Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taste the Blood of Hammer!!
Taste the Blood of Dracula is another great film from the House of Hammer.This DVD is the uncut version, which includes the brothel scenes, the killing of Lord Courtley.
The film begins with Roy Kinnear, a salesman on a carriage ride trying to sell an item to 2 odd looking men,he gets thrown off the carriage, witneses the killing of Dracula (Christopher Lee). Three...
Published on 16 July 2004 by mintchocchip04

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sins of the fathers
Taste the Blood of Dracula follows on so directly from Dracula Has Risen From the Grave that, after one particularly bizarre piece of deus ex machina that borders on the inspired, it begins with Roy Kinnear literally stumbling into the last scene of the movie. On a less welcome note it also marks the point at which an increasingly reticent Christopher Lee was reduced to a...
Published on 15 Dec. 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DRAC'S BACK....AGAIN, BUT RARELY SEEN, 30 Nov. 2010
Taking up where Dracula Has Risen From The Grave ended. If I remember correctly this was the fourth instalment of the famous count dished out by Hammer Films of which I was a fan of the great Christopher Lee. You may be slightly disappointed as Mr. Lee takes a back seat in this attempt to boost up the franchise. Dracula is there only as a backdrop to the story, which consists of three elderly business men, Geoffrey Keen, John Carson and Peter Sallis who are to all, pillars of society but by night haunt the local brothels at night seeking the ultimate thrill.
Enter Lord Courtley (Ralph Bates) who intends to give them just that. Courtley has gotten his hands on a sample of Draula's blood which he drinks and expects his trio of debauched old aged pensioners to do the same, until something goes awry and in a panic Courtley is killed by the men. The deadly trio having done their terrible deed, go into hiding.

Dracula, now gorged with a mixture of Courtley's (and his own) blood eminates from the dead body of his servant vowing revenge on the men and their families and so the blood letting begins.
While the storyline is ok The producers decided to film around the Dracula character and we do not see Christopher Lee as often as we would like. The movie is nearly half way through before we see Lee. There is the usual Dracula final confrontation with our hero and he is destroyed quickly. "So stay in your Dracula costume Christopher, we gotta get you ready for the next movie".

Joking aside, Christopher Lee's appearance in these sequels became scarcer and often nearly non existent he was by this instalment unhappy with the way the series and his participation was going and said so in no uncertain terms. And contrary to some belief that he hated playing the Count, he actually cherished it and always carried a copy of the book Dracula with him on set, hoping that the director would allow him a quotation or two from the novel.

His predictions unfortunately became a reality. It took three more outings of the Count before Lee finally called a halt.
This movie was not the worst in the series and may would be of some interest to Hammer fans if for no other reason than to keep their collection intact. Good, but nowhere near a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy it - cut version, 6 July 2000
By A Customer
The version on video is the cut USA release version which is missing 4m 30s of footage excised to get a PG certificate. All of the nudity in the brothel scenes, part of the killing of Lord Courtley (Ralph Bates) and the Dracula kill scenes have been cut. BBC versions are usually complete - and the picture quality is far better. Tape those instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dracula = Christopher Lee, 14 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste The Blood Of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Nothing much you can really say, Christopher Lee as Dracula. Excellent, clearly the best ever Dracula actor.Had to be brought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taste The Blood Of Dracula, 6 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste The Blood Of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
I love this! I am a Christopher Lee fan and this is a must. Highly recommended! Chills for every Hammer Horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars another film on dvd to replace my vhs tape, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste The Blood Of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
good value for money ive been replacing my dracula film collection bit by bit cheaply and now i have all the dvds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dracula taste of blood, 27 May 2013
This review is from: Taste The Blood Of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Pretty good gone into my collection good qaulity and price very good very vintage film one of his best yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a good film to, 8 Oct. 2014
By 
Maurice C "InulasHelp" (Reading Nr. London UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Taste The Blood Of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
I am a Dracula fan so this has to be another one for my collection.
It is a good film to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer Horror., 5 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste The Blood Of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Still a good watch reminder of my youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lee is wasted, 29 July 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Taste The Blood Of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
This 4th film in the Hammer Dracula series starts promisingly. Roy Kinnear witnesses Dracula dying in classic fashion (stake in heart) and keeps the Counts dried blood, Cape and Ring etc. Later in the film he sells these to three English gentleman who are looking for something more exciting than a brothel and are given this opportunity by Lord Courtley (Ralph Bates). He wants to bring Dracula back to life and the 3 gentlemen help him. Of course it all goes wrong, and from there the film goes downhill rapidly.

This really barely deserves three stars. What must Christopher Lee have thought when he read the script? He barely has a dozen words to say in the film, and his opening line is so bad "they have destroyed my servant. they will be destroyed". He must have been paid a lot of money! Sure his phsyical presence is still impressive but overall he never has a chance to put his mark on the film.

The other problem with some of these later Dracula films is the absence of an opponent worthy of mention. Peter Cushing as Van Helsing appears in a couple of the later films in 1972 & 1973 and manages to make these watchable, even though in general the series deterioted with each film. In this film I never believed that Dracula could be beaten...

If you want to buy the best Hammer Dracula films, get the first Dracula film (aka The Horror of Dracula) with Lee and Cushing, this is in a different league from all the sequels. The 2nd film Dracula Prince of Darkness is very watchable. I haven't see the 3rd recently. Of the later ones the last 'The Satanic Rites of Dracula' is worth considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
John Edward Robinson "Beau Alfie" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taste The Blood Of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Another master piece from Christopher Lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taste The Blood Of Dracula [DVD] [1970]
Taste The Blood Of Dracula [DVD] [1970] by Peter Sasdy (DVD - 2013)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews