Customer Reviews


390 Reviews
5 star:
 (327)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in transfers !
I've broken a golden rule with myself as I vowed never to buy a Blu-ray at its full price if I'd already owned the film on a multitude of different formats (VHS , Laserdisc , DVD) , but some films are just worth paying that extra for and I honestly couldn't wait for the price to drop as this is one of my all time favourite films.
Its going to be hard not to quote...
Published on 7 Sept. 2012 by Julian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digital + Ultraviolet Scam
Jaws Ultra Violet and Digital Copy does not work in Ireland. Ultra Violet seems to be limited to USA and UK alone. In my opinion this is a very unfair and callous Marketing ploy - clearly the studios are only too aware of the amount of Apple products being sold and so stick a label on the front of their Blu Rays stating this can go straight to your device but neglects to...
Published on 10 Sept. 2012 by sherman31


‹ Previous | 125 26 2739 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaws... a solid gold classic for many years to come., 2 Mar. 2008
By 
Great White "GW" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is the mother of all shark movies. Still standing the test of time since it was made, Jaws is a solid gold classic. I have had this on video and DVD many times now, but everytime i see it on TV I always end up watching it. It is a film that has universal appeal (no pun intended). By now everyone should know the story a killer Great White Shark is chowing down on the small town inhabitants of the peaceful Amity and the Police Chief Martin Brody must find a way to stop it. Right from those terrifying (Spielberg found the tune silly when John Williams played it for him, later it would become the theme that would strike fear into filmgoers hearts and still do to this day) opening scenes with THAT music immediately instills the fear into you. To tell the truth i have never been swimming in any sea since i saw this movie, purely because like its depicted in this film, you don't know whats under you. This is a gem of a film as it still has the power that it had many years ago and still terrifys the new generation. Spielberg did a wonderful job capturing the magic of Benchley's novel. A lot of people slag off the ending even benchley didn't like the way that Spielberg scripted the shark dying. I say think about this without that scene Scheider would never have had the oppotunity to say that great line "smile you son of a....."
If you haven't seen Jaws then where the hell have you been, you have missed a great film. The shark breaking down during the film was great because then Spielberg gave us the POV of the shark as it's about to attack. If he had of had the shark to begin with it probably would have never worked, thank god he didn't. There's something about the view of the shark that more scary than seeing the shark. Maybe it's cause you know it's going to kill someone, or it could be the fact that Spielberg makes the audience think that for brief moments WE are the shark. The film should have got an Oscar for not only Editing (which it did) but for Roy Scheider for best actor, Richard Dreyfuss as Supporting Actor and Spielberg as best Director because it deserves it. When you do finally see Jaws, you do jump and if the shark had been seen earlier, i believe that, the scene on the boat would have lost it's shock value. All in all Jaws boasts some great performances from all the key players and yes even to "Bruce". This is also the only Jaws film where the shark was believable and not rubber looking like the sequels. I'm not so sure that it would still work if a CGI was intergrated into the film or if they do a remake, the power is behind the eyes and thats exactly where i should stay.

"I think you are going to ignore this particular problem until it swims up and bite you on the ass"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 15 Dec. 2007
By 
The film that truly launched Spielberg into the public eye, a film which overachieves and overcomes the odds stacked heavily against it. A story about a seaside town attacked by a shark would not seem to be the basis for one of the most loved, respected and successful movies of all time, but Spielberg and the cast make it happen-scares excitement, laughs, good characters and great acting all contribute, along with fluid direction and a now infamous score. The budget was low, the filming at sea extremely troublesome, the shark wouldn't do what it was supposed to, but through all this the story prevails and we are left with a true classic.

Scheider stars as Sheriff Brody, an ex-city cop with a fear of water who moves with his family to Amity, a popular sea-side holiday resort. There have been a number of deaths recently, and young shark expert Hooper comes to town to long at the bodies. He believes the deaths have been caused by a Great White Shark which will not leave the are while there is still plenty of food around. He advises Brody to close the beach, but the Mayor thinks it should be kept open for the July 4th weekend, the time when the town makes a real profit. When attacks continue, Brody and Hooper decide to track the shark and catch it. Local fisherman Quint who has met one or two sharks in his time also comes. The three set out on the tiny boat, and the shark soon finds them.

There are scenes which have since become the stuff of legends- the opening night attack, the 'need a bigger boat' scene and others. The shark may look unreal now, especially as we all have a far better knowledge of sharks with all the documentaries and underwater technology. However, the tension is still high, and like Alien, we only see it near the end. The relationship between the three men on the boat, their arguments and jokes give the film a unique feel, ensuring the viewer is on the boat with them, and other touches such as Brody's son mimicking him are now a Spielberg staple. The death scenes are gruesome and real, thanks to the acting, and the score will is one of the best anyone has done, suiting the film perfectly. By the last few minutes, as the ship sinks, we are with Brody, waiting for the shark's inevitable return. Much has been made of the 'jumpy' moments, and every part of the film has since been dissected. It remains a film which everyone can enjoy, and one which will stay with you forever.

