Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Around the world in eighty days
I had original in VCR and changed to DVD.This gives a big improvement in both picture and sound and a far more compact package,plus many special features, which were not on VCR.
I personally rate this version with David Niven etc as far superior to other versions issued later.
I recommend this as an excellent,all round entertaining film, which is suitable for...
Published on 23 July 2009 by L. E. Smith

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit dated by now
This is a bit dated by now, but still not a bad film to watch. It seems like more of a travelogue than anything else, at this point. Frankly, at three hours and being a mid-50s film, I thought it might be too slow in too many spots but that was not the case. Only the bullfighting scene went on too long. The rest kept my interest.
Published on 14 April 2012 by Lord Anon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars remenbering, 30 Oct. 2013
By 
Carlos Parot Delsahut (talca chile) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
this is a movie tha we aged man can never forget,for many reasons is a turist tripp by part of the globe,and a remember so many actors of the past that ar not alive today,and nobody reach then in sence of good humor and naturaly acting.this a usefull lessons for the actuals pretending artista.to see fernandel as a cochier in parís,charles boyer,frank Sinatra at a piano,and many others is supprise very emotive,.by all means a gemm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An epic movie, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Marjorie Williamson (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie stays very close to the book which is always very good. The scenery and humour make it outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant film this is the best version it was a good price and arrived quickly would buy through this company again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Around the World in 80 Days, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
A delight to watch by the whole family or seperately the will be aclassic no matter how many updates you make of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Around the world in 80 days, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
Great classic film. The best childrens film i ever watched and by far better than the new remake. Takes me back to my childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a night flight of fancy around the world in the good old times, 13 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
Five Oscar winner film from 1956, the only one ever produced by Michael Todd, third husband of Elizabeth Taylor, who died soon afterwrds at 48. Nice box with two DVDs in English and French, with subtitles in Spanish as well. A pleasant panoramic view of the world's cultures, where the real protagonist is Passpartout, while Phileas Fogg embodies English pleghm in front of every and all adversity and unforseen circumstances. Surely some scenes appear rather improbable (in the book and in the film) but we should keep in mind that Verne was writing in the XIX century and the film was made in the 1950s technology, no CGI here! But the movie flows well and leads the viewer by the hand around the world for a lively and at times even sparkling journey.

Of course, it is highly advisable to read the book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars david niven, 23 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
its a timeless classic, a time when films were a joy to watch,the newer version is ok but not a patch on this one, anyone of any age can watch this, well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars around the world in eighty days, 15 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this dvd for use in the English lesson I teach. The students thought it was excellent and highly hilarious. fantastic movie would recommend to anyone who hasn't seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AROUND THE WORLD IN 80 DAYS, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
The film was absolutely fantastic. Saw it in the cinema many many years ago and was reading a write-up on it recently and decided to purchase to watch it again. It was abolutely enthralling - was totally lost for the entire duration - and it was quite a bit of fun trying to recognise some of the famous "oldies" who appeared for a moment or two along the way. The theme music throughout was just amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unhappy customer, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Film I know is excellent as its proved the test of time just v sad I couldn't play it through Amazon and again sadly no reply from their tech about any refund or replacement.

Film excellent. Amazon Prime well not so don't waste your money on Amazon Prime that's my advise buy a dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD]
Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] by Michael Anderson (DVD - 2004)
£6.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews