Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Trilogies Come In Threes
Admittedly, the plot of this film is a bit of a shambles, and as a film it lacks the consistancy of HotShots and the Naked Gun films. However, the film is very funny, with some great visual gags and "bad taste" comedy.
The DVD extras are really good, with deleted scenes and a lengthy alternative ending which appears to have had a lot more money spent on it than the...
Published on 17 Jun. 2004 by Ben Morrish

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable at best.
First things first, I found the first two Scary Movies appalling, and I borrowed this dvd on a friends suggestion.
I am happy to say I was pleasantly surprised! It seems the departure of the Wayans brothers from this franchise has revitalised it.
This film takes off movies such as Signs, 8mile, the Matrix, The Ring, The Others and more in the way Naked Gun and...
Published on 21 Jun. 2004 by H. R. Trigg


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable at best., 21 Jun. 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scary Movie 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
First things first, I found the first two Scary Movies appalling, and I borrowed this dvd on a friends suggestion.
I am happy to say I was pleasantly surprised! It seems the departure of the Wayans brothers from this franchise has revitalised it.
This film takes off movies such as Signs, 8mile, the Matrix, The Ring, The Others and more in the way Naked Gun and Airplane spoofed their respective movies. This is because one of the Zucker brothers directed this, and whilst its knowwhere near as good as his previous films, it's a huge improvement on Scary Movie 1 & 2. (How did they get away with the Michael Jackson spoof? Close to the knuckle and very funny!)
The extras are excellent, in particular the alternative ending, which is very interesting to watch (though thank God they went with the final cut, as the alternative simply isn't funny - but its completely different - spoofing the Hulk and quite lengthy).
A fun film, with adequate performances and very good extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good spoof!, 25 Sept. 2005
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scary Movie 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I think this is a pretty good funny film. As with most spoofs some of the jokes are very good but some are not funny, always a bit hit and miss. However the majority of the jokes do work in this. It mainly spoofs The Ring, Signs, as well as 8 mile, Matrix and Sixth sense. It has a great cast with spoof masters Charlie Sheen and Lesile Nielsen, with cameos from Jenny McCarthy, Pamela Anderson and Denise Richards. It's better than the 2nd film and as good as the first, with less gross out humour.
There are plenty of extras, around 30min making of which is pretty good. Lots of deleted scenes, 23mins worth, including a alternative ending which is possible better than the real ending. There are also some out takes and a real making of. Overall a very good package if you enjoy a good funny film or a fan of spoofs you should get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Trilogies Come In Threes, 17 Jun. 2004
By 
Ben Morrish (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scary Movie 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Admittedly, the plot of this film is a bit of a shambles, and as a film it lacks the consistancy of HotShots and the Naked Gun films. However, the film is very funny, with some great visual gags and "bad taste" comedy.
The DVD extras are really good, with deleted scenes and a lengthy alternative ending which appears to have had a lot more money spent on it than the actual ending used in the film! The commentaries and "making of" featurettes are funny and not the excuse for a bit of "love-in" backslapping that most DVD commentaries degenerate into.
Overall, definitely worth a look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great comic performances, 10 July 2010
This review is from: Scary Movie 3.5 [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best but not the worst.
This is surprisingly a very funny movie.
This time its The Ring, Signs and 8 Mile among others being mocked and in my opinion has been done very well. Some great comic performances and genuine 'laugh out loud' scenes throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A change of formula makes for an excellent Scary Movie, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scary Movie 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I really enjoyed the first 'Scary Movie', thought the second was alright, but the third entry into the series is quite brilliant. I was worried before hand that the format would now have become tiresome, but changes were made in 'Scary Movie 3' that really made it a stand out. With a new director on board, new life was breathed into the series.

The film heavily parodies 'The Ring', but there are also nods up to 'The Matrix' and the comedy '8 Mile', among others. If you have seen 'The Ring', the plot to 'Scary Movie 3' should sound familiar. A mysterious video tape is circulating around, which results in just seven days left to live for the person or people who look at it. News Reporter Cindy Campbell (played by Anna Faris, who starred in the first two 'Scary Movies') witnesses this video tape and tries to work out a way to prevent her scheduled death. Meanwhile, there are crop circles popping up in a local farm, and Cindy suspects that the aliens may be linked with the killer tape. Can she work out both mysteries before it's the end of the world?

It's a riot for the word go, and a real improvement on the second one, without quite bettering the first. There are some welcome cameos from Charlie Sheen, Pamela Anderson, and even Simon Cowell. Unlike the other two, the jokes aren't as gross and vulgar (which was never a bad thing though, they helped make 'Scary Movie' what it is), and the plot is actually much more serious, and genuinely clever. If you need a film to make you roar laughing, and one that doesn't require any thinking involved, grab yourself a copy of 'Scary Movie 3'.

The DVD's special features are particularly good, with out-takes, an alternative ending, and a 'making of' featurette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes its daft but its lighthearted viewing with an edge, 7 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Scary Movie 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
News-reporter Cindy (Farris) attempts to investigate the mysterious appearance of crop circles whilst a deadly videotape circulates around the community.

The first scary movie in 2000 brought some comic laughs to our screens as it articulately depicted the brute nature of Wes Craven horror Scream. The spoof won comedy fans over and has since seen spinoff sequels and numerous other parody franchises such as Disaster Movie and Epic Movie.

Here the third instalment of the franchise aims its attention towards Signs, The Ring and 8 Mile with some great gags and physical humour to boot, if not as strong as the original parodies in Scary Movie.

The 2000 release was so popular because it basically was Scream, only with a lighter and more comic approach whereas here the parodies are all there but which never quite feel as genuine as the original movies.

The 8 mile reflections for example are way over the top as Simon Rex brings an over exaggerated Eminem replica to the film. His exuberant timing and constant flaws will generate laughs but he never appears as the famous rapper which was present in the Marshal Mathers film. To be fair to Rex the scripting for his part was inconsistent as the over dramatic concepts overshadowed the comic abilities.

Queen Latifha's Oracle is unbelievably annoying and flat, though her `husband' Orpheus has a few good moments. I say a few as he is only onscreen briefly.

Anna Faris again brings her charm to the screen and is once more the best onscreen presence. Charlie Sheen also generates a sophisticated sense of humour to spice up the dull parts. His onscreen part with Denise Richards with the car crash is particular comedy gold.

When it comes to replicating hits, Scary Movie 3 has numerous digs with its sweeping physical humour. Though predictable it doesn't quite take the shine off how funny it is. The inclusion of Cody and the car is among the best bits.

Where The Matrix Reloaded gets a fine comedy work over, The Ring and Signs perhaps are a bit overstretched for that sheer comedy originality. But on first viewing they are quite hilarious and you will still be laughing later on.

These films are designed for short term profit and to poke fun at current blockbusters and celebrities so it may tire after a few years, but this is still comedy with a sly edge

7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I expected., 13 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Scary Movie 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I saw Scary Movie 1 and 2 but didn't like either, particularly the original film. So I was not exactly looking forward to seeing this movie, but I am happy to say that it is much better with some really good moments in it.
It seems much less crude to me, though that may just be my imagination, and this helped a lot. The plot was quite clever and a lot of the jokes were good. Often in these films the jokes are more hit than miss. I saw 'Reposessed' and that was truly terrible, very embarassing and almost none of the jokes worked. I was expecting the same for 'Scary Movie 3' but happily it was not the case.
Leslie Nielsen appears in the film and is not too bad. Ever since the 'Naked Gun' movies he only seems to be in poor to average movies which is a shame as he can be really funny. He was very bad in 'Reposessed', probably his worst ever. Happily he doesn't have too big a part in this. When is he going to find a worthwhile film.
The bonus material was also worth seeing, including a completely different alternate ending. It genuinely was a totally different ending, drawing heavily on 'The Hulk' and 'The Matrix.'I prefered it to the ending used in the film. There were a couple of reasonable documentaries and some good outtakes.
I was really surprised how much I enjoyed this film, though it might partly have been because I was wasn't expecting much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Trilogies Come In Threes...REALLY!, 18 Jun. 2004
This is a brilliant film with brilliant sketches! They have made themselves proud with this third installment! It will be funny for generations (even more if you have seen the film's which have benn skitted!) I think everyone that enjoy's a good comedy should get this and someone who loves the other two films! I give this film 5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Scary Movie (im wahrsten Sinne), 14 July 2004
By 
Kevin Kieselbach "Kevin" (Hamburg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scary Movie 3 (DVD)
Also, wie ich hier auch schon gelesen hab', hat der dritte Teil (leider) nichts mehr mit den ersten beiden Teilen zu tun. Die Story, ach, entschuldigt, es gibt ja gar keine und ist somit grottenschlecht. Also für mich war "Scary Movie 3" zu sehen, etwa so wie "Die nackte Kanone" zu sehen, die ich damals sehr lustig fande, aber heute nur noch lächerlich dumm finde. "Scary Movie 3" wirkt zu alt und ist überhaupt nicht lustig, auch kam mir der Film sehr kurz vor, was wohl an der fehlenden Handlung liegt. Also der erste Teil war grandios und der zweite war für eine Fortzetzung gut. Aber der dritte Teil ist eine Enttäuschung und ich hoffe sehr, dass der vierte Teil (ja, es wird einen geben und zwar soll es eine Superheldenverarsche von Spider-man usw. werden) besser wird und sich wieder an den ersten beiden Teilen orientiert. Geschmäcker sind verschieden, ein Glück, aber ich empfele jeden zu erst den Film aus zu leihen und dann zu überlegen, ob er/ sie ihn sich kauft oder nicht.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable excuse for a parody, 1 Aug. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scary Movie 3 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Scary Movie 3 is the latest in a long line of `parody' films which lampoon either a specific film, or a genre in general. This time the franchise takes a pop at (horror classic) `The Ring' and (sci-fi thriller) `Signs.' The original Scary Movie was primarily lampooning Scream, which allowed the film to follow a single plot line effectively. However, now it tries to merge two different films together, the jokes (most of which are `hits' as opposed to `misses') may be there, but the story seems a little jumbled.

It's generally the opinion that Part 3 of the franchise is not as good as the first, but largely better than the second. If you're a fan of the series, then you probably know what you're in for, or if you'd like to see either Signs or The Ring poked fun at, then this might be the one for you.

Although, most of the main laughs come from the over-the-top hurting of a small boy (it's funnier than it sounds, honestly).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scary Movie 3 [DVD] [2004]
Scary Movie 3 [DVD] [2004] by David Zucker (DVD - 2004)
£3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews