Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Around the world in eighty days
I had original in VCR and changed to DVD.This gives a big improvement in both picture and sound and a far more compact package,plus many special features, which were not on VCR.
I personally rate this version with David Niven etc as far superior to other versions issued later.
I recommend this as an excellent,all round entertaining film, which is suitable for...
Published on 23 July 2009 by L. E. Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit dated by now
This is a bit dated by now, but still not a bad film to watch. It seems like more of a travelogue than anything else, at this point. Frankly, at three hours and being a mid-50s film, I thought it might be too slow in too many spots but that was not the case. Only the bullfighting scene went on too long. The rest kept my interest.
Published on 14 April 2012 by Lord Anon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Around the world in 80 days, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
Great classic film. The best childrens film i ever watched and by far better than the new remake. Takes me back to my childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a night flight of fancy around the world in the good old times, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
Five Oscar winner film from 1956, the only one ever produced by Michael Todd, third husband of Elizabeth Taylor, who died soon afterwrds at 48. Nice box with two DVDs in English and French, with subtitles in Spanish as well. A pleasant panoramic view of the world's cultures, where the real protagonist is Passpartout, while Phileas Fogg embodies English pleghm in front of every and all adversity and unforseen circumstances. Surely some scenes appear rather improbable (in the book and in the film) but we should keep in mind that Verne was writing in the XIX century and the film was made in the 1950s technology, no CGI here! But the movie flows well and leads the viewer by the hand around the world for a lively and at times even sparkling journey.

Of course, it is highly advisable to read the book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars david niven, 23 Jun 2011
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
its a timeless classic, a time when films were a joy to watch,the newer version is ok but not a patch on this one, anyone of any age can watch this, well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars around the world in eighty days, 15 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this dvd for use in the English lesson I teach. The students thought it was excellent and highly hilarious. fantastic movie would recommend to anyone who hasn't seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AROUND THE WORLD IN 80 DAYS, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
The film was absolutely fantastic. Saw it in the cinema many many years ago and was reading a write-up on it recently and decided to purchase to watch it again. It was abolutely enthralling - was totally lost for the entire duration - and it was quite a bit of fun trying to recognise some of the famous "oldies" who appeared for a moment or two along the way. The theme music throughout was just amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars niven at his best!, 9 Nov 2009
By 
R. M. Dahl - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
big cast and has some great reviews at the time watch carefully and count the cameo roles of some big stars ! worth every penny !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie and excellent restored edition, 8 July 2004
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is really a great classic. Finally there is a dvd edition and it is excellent. Compared to VHS editions this dvd from restored material has a very goog quality. Since the detials given are not too much, I'll copy some info from the backcover below.
Around the World in 80 Days
Audio: English - 5.1 Dolby Digital, French - Stereo
Hearing Impaired: English
Subtitles: English, French, Dutch, Arabic, Arabic, Romanian
Region: 2 (Europe, Japan, etc)
Discs: 2 (dual layer, DVD9)
Extra features:
- Introduction by Robert Osborne
- BBC Radio commetary
- Out-takes
- Stills gallery
- Documentary 'Around the world by Mike Todd'
- Micheal Todd's Around the World in 80 Days Alamanac
Some intro's and highlights from premiere and Academy Awards are included too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars around the world in 80 days, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Peter James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a superb movie and the best version of all Verne's books brought to the cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very happy was worth buying it thanks, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
excellent in very good order thank you arrived very quickly was a gift for a friend as it was on her wish list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] (DVD)
it made my day watching such a good film in perfect condition without any problem worring in what condition you may find it in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd1d8e8)

This product

Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD]
Around The World In Eighty Days [1956] [DVD] by Michael Anderson (DVD - 2004)
6.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews