Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuis at work.
The animated series is work of genius. Or genius's. Lovingly crafted, beautifully written and establishes itself quickly as the best depiction of Batman outside the comics.
These are some of the earliest episodes, and arguably some of the weakest. The Last Laugh is a especially bad compared with later Joker episodes and the animated movies. "Nothing to Fear" is...
Published on 7 Aug 2005 by Mr. A. P. Venables

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy the season!
I love this series, but DON'T waste your money on just a couple of episodes, there is no point! There is more continuity if you buy the season, plus these episodes are not that great! I have all three of these DVD's and I have been very dissapointed by the selection on all 3! DO NOT BUY THIS DVD!
Published on 5 Sep 2008 by Frazer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuis at work., 7 Aug 2005
This review is from: Batman - The Legend Begins [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The animated series is work of genius. Or genius's. Lovingly crafted, beautifully written and establishes itself quickly as the best depiction of Batman outside the comics.
These are some of the earliest episodes, and arguably some of the weakest. The Last Laugh is a especially bad compared with later Joker episodes and the animated movies. "Nothing to Fear" is one of my favourites and you'll notice that the Begins movie (in regards to the Scarecrow) lifts a lot of material from here. Pretty Poison, and on Leather Wings are also classy episodes which stand up against the repeatng viewing. On the whole a short but sweet disc.
The DVD extras offer a brief but insightful intro. into each episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best Superhero series.... ever!, 5 Aug 2004
By 
P. A. Keating "houshin" (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman - The Legend Begins [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Before the release of this series most superhero series, while fun, never really captured the spirit of the comic books, often talking down to the viewer. With the animated version of Batman came a series aimed at the slightly older viewer. This meant a much darker series that featured everything that made the comic book version so popular.
On this disk you get the following episodes; On Leather Wings, Christmas With The Joker, Nothing To Fear, The Last Laugh, Pretty Poison. These episodes feature several of Batmans most popular villians, including Poison Ivy, The Scarecrow and The Joker (wonderfully voiced by Mark Hamill).
The main dissapointment is that it does not feature the series opener, The Cat and The Claw, and that it is more a best of than a collection of the series (the US have the complete season 1 DVD).
Batman The Animated Series has yet to be surpassed both as an animation and as a superhero series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy the season!, 5 Sep 2008
By 
Frazer (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I love this series, but DON'T waste your money on just a couple of episodes, there is no point! There is more continuity if you buy the season, plus these episodes are not that great! I have all three of these DVD's and I have been very dissapointed by the selection on all 3! DO NOT BUY THIS DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading rating, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - The Legend Begins [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is shown as a u rating and was bought for this reason. When received its a PG. I have two very sad little boys now as they can't watch it. I feel the PG is not suitable when they are so young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PG not U, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - The Legend Begins [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I don't have an issue with the product as such, but the photo shows it as a U when it is actually a PG. I was buying it for my 4 year old who suddenly has a fasination with Batman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legend is the right word, 25 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - The Legend Begins [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Possibly the best ever depiction of Batman to ever grace the screen- brilliant animation, the style of artwork is great and even after a very long period the episodes haven't dated. Also, on a random note, the voice of Robin is also the guy who provides the voice of Fry in "Futerama" which amused my brother and I greatly! LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 July 2009
By 
Sarah Sturdy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman - The Legend Begins [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Great DVD, I bought this for my 4 year old and he loves it, well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars misleading certifcate rating not a 'U', 13 July 2010
This review is from: Batman - The Legend Begins [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The picture on the Amazon web site of the DVD is misleading as it supposedly has a 'U' certificate but when I received the DVD it was a PG certificate, not appropriate for my four year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - The Legend Begins [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
grandsons love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super cool, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman - The Legend Begins [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
very good, i like that, really good, supper cool, funy, really really good., so nice, love taht really. super, super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman - The Legend Begins [DVD] [2004]
Batman - The Legend Begins [DVD] [2004] by Kevin Conroy (DVD - 2004)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews