City of Angels. This one is true to form and shows a little more influences from the comic books that came after the success of the first movie. Truly excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE CROW STILL LIVES, 1 April 2013
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
This was a very decent effort in my view.

Has a different storyline to the others which was fresh and I think Eric Mabius brings something different to the lead role.His crow is very much different to the previous LEE'S - JOKERESK , PEREZ - SAD CLOWN , MABIUS - CALM PSYCHO .

Definately a watch , out of the the four crow films this is a strong 2nd .

BTW - Kirsten Dunst is irrating, you wish her charcter was dead not her sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars NOT GREAT, 14 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
No not great but not the worst "Crow" film. There shouldn't have been anymore after the first one really. However, it was ok for the money and something to watch if there's nothing better on tv. Eric Mabius, although a good actor seems a bit miscast in this role. As for the film, same old story so I won't bother going into it too much. Comes back from the dead for revenge blah, blah, blah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than anticipiated..., 8 July 2004
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
Well i am going to keep this brief, being honest i was not really sure what i was going to expect after seeing both of the previous crows, and whilst the original is absolutely amazing and one of the best cult fims to ever grace my TV screen, the crow 2 isnt anything to get excited about, personally i like it but it just isnt as good as my expectations.
Well anyway now onto 'Salvation'...i got to say i was pleasantly surprised:) moving onto the idea of a guy who was wrongly convicted for the brutal murder of his girlfriend. i think its good, the effects are cool, and still got the sexy trademark make up:) i'd say a 4 out of 5 :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Differant BUT Good, 9 Dec. 2003
For many Crow fans, this would seem a natural choice. Well it should be.
This film follows on from the original CROW film and delivers action along with story, which many find easy to follow.
Kirsten Dunst provide a powerful performance, most properly the best leading lady in all of the CROW films.
Although I would say that the only down point of this film is that story could have move depth in places.
If you enjoyed this two, your love this one.
Many Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than people say!, 13 May 2007
By 
Mr. R. A. Booth "Boothy" (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crow - Salvation [DVD] (DVD)
People have been reviewing this film saying its obvious it was a straight to dvd release, but it wasnt! It was produced with every intention of having a full cinema release!However, after a poor limited release, and next 2 no publicity, this was shifted to dvd in the uk. Still fer better than city of angels(number2) and a million times better than the frankly crap wicked prayer(number4) this deserves a chance, especially if u find it cheap. GIVE IT A TRY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crow - Salvation [DVD]
The Crow - Salvation [DVD] by Bharat Nalluri (DVD - 2004)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews