Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2007
This is a cracking compilation with all the best of Mountain included here. a budget CD crammed with powerful driving rock. Leslie West & Corky Laing are still touring since the death of Felix - not as spellbinding as they used to be but still pretty sonic and fast.

Felix Papalardi worked with Cream on Wheels of Fire and that's what introduced me to Mountain many decades ago now. I remember seeing them many times doing all the numbers included here. Great blistering guitar anthems backed with a solid bass and thumping drumming. Soaring magical sounds by a big guy who'd thump huge chords out of his Gibson by smashing it with his knee. At this price you can't go too far wrong - give it a spin. I promise you'll get it, there's nothing obscure or difficult here!
0Comment38 of 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2008
This is a fantastic way to discover Mountain. Almost all of the classic tracks are here the only exception being the live versions which are superior in many case's. Mountain had a very large reputation as hard rock pioneers and this is truly deserved. Les West is a fantastic guitarist with a soulful voice. Felix is one of the top ten bass guitarist of his generation almost as skilled as Jack Bruce and as consistent a writer. Corky Lang is a Canadian Ginger Baker and Knight certainly tickles the ivories with skill and passion. This compilation brings together most of the best cuts from the bands studio albums and is remarkable value for money. Mountain are often compered with Cream, however Cream had aspirations to become pop stars and wrote some very weak tracks as a result at times. Mountain did not sell out to the same extent and the music is stronger. Like Cream Mountain were at their very best live, and this is one area in which this record doesn't do them justice. However for a budget collection this cd represents great value. Buy this and the Road goes on forever together, and you will have a pretty decent overview of this important hard rock group. Modern music doesnt come close to Mountain at their peak and very few bands of the 70's could compete with this true super-group. If you like the music of bands like Cream, Zeppelin and the Who chances are you will love Mountain.
I have given this comp only 4 stars but that is because it has not got any of the live recordings of Mountain, rather than as a reflection of the music the cd contains which truly deserves all 5 Stars.
0Comment26 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
We had Cream - America had Mountain

Now there's Metallica - in the late 60s / early 70s there was Mountain.

If you ever wondered where Heavy Metal came from - listen to this and know that this is where it started.

Essentially a three piece line-up (+ some guy called Steve Knight), they manage to produce a fuller sound than some of Cream's recordings - well done Felix Pappalardi (producer of Cream and playing member of Mountain).

Highlights of the album include some of the most powerful heavy rock tracks (Mississippi Queen, Never In My Life, Don't Look Round, Flowers of Evil (a great album title if ever I heard one) and Nantucket Sleighride - to name but a few) ever recorded.

Once you've discovered the best of - search out and buy their catalogue. The Mountain Live album is something else - but if you just want a snapshot of how America responded to Cream (and to a certain extent - Led Zeppelin) - here it is.
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2011
This album is a must for anyone serious about music, this is a classic album. Since buying this album its hardly been off my CD player, an absolutely outstanding album. I have several other mountain albums and because of the age of the recordings some of the sound quality can be a bit poor, however the quality on this album is excellent.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
If you like your rock with a heavy influence of the blues, or your blues with a heavy influence of rock, then this is a must for your C.D collection, Leslie West can play one note and get you going, a guitarist that plays with feel rather than the million notes per second often used by modern day rock guitarist. Highly recommended.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
A blast from my past,saw them at knebworth they were brilliant couldnt resist buying the best of cd.great album cheers
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
I bought this for Nantucket Sleighride, but I love all the other songs now, still so fresh and groovy!! Yes, for something different, it is a great collection.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
This is the true very best of Mountain. There is an extensive number of their best tracks which I find perfect to listen to on my MP3 whilst on those long runs. It contains alsmost all tracks found on The Best of Mountain - Featuring Leslie West & Felix Pappalardi which I aslo ordered but it didn't arrive.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Not really my cup of tea though some interesting stuff here despite that. I may see if I can get hold of a live recording because that's the mark of decent band; how well they do their stuff live.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
Fat Leslie Weinstein from the Vagrants blew amps and screamed like Jack Bruce, so they signed him for a solo album. Then some record company genius put him in with bass playing producer Felix Pappalardi. Now Felix was the New Yorker who produced Cream and made them into superstars. Don't believe me? Cream's first Robert Stigwood produced album was a pile of crap compared to later efforts. You know, Disraeli Gears, recorded in New York? Sunshine of Your Love? Wheels of Fire? The first song on Disraeli Gears was Strange Brew, written by Felix and his murderous wife Gail Collins (who killed him in 1981), sung by Clapton.

That thunking bass/drum/guitar sound pioneered by Cream was taken up by Mountain. After the shouting and screaming of his debut, the self styled Leslie 'West' decided to form a band with Felix and a Canadian called Corky Laing and produced a few more albums, the first couple of which were superior to his debut. What Felix added was his lovely voice (think Clapton who can sing) and more complex material. And of course, the sound. This collection is an uneven mess, but tracks like Yasgur's Farm, Never In My Life, and Tales from an Imaginary Western are priceless mementos of the late 1960's/Early 1970's.

That Felix's story is so little known is a pity, and that is one reason for buying this. About halfway through you'll realise how important a talent he was, and how good Fat Leslie was at riffs.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.