Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars25
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 August 2011
Not just memorable because of Fred Willard's Schtick, but because all the other performances are brilliant, from Posey to Levy. The songs are good too, funny and oddly catchy, just like Spinal Tap's. Bringing together the makers of that classic, this instead is about the folk music scene, how old bands are getting together for a special tribute gig. Will it be a success? Will Mitch and Micky kiss? Will Mike La Fontaine get a ten minute spot? Watch to see Wha' happens.

O'Hara and Levy star as Mitch and Micky, a folk couple who were once sweethearts, but their relationship fell apart. Now Mitch is an odd recluse and Micky has married a model train fanatic. The highlight of their show was a kiss during one song. The New Main Street Singers are a group revamped from the Golden age while the Folksmen are 3 men- Guest, Mckean, Shearer who are looking to reclaim their fame. Throw into the mix La Fontaine, owner and founder of High Class management and many other insane characters, and we have another very funny film. Best moments include- all of Willard's scenes, proving he is one of the funniest men alive, and the 'I would love to see this town in the Autumn' scene and the ' best acoustics in the world' scene. Very underrated and pretty much unknown (though it has garnered a cult following in recent years), if you're a fan of 'strange' comedy, watch this.

The DVD is surprisingly filled with special features from deleted scenes to chats with the cast, and even a gig with most of the acts. The features are very entertaining and also highlight how tight, how full of ideas, and how much love they have for the art this group have.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
I agree with the previous review that this isn't side-splitting in the way that the Spinal Tap film was, however it is a lovely film with a great deal of humour and the usual wonderful Chris Guest ensemble cast who also handle the music superbly.

You'll almost certainly enjoy this if you like Guest's style from his previous offerings or if you have any interest in the kind of folksy american music groups that are so brilliantly spoofed here.

I don't really understand why the previous reviewer says a lot of good things about the film and then rates it with only 3 stars... I guess these things are relative, but a film that rates between Best in Show (that's got to be at least a 3 star film) and This is Spinal Tap (11 stars) gets a 4 from me.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
I agree with the previous reviewers - musically brilliant, very funny but not belly-laugh-inducing in a Spinal Tap kind of way. What this film has that Guest's previous offerings lacked is a real heart, with Mitch and Mickey's tragic tale at the centre.

The first time I saw this it would have been a 3-4 star, but repeated viewing reveals more and more delights (those album covers!) and for me, it's a 5.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2006
Beware that this DVD contains Enhanced Region Encoding and will not work on multi-region DVD players or those encoded for other regions.

Unlike most other Region 1 DVDs you come across, it will ONLY WORK on a DVD REGION 1 player.

This is a bit of a shame as I couldn't find it with a region 2 encoding either.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2004
In many ways this is a fair sequel to the peerless This Is Spinal Tap. It's certainly a much more understated effort in all respects, but there's no mistaking the humour: one can imagine few bands other than Spinal Tap being signed to a record company so cheap it didn't punch holes in the vinyl!
Michael McKean and Christopher Guest play it pretty straight, so many of the choicest lines comes from the bit parts, and while it's not in the same league as 'Tap, there are some genuine gut-busters in there (one that particularly stuck for me was the pros and cons of playing in a garage band in Stockholm).
I'm a little surprised that some have found the plot lacking: There was a clear dramatic climax - "the kiss" - which was set up very early in the piece, and to my mind was handled very deftly indeed.
Definitely worth a night in.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2008
Now I am a folk musician, and I thought it was marvellous. It's not as funny as Spinal Tap, but a lot better than Best In Show. It affectionately spoofs 60's American Folk, but I have to say thet the music, not counting the contributions of the superbly cheesy New Main Street Singers, is genuinely excellent. All are excellent musicians and singers, esp Eugene Levy, playing the "casualty" Mitch who gives a marvellous impression of being a rusty musician, whilst (spoiler?) pulling it out of the bag when it really counts.

Derek Eynon
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2004
Don't expect it to be as funny as Spinal Tap. But then what is?
Nice movie, great characters, and funny.
And very touching sometimes, to my surprise.
And despite me definitely not being a folk fan, some excellent music too.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2004
If you liked spinal tap this is a must see movie. It has some really catchy (and cheesy) songs that you can't get out of your head. The characters are extremly funny and there are some great catch phrases. It has a great cast.
Make sure you put the subtitles on so you can sing along to the songs.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2004
From the same people who brought you "Waiting for Guffman" and "Best in Show," here comes Christopher Guest's new masterpiece, "A Mighty Wind," which proves to be his best effort yet. This is one of the better films to come out of the year 2003. While the film proves to be a hilarious comedy with very clever satirical elements in it, it is also touching and sincere.
When a big-name manager and icon in the folk music world passes away, the son feels that the best tribute for him would be a live-broadcast reunion of the once popular folk bands that his father once represented. While they were very successful and popular in the 60's, most of them have fallen under the "where are they now?" category. There's The Folksmen, who haven't played together for years. Then, there's The New Mainstreet Singers, who always ends up playing at amusement parks. And finally, there's Mitch and Mickey, who were once a popular duo-in-love until their angry breakup long ago. All of them will be performing together again, and it's all live.
As I said in the beginning, I think this is Guest's best movie of the three he has done. Not only is it funny and entertaining, but it's also touching and has a very sincere tone to it all. The laughs that come from this movie are always from the subtlety rather than the obvious. All of the actors are a joy to watch (especially Eugene Levy, who once again steals the show). Another stand-out performance comes from Fred Willard, who proves to be ten times more animated and comical than he was in "Best of Show" (who ever thought such a thing could be possible!). Catherine O'Hara, Harry Shearer, Christopher Guest, Michael McKean and everybody else does a fantastic job in their roles.
There's some mighty cool extras included on the DVD. The picture and sound quality is really great, and makes the movie what it is. Extras included are deleted scenes, commentary from Christopher Guest and Eugene Levy, the live-TV broadcast of the concert, TV appearances from the bands in the movie and more. Very cool features for a film of this magnitude.
If you're a fan of Guest's other two films, then I highly recommend that you see "A Mighty Wind." You don't even have to like folk music in order to enjoy it. This review is coming from a guy who was born the 80's, and I'm telling you that I loved every minute of this film. It's funny, witty, clever and sincere. If you're tired of the overly ordinary comedies, then you will fall in love with this one, which is anything but ordinary. A true gem to come out of 2003, without a doubt. -Michael Crane
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
This movie definitely improves with repeated viewings as at least one other reviewer has indicated. What sticks out is that while sending up the whole genre, in a wonderfully affectionate way, the musicianship and songwriting is actually of a better calibre than most mainstream musicals. Comparisons with Spinal Tap are probably unfair as the viewer will probably be biased towards one or the other depending on their personal musical tastes. What it shows is the incredible versatility of the cast. Anyway, I loved it, but watch it for yourself!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)