Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
155
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2006
This movie is worth viewing just for the experience of seeing Diane Keaton and Jack Nicholson interacting in as free and natural a way as you could hope to see on screen.I haven't encountered such a believable coupling as this before.I liked the first half of the film most but the whole thing is of a very high standard and always entertaining to watch.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2004
I saw this film on a plane coming back from New York and laughed out loud all the way home, to the chagrin of other flyers who were trying to have a kip! Diane Keaton plays a successful playright whose 30-year old daughter is dating a mysogynistic older man (Jack Nicholson) who has to take Viagra. After suffering a heart attack, he stays at their beachside house for a while to recuperate while the daughter swans off to the city, leaving the pair of them alone in the house while Keaton tries to write her next play. Their clashing viewpoints on life make for a number of hilarious set pieces that culminate in their falling in love. This is a lovely, warm and clever romantic comedy which explores attitudes around ageing. Diane Keaton and Jack Nicholson are both superb in their roles and prove that the more mature actor can still have widespread appeal. I don't believe this film is only aimed at mature age groups - I am 29 and thought it was brilliant. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2004
Something's Gotta Give (12A)
Director: Nancy Meyers, 2003, USA, 128 minutes
Cast: Jack Nicholson, Diane Keaton, Keanu Reeves, Amanda Peet, Frances McDormand
An enjoyable, feel-good movie in the 'Sleepless in Seattle' genre, Something's Gotta Give follows the age-old 'boy meets/loses/regains girl' formula - but with one main difference; the 'boy' is Harry Sanborn (Nicholson) an ageing and shallow playboy who seemingly has only one aim in life - seducing beautiful young woman. And the 'girl' is Erica Berry (Keaton), a divorced, 50-something successful writer with a non-existent love life. While Erica's youthful love-interest (Reeves) and her lovely daughter (Peet) remain mostly in the background providing pretty props for Harry and Erica, who steal the show with witty asides and sly, side-ling glances - behaviour one would not normally associate with middle-aged people... but why not? Love and sexual attraction doesn't end at 40, as this film sets out to prove.
As one would expect with Oscar nominees of Nicholson's and Keaton's calibre, there is strong on-screen chemistry between the two main characters, which is further enforced by a clever script. There are laughter lines and grey hairs a-plenty, plus a dickey heart and viagra, thrown in for good measure. But this does nothing to spoil the viewer's belief that, despite their advancing years, these two really could get it together!
The story begins when Marin (Peet) brings her wealthy, but elderly, boyfriend Harry back to her mother's beach house (and what a beach house!), for what he obviously hopes will be a 'dirty weekend'. But her mom and aunt (McDormand) arrive back in time to put paid to any such ideas.
Put out by mom's presence and not in the best of health, thanks to a decedent lifestyle, Harry suddenly suffers a heart attack, and it falls upon the reluctant Erica to play nursemaid to him. It is during this enforced togetherness that we see their attitudes about each other begin to slowly change. And both of them seem genuinely surprised when they end up in bed together.
But it is a relationship that doesn't quite know which direction to take, and a handsome young doctor (Reeves) is quicker than Harry to recognise Erica's attributes and starts to court her.
Harry moves on - in body, if not in mind - as he tries to return to his normal routine. But it doesn't prove as easy forgetting Erica as he had at first thought. Meanwhile, Erica is busy venting her mixed-up emotions on paper and Harry becomes the focal figure in a play about their romance.
The play becomes a huge hit for Erica, and she appears to be coping well with Harry's absence from her life till he turns up at the play, angry at having become the laughing stock of the theatre world. Erica denies that Henry (the central character), is actually Harry, and admits that he's killed off at the end of the play as it's "funnier!". An indignant Harry exits her life for a second time.
We move forward, but Harry can't. And it is in a restaurant in Paris where they meet up again. Erica is on birthday trip they planned in bed, way back. But she's not alone, as Harry had hoped. It all becomes too much for him and he leaves the restaurant a broken man. Erica quickly comes to the rescue...
Directed by Nancy Meyer, who also wrote the story with the two leading actors in mind. Nicholson, a notorious womaniser himself, is cast to perfection, with none of his genius of facial expression missed. And Keaton's gentle warmth, with an appealing mixture of maturity and vulnerability, makes her his perfect co-star. Together, they soon have you seeing past the crinkles and silver hair to believe that it really is possible for an arrogant and selfish batchelor to be redeemed by love. In the end, something's gotta give... and it does, with style!
Beautifully filmed and accompanied by some delightful French melodies, this film is a must for all die-hard romantics, young and old!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
This is a wonderful film, with a good election of Special Features at the end. Nancy Myers, who wrote the screenplay and directed, is interviewed and also does the commentary with both Jack Nicholson and Diane Keaton.
Thoroughly enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 April 2015
My initial interest in this film was down to the fact that, due to its title, I thought it was going to be a re-make of the film Marilyn Monroe was working on at the time she died. In fact, this film has nothing to do with that comedy but I'm glad to have watched it nevertheless.

In honesty, I am not usually a huge fan of Jack Nicholson. Bar his impressive performance in 'The Shining' I've not really 'bought into' most of the characters I've seen him portray. NO-ONE in my opinion will ever better Cesar Romero as 'The Joker' and I guess a lot of Jack's other films are just not my style.

Here though, as aging Playboy, Harry Sanborn all the things that usually annoy me about Jack seem perfect for the role! In spite of his age, his charisma, money and persona make Harry a believable 'older guy who can pull young beautiful ladies' and so straight away the whole plot of the film makes sense.

In many ways I would not call the film a 'laugh out loud' kind of comedy. A lot of the humour is also tinged with emotion and so you find yourself smiling a lot at how poignant and true to life the situations Harry and his ladies find themselves in rather than bursting your britches with laughter.

Diane Keaton is also great as the brilliant but lonely playwright, Erica Barry and the feelings that gradually develop between her and Harry are so well played here that you'd swear Diane and Jack rushed off to get wed the day after filming stopped!

I wasn't quite so convinced about the realism of Erica's other potential suitor in the film, the VERY dishy young Doctor played by Keanu Reeves but that slight quibble aside her affair with the good Doctor did add a poignant twist to the plot.

I don't really want to say much more because any more I give away will undoubtedly spoil things for you. So, all I will say is that, if you like two-hour movies that are easy on the eye, gentle, romantic and funny, you should buy 'Something's Gotta Give' and spend an evening alone (or with that someone special) in its company...

With some interesting extras (including two different commentaries) this DVD also provides good value for money.

Well done Jack!

(And Harry!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Great film for all you dreamers and romantics out there - great for girlie night in with bottle of wine and chocs - has been watched numerous times in our house - great story line - definitely recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Jack Nicholson more or less stars as himself in this one- a bachelor at 63 and only attracted to younger women. He dates a young woman and they believe they have the beach house to themselves, that is until her mother turns up! After Nicolson's character has a mild heart attack he now must rest with them and he feels that he is growing closer to the mother played by Diane Keaton. Something's Gotta Give is utterly predictable but the acting is fantastic. Diane Keaton especially is terrific as the under confident over age woman seeking romance in her life. Not only is Nicholson pining over her but also the doctor played by Keanu Reeves is too. Perhaps Reeves is miss cast in this movie, a fine actor but the role doesn't seem to suit him. Nicholson as ever is excellent, and the support cast who get less and less screen time as the movie develops are solid. This is a fun feel good movie, that reveals Nicholson's backside and a fully frontal (though blink and you'll miss it) Keaton.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Love Diane Keaton, and never more so than in this film. Love Jack Nicholson, especially as he is taking on more of these older man films. And loved this film - the chemistry between the characters and the way in which the relationships develop is really satisfying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
This is a real feel-good romantic comedy, this could warm the hearts of those even with the toughest of skins. That is surely what is expected anyway with a cast like this, Diane Keaton and Jack Nicholson, what more could you want? I first watched this movie online after being bored and wanting to watch something new, as soon as I realised this was a Nancy Meyers movie, I just knew that I was in for a treat. Some of my favourite movies are Nancy Meyers movies, The Parent Trap, Father of The Bride 1 & 2 and so it was apparent that this too would become one of my all time favourites and make me jealous of all the surroundings and beautiful houses and places.

Diane Keaton gives a belting performance as Erica Barry a divorced playwright who's plays have been seen all over the world and are quiet famous we are lead to believe, she is alone and it is suggested that she stays inside most of the time writing instead of letting herself meet new people. She has a daughter Marin whom is scared of falling in love and getting hurt, she starts dating Harry a sixty-three year old very rich business man whom is prone for dating younger women and has not even seen a woman his own age naked which is quiet bizarre and you get the impression that he is your typical man who is happy to just sleep with someone and send them home as he has never been married and never experienced true love, Jack Nicholson portrays this with ease and shows that he is perfect for this role.

Marin decides to take Harry to the beach house her mother owns in the Hamptons but unaware that her mother is there with her aunt for the weekend, they of course, cross paths and Erica discovers her daughters relationship with Harry and is not impressed. She takes it on her shoulders and decides they will all stay for the weekend and try and get on together. After dinner Marvin Gaye is heard in the background and after a few laughs you hear Marin's scream, Harry has of course from the 'excitement' had a heart attack.

As not to spoil it any further I'll just summarize the rest, Erica has to look after Harry on her own at the beach house and what could come from that? As Harry's doctor takes a liking to Erica after seeing all of her plays and asks her out on dates and then Harry and Erica's hate soon turns into something completely opposite...

Will Erica be able to turn the fun living, one night stand loving, young women loving Harry into the man who gets the lady?

You will just have to buy it and watch, you will not regret it!!!

The soundtrack is sublime.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2009
Aagh! I can't believe I just wasted 123 minutes of my life watching this!

Warning: you REALLY, REALLY, REALLY have to LOVE Jack Nicholson if you're going to watch this. Otherwise, it's ghastly enough watching him paw some girl one-third his age for the first ten minutes, but it's even worse watching him and Diane Keaton coyly gurn at eachother when they thrash about in silk sheets. Yeeeuch!!! I like Diane Keaton - everyone likes Annie Hall. But Diane, noooooooooh! This is too dire for words.

I get the premise - it's a good one. Why should women of a certain age be invisible on film and in real life, while repulsive, rich old men get to go to bed with twenty-year-olds? The tables are turned, and Keanu Reeves falls in love with a woman old enough to be his mother. Fine. But do we have to watch? I prefer the Cary Grant/Clint Eastwood school of ageing on screen - keep it covered up. Sex doesn't equal love anyway, a platitude the film sets out to promote. Seeing Jack Nicholson's naked bum in a theatre gown is momentarily funny, but hardly appetising; seeing him coming up for air after .. what shall we say, his Cameron Diaz moment.. is frankly gross. Cameron Diaz he is not. Double yeeuch! Maybe it wouldn't be quite as bad if it didn't reinforce the sexism it purports to attack by casting a man who is fat and repulsive opposite a woman who clearly goes to the gym every day to maintain her filmstar figure, and can not only wear size 10 beige jeans with impunity, but can also put her hands in the pockets. Not many 50+ year-olds can identify with that, can they? But then, it's not about reality, is it? Not with that house in the Hamptons, and a daughter who works as an auctioneer at Christie's and has lines like "I've got to go and sell 40 million dollars worth of art!" It's romantic fantasy for Americans. In other words, sentimental pap, spiced up for the new millennium with a bit of sex. Pity - it could have been quite good - especially if it had been half the length.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.