This 2 disc special edition has plenty of trailers, interesting deleted scenes, a good interview with Spielberg and a good documentary charting the history of the film. A piece of history which everyone should enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word. Masterpiece., 3 Dec. 2004
By 
Andrew Kerr "Alabony" (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jaws [VHS] [1976] (VHS Tape)
What more can be said about this film? It just improves with every viewing - all the more reason to buy it on video.
For me, this was the film that brought Spielberg to my attention. Incredibly taut direction, cinematography and editing means there's hardly a wasted shot in the film - every sequence adds to the story. In this sense, the only other film I rate as highly is Heat - and that doesn't have as good a story, or such great characters as this.
Watch it once and be scared out of your wits. Then watch it again. And again. Every time you watch it, you'll notice another fantastic shot that hadn't caught your eye previously. There are so many simple, but beautifully-framed shots that set the scene perfectly. And every time you watch, you'll marvel at how a 30-year-old film with a notoriously-unreliable and patently unconvincing mechanical shark can have such an effect on you.
The central characters are sheer genius. The cantankerous and worryingly self-confident captain (Robert Shaw's greatest performance, in my view - a brilliant caricature), the Chief who's scared of the sea at the best of times (Roy Scheider plays this very well - always just a LITTLE too nervous for comfort!) and the diminutive but well-informed scientist (Richard Dreyfus in another great role - a hugely underrated actor).
Put these characters in a Hitchcockian 'trapped in a wide-open space' situation with a terrifying adversary, add the superb direction, and you have one of the greatest films of all time.
If you'd never thought of this in 'cinema greats' terms before, buy it. And after a couple more viewings, you'll see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spielberg's first epic about a wee fishy, 17 July 2000
Jaws is perhaps 'the' shark movie by which all others are measured. It spawned a number of sequels, all of which (including Spielberg's Jaws II) were pretty awful. However, as a stand-alone piece of film-making, this comes second to none within the ocean thriller genre.
Spielberg's brilliant visual direction was fully demonstrated here, with quirky camera angles and an ever-present sense of forboding. Once you have seen this movie, there are numerous scenes which you will just never forget.
The gore factor is relatively high but is conducted in a non-gratuitious style and in moderation, with severed limbs, bobbing heads and bloodspray all interspersed nicely (!) throughout. There are plenty of shocks for first time viewers, especially when oceanographer Hooper (a young Richard Dreyfuss) conducts a night-dive on the interior of a recently sunk fishing vessel, to inadvertantly reveal... well, that would be telling.
Both the plot and characterisation are excellent and believable throughout, with decent acting and a good combination of sometimes opposing personalities, ie, the cautious Chief Brody (Roy Schieder), the over-enthusiastic oceanographer (Richard Dreyfuss) and the no-nonsense shark hunter Quint (Robert Shaw)teaming-up to hunt down and kill the Great White super-shark.
The final shark-human showdown on Quint's sharkhunting vessel (the Orka) is still as exciting now as it was in 1975, with the tension building as the boat sinks slowly into the ocean as the massive Great White attacks its hull, then goes for humans by literally eating the boat piece by piece !
If somewhat unbelievable in parts (the pea-brained shark almost appears intelligent rather than naturally instintive) and with a giant rubber shark that today may be laughable, there are in fact few other gripes to be had with this movie. If you want real suspense, good acting, brilliant set-pieces and a theme-tune which virtually all six billion people on Earth have at some point hummed in their bath tub or local swimming pool, then look no further than Jaws.
1999's Deep Blue Sea was a progression on the generic 'killer shark' theme, but was way over the top in terms of realism and was more of a sci-fi movie than a genuine sea-based shark thriller.
This was Spielberg's big launch-pad to even greater things, and within three years he had completed Close Encounters and the first Jaws sequel. Not bad going !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ULTIMATE MASTERPIECE, 3 Aug. 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Jaws is a 1975 film directed by steven speilberg and is the epitome of a movie which forces you to think about doing something you take for granted,in this case its swimming in the sea as the fear of jaws reigns long after the film has ended.Based on a book of the same name,speilberg effortlessy invites the viewer into the movie and then sends us into a spiral of fear and panic as jaws is a creature that we are all capable of meeting at one stage,albeit a great white shark and not the man made shark here called bruce by those in the production team.

The movie involves a sleepy beach on a town called amity island that becomes busy with tourists in the summer and when a teenager goes missing,people are blind to the truth and think that maybe she just drowned,but did she?When the police chief starts to suspect that something more sinister lurks beneath the waves he asks for the beach to be closed down but the mayor isnt keen on that and so it remains open but horror beckons and it comes with a price.

As a result three men board a boat on search of jaws and we view men bonding and soul searching and being reflective while hunting for something that has bonded them all,there is much to admire about this movie and im sure most have seen this but if you havent then get this,the sequels suffered because of the brilliance of this,and weak scripts and lack of tension,this has all of that and a heck of a lot more.Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant...!, 17 Feb. 2010
A Kid's Review
I bort Jaws yesterday and it was brillent because it get's you in too the film, It was advtures and exitting. I loved it... Thanks to Jaws
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Oct. 2014
By 
Geoffrey Jones (Blackwater, Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws (Amazon Instant Video)
GOOD FUN MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is a classic. I prefer it to Ghostbusters, e.t, star wars and other cinema masterpieces. The best kill in it is Quints death, when the blood spurts from his mouth its gross. This is not my favourite jaws film, Jaws 2 is, but I prefer it to 3 and 4.
This film is the goriest in the series. Jaws 2 is better because I prefer the plot and the death scenes.

This also comes with a separate disc for special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I DIDN'T HAVE A BATH FOR A YEAR, 19 Sept. 2007
John Williams did it with that famous music score. If they played that on beaches, nobody would swim.

I always thought Jaws went so well until you actually see the shark. But i'm giving them a break, this is thirty years old for goodness sake.

No shark related film has ever come close to this classic and nobody has seriously tried even with modern effects. A young Stephen Spielberg showed his early potential here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Best one made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 125 26 2739 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jaws [DVD] [1975]
Jaws [DVD] [1975] by Steven Spielberg (DVD - 2004)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews