Customer Reviews


297 Reviews
5 star:
 (251)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in transfers !
I've broken a golden rule with myself as I vowed never to buy a Blu-ray at its full price if I'd already owned the film on a multitude of different formats (VHS , Laserdisc , DVD) , but some films are just worth paying that extra for and I honestly couldn't wait for the price to drop as this is one of my all time favourite films.
Its going to be hard not to quote...
Published 22 months ago by Julian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digital + Ultraviolet Scam
Jaws Ultra Violet and Digital Copy does not work in Ireland. Ultra Violet seems to be limited to USA and UK alone. In my opinion this is a very unfair and callous Marketing ploy - clearly the studios are only too aware of the amount of Apple products being sold and so stick a label on the front of their Blu Rays stating this can go straight to your device but neglects to...
Published 22 months ago by sherman31


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it right, 4 Sep 2012
By 
I am almost lost for words. The picture quality and sound quality is immense, 10/10. They have properly remastered this film from the original cells and not done a cheap dvd upscale. There isn't a single bit of grain or noise to be seen in the picture.

The other good thing is that you get a digital copy for use with Windows and iTunes along with the worthless ultraviolet copy. Had it just been the ultraviolet copy, I wouldn't have bought this as I have had a lot of problems with Ultraviolet by way of getting the movies in the first instance and then having to use Flixster app to watch the films. I avoid all ultraviolet blu ray editions, no digital copy for iTunes, no purchase of blu ray.

I have had no issues with the digital copy in Scotland, I have seen some reviews with issue in other countries. The file size of the digital copy via iTunes is 2.05gb so it will take a while to download on standard 8mb DSL.

All in all, no matter how many times you have seen this film, you haven't seen it till you watch the blu ray version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking and sounding amazing on blu-ray, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I received my tin cased copy this morning and I can honestly say it's a fantastic production. The scene where Alex Kintner gets chewed up is truely horrifying as is the spruced up 7.1 sound that accompanies this especially if you have some good speakers and amplifier set up!

A real pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The' Summer Blockbuster, 1 Sep 2012
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I don't think Jaws requires any sort of introduction. Afterall, it pretty much altered the course of movie-making, introduced the 'Summer Blockbuster' philosophy, made Steven Spielberg the hottest property in town and, in the midst of all this, signalled a revival for the large orchestral soundtrack - albeit, with a little help from John Williams.

But what makes Jaws such a satisfying adventure is that its production appears almost effortless, which is quite funny given that many of the props used in the sea (infamously, for the shark) were failing day in, day out. As a product, everything comes together beautifully, and for a movie that is over 35-years old, it's still far more engaging than many modern productions that require CGI to drive the plot. That's just not how storytelling works.

This is why Jaws is a commonly used for study, because there is so much to talk about in the collaborative efforts of the director, music composer and editor. Spielberg's directing is so wonderfully composed that it feels almost like a photo album, with every single shot composed to make full use of the Panavision frame. No area of the picture is wasted, ever. And this is largely Spielberg's genius, perhaps summed up when we see Quint sitting in his boat and making the ever of slightest glances to the fishing tackle, which in the foreground, has just sounded a 'bite'.

Roy Scheider is perfectly cast as Sheriff Martin Brody, who arrives at Amity Island with more trouble than he bargained for. His wife meanwhile seems unsettled moving from New York, and his their concern for their children in the present sea goes unquestioned. Richard Dreyfuss meanwhile made an almost complete turnaround from his role in American Graffiti - this time playing a shark expert (Hooper) who becomes frustrated with the ignorance of those around him in the face of danger. But for me, Robert Shaw steals the show as the rather eccentric Quint; an old sea salt when it comes to sailing and certainly an individual with a story to tell for every fishing trip. Shaw has been regarded as a difficult person to deal with off-camera, and in many ways, the intensity of his characters can always be seen in-frame. In Jaws, he simply makes Quint his own, and the scene in which he explains his 'scar' in the boat is inspiring.

On the subject of the movie's restoration, it's excellent news all round. Universal have offered some inconsistent transfers for their Blu-ray products (perhaps over-dramatised by fans), but Jaws is by far and away the best yet, no question. It looks like a brand new 35mm print with natural grain intact, excellent colour grading, no damage or artefacts and, of course, a wonderfully mixed soundtrack. The restoration team actually remixed this soundtrack from the original master tapes, so it sounds better now than what it did even in the studio originally.

It's easy enough to ask "Why haven't Universal treated all their movies in this way?", but I think part of the problem is that their catalogue is just so vast. To treat every product in the same way as this would have surely been too costly and time consuming. What's more, this movie had a brief cinema re-release this year so the restoration had to be exemplary for a large presentation.

The bonus features are nice - they feature a mix of content we've seen before on TV/DVD, and a brand feature as well; one of which discusses the restoration topic as above. I paid a little more to get this Steelbook version of the product rather than the 'standard' edition, purely to make it stand out in my collection. It's really lovely - the promo images used are very deceiving with regards to the colours. Pity we didn't get the Digibook like in other countries, though...

I don't normally comment on Digital Copies/Ultraviolet because, quite frankly, it's all a bit of a gimmick (and ironic at that). You're paying to watch this wonderful movie in 1080p on your nice TV; why would you want to then watch it on a tiny 4-inch smartphone screen or tablet? Not only this, but Universal (and other studios) are trying to push both Digital Copies and Ultraviolet in a single package, which again is just pointless marketing. The Digital Copy, which you download and then import into iTunes, is overly compressed and full of artefacts, and the Ultraviolet functionality is just cloud streaming from a Wi-Fi or internet connection. I perfectly understand that you want to watch your movie on a laptop whilst travelling, but somebody just needs to sort this mess out as I don't see why I should have pay for extra 'functionality' that is disjointed and proprietary to that particular film studio. 'Format Wars'!

In short however, this is 'the' perfect summer movie that has had a stunning restoration, and is surely now released in its ultimate medium. This is what Blu-ray is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spielberg Genius, 17 April 2007
This review is from: Jaws [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Jaws was very popular when released, it was the highest grossing film of 1975. It spawned three sequels, which were all inferior. In fact, no film about Sharks or any killer fish has been able to come close to the level of Jaws.

The genius in Jaws is its ability to build suspense. The Shark is never really shown till near the end of the film. When ever the Shark is approaching its victims, we get the Sharks point of view, instead of seeing the Shark. These shots combined with John Williams very effective score, make the scenes when the Shark is about to devour his victims much more effective.

Every actor does a nice job with their performances. Roy Scheider brings Martin to life. Martin is not a showy character but Scheider is able to make us like him. Richard Dreyfuss exhibits energy in his performance as Matt Hooper. Robert Shaw is very effective as Quint, that Indiannapolis speech is still very chilling to me. Lorraine Gary and Murray Hamilton also give solid support.

People always talk about how fake the Shark looks. I think its passable but today it would definitely be done by CGI. However, the Shark is not seen that much in the film so its not that big of a deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Few Scary Films Left In The Biz., 2 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jaws [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Not much I can add that the other reviewers haven't already mentioned but this is one of the few films that still has parts in it that still actually makes me jump.

As a kid it made me afraid of being under my blue duvet cover at night, (even though it had aeroplanes on it!).

Not that I'm much of the the sensitive type when it comes to movies these days. The Exorcist, A Nightmare On Elm Street, Hellraiser, Driller Killer, The Evil Dead, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Dawn of the Dead, etc., nothing but fun to me now. Completely callus, bloodthirsty and desensitized to all things horror that's me.

But Jaws is the one that's still got what it takes. Seen it loads of times, know when the shark's gonna do it's thing, know when the dead guy in the sunken ship's gonna do his thing and yet the film's still got it.

If you want therapy bills for your kids later on in life, get this movie now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We're gonna need a bigger boat!", 17 Feb 2004
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
What a cinematic masterpiece! I have watched this movie so many times that I have lost count. I remember watching it as a small child and consequently having nightmares! Like reviewers before me, I too had trouble going in the sea and getting in the bath or swimming pool without hearing THAT music or having to check and make sure there were no sharks around!!!
My favourite scene is the beginning, when the girl goes skinny dipping at the beach party. That to me is one of the scariest parts of the movie. The actress played it so well that you can actually believe she's being eaten. Another scene I'd like to mention,(because of my childhood nightmares!), is the head popping out of the boat!!! I have yet to meet anyone who wasn't scared when that happened!
The cast are fantastic and couldn't be played better by anyone else in my opinion. They work so well together and Quint's songs are a treasure.
I suggest you buy this movie as I have. I play it often and still watch the movie whenever it comes on the T.V.!!!
Well done Mr Speilberg!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An All Time Classic Movie, 10 Dec 2003
As i am sure you will agree, Jaws is undoubtedly one of the greatest movies of all time, and aways will be. Jaws also did several other things. It made everyone who watched it re-think there next holiday by the seaside, and it spawned three other sequels, which unfortunatly were not quite as good as the original. It is also the only horror film where closing your eyes or hiding behind the sofa doesn't make any difference, as you can still hear the music, and that is probably the most terrifying thing about it. Wether it can be called the greatest horror film of all time though, i am not quite sure on.
The storyline of the film is very simple. When a twenty foot Great White Shark decides to make Amity its new hunting ground, the Cheif of Police (Schneider), a shark specialist (Dreyfus), and a shark hunter (Shaw), go out on small vessle and try to kill it, at the cost of a life.
I have to say that the actors and actoresses chosen for this film, are probably the best choice of people i have seen in any film. All of them are on top form especially the three main characters, Robert Shaw (Quint), Richard Dreyfus (Hooper) and Roy Schneider (Brody). It may sound stupid but lets have a small amount of sympathy for the shark that ultimately only wanted somthing to eat, and then got killed for it.
This great 25th Anniversary DVD also has loads of cool extras including photo galleries and an amazing fifty minute documentary, 'The Making of Jaws' which is much better than the BBC production, 'In The Teeth Of Jaws'. The picture quality has been made much more sharp and crisp and the sound has been enhanced to Dolby 5.1 as oposed to the original Mono, which the film was released in.
If you have already seen this film then try some of the sequels, although be warned they are not as good as this one. It would also be nice some time in the future to see a 'Jaws' box set with all four films together.
Overall, this film is definately an all time classic with soundtrack which will haunt viewers everytime they go in the sea. So, if you are undecided about wether to buy this DVD or not, then let me give you my word that it is a great film all round and will give you hours of very frightening entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my faviourite film!, 10 Sep 2003
this in my opinion is the best film of all time. But one thing I have noticed is that this film is extremly different from the book.the only 2 bits that are the same are the chilling start and the death of the kitner boy.but anyway this is a emmensly enjoyable film and I reccomend this to anyone who is willing to gamble your willingless to go in the sea!my faviourite part is the end part(you'll see what I mean) and if you see this film and arent happy...(to qoute a line from the film)"smile you son of a bitch"!!! happy swimming!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE film with forgettable special features, 12 Mar 2003
By 
P. A. Curran "paul" (Tameside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nothing more needs to be said about Jaws. One of the best cast films of all time, which has its own place in the sub-conscious terror-zone of anyone who has seen it. After years of t.v. showings and worn down VHS copies, it will amaze you just how crisp and rich the print is on the DVD copy, and it is for this alone that it is a must have.
It must be difficult to dig up extras after more than two decades, and the completely pointless outtakes are a testament to this, though I feel that one or two of the deleted scenes add some interest, particularly the brilliantly shot hunt of the Tiger Shark. I always knew there was more footage of Quint's mate's dog somewhere (savagely cut as it comes into shot after the blackboard-scraping scene). Frank Silva eating his breakfast on the dock as Ben Gardner passes further comment on amateur fishermen is also interesting to minor-character hunters.
My DVD box lists features not on the disc, which is a little strange, and some kind of commentary could have been included. For this the release loses a star, but as others have said, this is a disc bought for the movie alone, and if that is your prize, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crisper and Cleaner with a few extras thrown in., 17 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This is a classic movie from one of the best directors in the world-Steven Spielberg. It is the original, and the best. A great movie with loads of thrilling action and suspense with nothing else coming close. Watch great actors such as Robert Shaw and Roy Scheider dance with death as they fight for there lifes on a boat with a gigantic shark chasing them. Also thrown in are at least a dozen extra features including an hour long documentary and interview with the stars of the movie. In addition there is also even wallpapers and screensavers for your computer. I would strongly recommend anyone to invest in this movie and add it to there DVD collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jaws [DVD] [1976]
Jaws [DVD] [1976] by Steven Spielberg (DVD - 2004)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews