Customer Reviews


381 Reviews
5 star:
 (321)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in transfers !
I've broken a golden rule with myself as I vowed never to buy a Blu-ray at its full price if I'd already owned the film on a multitude of different formats (VHS , Laserdisc , DVD) , but some films are just worth paying that extra for and I honestly couldn't wait for the price to drop as this is one of my all time favourite films.
Its going to be hard not to quote...
Published on 7 Sept. 2012 by Julian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digital + Ultraviolet Scam
Jaws Ultra Violet and Digital Copy does not work in Ireland. Ultra Violet seems to be limited to USA and UK alone. In my opinion this is a very unfair and callous Marketing ploy - clearly the studios are only too aware of the amount of Apple products being sold and so stick a label on the front of their Blu Rays stating this can go straight to your device but neglects to...
Published on 10 Sept. 2012 by sherman31


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in transfers !, 7 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've broken a golden rule with myself as I vowed never to buy a Blu-ray at its full price if I'd already owned the film on a multitude of different formats (VHS , Laserdisc , DVD) , but some films are just worth paying that extra for and I honestly couldn't wait for the price to drop as this is one of my all time favourite films.
Its going to be hard not to quote lines from the film or make any corny puns writing this review , so will do my best not too.

After the disappointing picture quality of Spielberg's Jurassic Park box set on Blu-ray , I was more than a little wary of this transfer , but I'm pleased to say that all is excellent with Jaws.
The 7.1 remastering is just incredible through my AV receiver! It was like being sat in the middle of a 94 piece orchestra and has now topped the best sound on any of my Blu-rays.
The scene where the shark attacks the guy in the estuary is a good example of a subtle change in sound. There's a nice deep bass thud through the subwoofer when he is pulled underwater from his upturned boat , and although its a tiny tweak to the sound , it really makes all the difference and now that scene appears more violent than it already was.
The night time attack on the Orca has a similar effect of making a scene more potent , with more bass thudding punch to the sound coming from every direction around your front room when the shark repeatedly hits the boat , and by NO means is the new sound overpowering to these scenes , its just the right touch.

The picture restoration is just fantastic , although I nearly spat my drink out at one point ! Not through being made to jump at a scene but at one stage , I thought Mr Lucas had broken into the editing lounge with his trusty laptop and tweaked about with Spielberg's masterpiece... Thankfully , I wasn't in for a world of hurt , pain and misery , and when I compared the DVD to this Blu-ray , it was more down to the new colour restoration and new clarity that I was unused to with this film. The scene in question is with the two shooting stars , which now appear to have more of a reddish hue making them look more vibrant , and not down to Mr Lucas's destroy, destroy , destroy mentality... PHEW !

Some excellent documentaries with this Blu-ray which is around 4 hours worth , some of which have been transferred straight from the Laserdisc and DVD with a couple of new ones. Notably , The Shark is Still Working documentary , which is a brilliant addition to the extras , but all the features are worth watching again and again.
It just doesn't matter how many times I see the deleted scene of Quint in the music shop , it cracks me up every time and its a shame that actually got cut from the film.
There's also a short documentary on the restoration process , which Mr Lucas might find helpful as to what is appropriate and WHAT ISN'T ! Can't help but think that Spielberg is sending a subtle message to Mr Lucas in one of his interviews by saying that 'less is more' and if he had the technology of CGI back when he was filming Jaws , it wouldn't be as good !

I do know some people who spend vast sums of money on the latest TV to ensure they're getting the best quality picture , but then still watch a film with the sound through their TV speakers , with the attitude of "so long as I can hear it , it doesn't matter" and just don't realise what a dramatic impact or difference a good sound setup can do to any film and can cost as little as £50 for a basic system , and really are only getting half of the whole Blu-ray experience without a good home cinema system.
For me , and this is a personal preference , sound is the most important element that I look for when upgrading a film to Blu-ray , picture quality a very close second and the amount of extras comes third.

This Blu-ray ticks all the right boxes and more and with the new picture and sound it really feels like your watching this film for the very first time , which I know sounds a little cliché , but just can't recommend this Blu-ray highly enough.
All in all I'm ecstatic with this upgrade and hope that the Blu-ray box set of Indiana Jones due out next month , is as good in quality as this JAWSome film... Sorry , couldn't resist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic, 16 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Jaws [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
If you have not seen it - please go out and get it now. Action films simply do not compare to movies like this. Jaws is subtle, clever and at times hilarious, and unlike most blockbusters does not rely on special effects and trifling acts of sensationalism to sell. The film is about a killer shark, but for the first half of the film we do not see her - this is what makes the film great - we are able instead to concentrate on the way humans react to this unseen force. The scheming town mayor is an accurate satire on the self-important local busy-body who thinks only of the financial ruin the shark could cause. Don't miss the on going duels between the rich college boy Hooper and the working class hero Quint - it is here where some of the best dialogue appears. The first half of the film is so good one almost forgets about the shark as a physical entity, more of an abstract notion which is only conceived by the way the islanders behave. The second half is where all the action happens as far as seeing the shark up close and personal. All in all, a film of two halves which compliment each other exquisitely. Get it - you can watch it again and again and you will always pick up a witicism that you had not heard before. It will never die
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The' Summer Blockbuster, 1 Sept. 2012
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I don't think Jaws requires any sort of introduction. Afterall, it pretty much altered the course of movie-making, introduced the 'Summer Blockbuster' philosophy, made Steven Spielberg the hottest property in town and, in the midst of all this, signalled a revival for the large orchestral soundtrack - albeit, with a little help from John Williams.

But what makes Jaws such a satisfying adventure is that its production appears almost effortless, which is quite funny given that many of the props used in the sea (infamously, for the shark) were failing day in, day out. As a product, everything comes together beautifully, and for a movie that is over 35-years old, it's still far more engaging than many modern productions that require CGI to drive the plot. That's just not how storytelling works.

This is why Jaws is a commonly used for study, because there is so much to talk about in the collaborative efforts of the director, music composer and editor. Spielberg's directing is so wonderfully composed that it feels almost like a photo album, with every single shot composed to make full use of the Panavision frame. No area of the picture is wasted, ever. And this is largely Spielberg's genius, perhaps summed up when we see Quint sitting in his boat and making the ever of slightest glances to the fishing tackle, which in the foreground, has just sounded a 'bite'.

Roy Scheider is perfectly cast as Sheriff Martin Brody, who arrives at Amity Island with more trouble than he bargained for. His wife meanwhile seems unsettled moving from New York, and his their concern for their children in the present sea goes unquestioned. Richard Dreyfuss meanwhile made an almost complete turnaround from his role in American Graffiti - this time playing a shark expert (Hooper) who becomes frustrated with the ignorance of those around him in the face of danger. But for me, Robert Shaw steals the show as the rather eccentric Quint; an old sea salt when it comes to sailing and certainly an individual with a story to tell for every fishing trip. Shaw has been regarded as a difficult person to deal with off-camera, and in many ways, the intensity of his characters can always be seen in-frame. In Jaws, he simply makes Quint his own, and the scene in which he explains his 'scar' in the boat is inspiring.

On the subject of the movie's restoration, it's excellent news all round. Universal have offered some inconsistent transfers for their Blu-ray products (perhaps over-dramatised by fans), but Jaws is by far and away the best yet, no question. It looks like a brand new 35mm print with natural grain intact, excellent colour grading, no damage or artefacts and, of course, a wonderfully mixed soundtrack. The restoration team actually remixed this soundtrack from the original master tapes, so it sounds better now than what it did even in the studio originally.

It's easy enough to ask "Why haven't Universal treated all their movies in this way?", but I think part of the problem is that their catalogue is just so vast. To treat every product in the same way as this would have surely been too costly and time consuming. What's more, this movie had a brief cinema re-release this year so the restoration had to be exemplary for a large presentation.

The bonus features are nice - they feature a mix of content we've seen before on TV/DVD, and a brand feature as well; one of which discusses the restoration topic as above. I paid a little more to get this Steelbook version of the product rather than the 'standard' edition, purely to make it stand out in my collection. It's really lovely - the promo images used are very deceiving with regards to the colours. Pity we didn't get the Digibook like in other countries, though...

I don't normally comment on Digital Copies/Ultraviolet because, quite frankly, it's all a bit of a gimmick (and ironic at that). You're paying to watch this wonderful movie in 1080p on your nice TV; why would you want to then watch it on a tiny 4-inch smartphone screen or tablet? Not only this, but Universal (and other studios) are trying to push both Digital Copies and Ultraviolet in a single package, which again is just pointless marketing. The Digital Copy, which you download and then import into iTunes, is overly compressed and full of artefacts, and the Ultraviolet functionality is just cloud streaming from a Wi-Fi or internet connection. I perfectly understand that you want to watch your movie on a laptop whilst travelling, but somebody just needs to sort this mess out as I don't see why I should have pay for extra 'functionality' that is disjointed and proprietary to that particular film studio. 'Format Wars'!

In short however, this is 'the' perfect summer movie that has had a stunning restoration, and is surely now released in its ultimate medium. This is what Blu-ray is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Here's to swimmin' with bow-legged women!", 3 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
Dum dum. Dum dum dum. Dum dum, dum dum, dum dum, dum dum. What else springs to mind but the sound of that foreboding cello when one talks of Jaws.
Spielberg's classic movie finally comes to DVD. The plot, just in case you didn't know, is simple. Three men, one working class, one middle class, and one upper class all go fishing! Sounds simple enough, in fact it sounds a bit boring, but the end result is far from the truth. Jaws is an all-time classic film.
The casting choice was superb, utilising extremely credible actors to portray the main roles of Chief Brody, Matt Hooper and Quint from Peter Benchley's book. The character development is fantastic, drawing the viewer ever closer to each of the three protagonists respectively.
The attention to detail too that Spielberg places in his movie is second to none. If an example is needed just look to the human element that Spielberg focuses on. One need only look to the scene with brody and his youngest son at the dinner table, or Quint relaying his story of the USS Indianapolis, and one will quickly see just how Spielberg uses these fine actors to good effect.
The film is a true masterpiece in every sense of the word. The fact that the "monster" in this thrilling epic is not seen for a considerable amount of time only adds to reinforce it's menacing effect and impact upon the audience. Indeed, the reality that the shark looks a tad dated by today's standards matters about as much now as it did then. You simply won't care. If the end doesn't have you cheering, then nothing will.
Classic imagery, outstanding music, memorable characters, unforgettable dialogue (We're gonna need a bigger boat!), and a great big mechanical rubber fish; this coupled with the added features and improved sound and picture quality that can be expected from DVD makes this a must for any serious film buff's home cinema collection. Buy it - it bites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're going to need a bigger boat, 31 July 2000
By 
Mr. S. Carlin "arca20" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am of the firm opinion that Spielberg has only ever made three truly great films - Jaws being one of them. It may not sound much, the tale of a beach island community that is threatened by a giant shark but such is the storytelling and direction it quickly becomes more than just some monster flick.
Excellent performances from the three leads (Scheider, Shaw and Dreyfuss) guide us from a powerful beginning through to an adrenalin rush climax. Its not surprising to note that Spielberg's favourite scene from the film is not an effects moment nor an adrenalin rush sequence but a character scene as Quint (Shaw) talks about the USS Indianapolis incident. This scene, among others elevates the film to a height seldom equalled in other films.
As a previous reviewer remarked - ignore the sequels, don't even touch them. Watch this one.
The transfer is excellent with only one, insignificant flaw apparent at the start (blink and you'll miss it). The soundtrack is excellent and clear allowing the viewer to enjoy John Williams' memorable score.
The extra features are interesting, the documentary shows how Jaws nearly didn't make it and how so much of the pwer of the film was down to simple eleventh hour necessity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spielberg Genius, 17 April 2007
This review is from: Jaws [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Jaws was very popular when released, it was the highest grossing film of 1975. It spawned three sequels, which were all inferior. In fact, no film about Sharks or any killer fish has been able to come close to the level of Jaws.

The genius in Jaws is its ability to build suspense. The Shark is never really shown till near the end of the film. When ever the Shark is approaching its victims, we get the Sharks point of view, instead of seeing the Shark. These shots combined with John Williams very effective score, make the scenes when the Shark is about to devour his victims much more effective.

Every actor does a nice job with their performances. Roy Scheider brings Martin to life. Martin is not a showy character but Scheider is able to make us like him. Richard Dreyfuss exhibits energy in his performance as Matt Hooper. Robert Shaw is very effective as Quint, that Indiannapolis speech is still very chilling to me. Lorraine Gary and Murray Hamilton also give solid support.

People always talk about how fake the Shark looks. I think its passable but today it would definitely be done by CGI. However, the Shark is not seen that much in the film so its not that big of a deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE film with forgettable special features, 12 Mar. 2003
By 
P. A. Curran "paul" (Tameside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nothing more needs to be said about Jaws. One of the best cast films of all time, which has its own place in the sub-conscious terror-zone of anyone who has seen it. After years of t.v. showings and worn down VHS copies, it will amaze you just how crisp and rich the print is on the DVD copy, and it is for this alone that it is a must have.
It must be difficult to dig up extras after more than two decades, and the completely pointless outtakes are a testament to this, though I feel that one or two of the deleted scenes add some interest, particularly the brilliantly shot hunt of the Tiger Shark. I always knew there was more footage of Quint's mate's dog somewhere (savagely cut as it comes into shot after the blackboard-scraping scene). Frank Silva eating his breakfast on the dock as Ben Gardner passes further comment on amateur fishermen is also interesting to minor-character hunters.
My DVD box lists features not on the disc, which is a little strange, and some kind of commentary could have been included. For this the release loses a star, but as others have said, this is a disc bought for the movie alone, and if that is your prize, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the ultimate fan, 13 Sept. 2005
This is the set for the ultimate collector. This limited edition set comes in a black box. Don't worry, the box will
fit on your DVD shelf, it is about the same height as a standard
box, and about as wide as two normal DVD boxes put together.
Even if you got the 25th Anniversary edition, splashing out on this one is definitely worth it. As with the normal version you get the two DVDs. Disk one contains the movie in 2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen with DTS 5.1 Surround sound. The picture quality is vey good, although there are a few 'white spots' here and there.
The second disk contains a 1 hour 50 min documentary, containing everything from Universal winning the rights to the novel, through production and the mechanical shark not working, all the way to the release of the film. Since the film is quite old, there is not much behind the scenes footages. This documentary is composed mainly of people just talking.
Other features include; a Spielberg interview on set from 1974, some shark facts, 13 deleted scenes, outtakes, storyboard and image gallery.
This collector's edition also includes a soundtrack C.D., a limited edition senitape, 8 lobby cards, 6 publicity stills and a sketch book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We're gonna need a bigger boat!", 17 Feb. 2004
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
What a cinematic masterpiece! I have watched this movie so many times that I have lost count. I remember watching it as a small child and consequently having nightmares! Like reviewers before me, I too had trouble going in the sea and getting in the bath or swimming pool without hearing THAT music or having to check and make sure there were no sharks around!!!
My favourite scene is the beginning, when the girl goes skinny dipping at the beach party. That to me is one of the scariest parts of the movie. The actress played it so well that you can actually believe she's being eaten. Another scene I'd like to mention,(because of my childhood nightmares!), is the head popping out of the boat!!! I have yet to meet anyone who wasn't scared when that happened!
The cast are fantastic and couldn't be played better by anyone else in my opinion. They work so well together and Quint's songs are a treasure.
I suggest you buy this movie as I have. I play it often and still watch the movie whenever it comes on the T.V.!!!
Well done Mr Speilberg!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fins can only get better, 13 May 2005
By 
A. Hanrahan "andyjh64" (Australia, Ex U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jaws [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
One day early in 1976, I discovered a school friend reading a book which he told me was about people on an island being terrorised by a killer shark. I thought it was a hysterical idea and laughed my head off, but just a few short months later, the posters appeared everywhere, depicting the conical, toothsome head propelling towards a hapless surface swimmer and proclaiming "She was the first". JAWS had arrived, and like everyone else I was queuing round the block, desperate to see what has become one of the most famous, talked about, and influential movies of our time.

The story is well known, probably even by people who weren't born when the film came out. One man, police chief Brody (Roy Scheider) against a killer shark and the fictitious community of Amity Island, a town that won't face the truth about the monster in its midst. Brody is joined in his escapade by oceanographer Hooper, played by Richard Dreyfuss, and Robert Shaw in a career-topping performance as rough-diamond shark hunter Quint, the man with a liking for scraping his fingernails down blackboards and comparing war-wounds. All three are excellent, cutting tremendously engaging characters and helping the storyline to flow seamlessly. In the early scenes the shark itself is portrayed largely as an unseen menace, picking off its victims and teasing the audience with clever camera angles and of course John Williams' legendary soundtrack. The suspense builds brilliantly, but there are some humorous moments as well. and the child actors create some entertaining diversion - kids playing with a fake shark fin cause widespread panic at the beach. A poignant interaction between Brody and his son at the dinner table - all scenes of vintage Spielberg.

But it's in the second half, essentially a three-hander between Scheider, Dreyfuss and Shaw, when the movie really comes into it's own. The claustrophobic isolation of Quint's creaky fishing boat sets the scene for a final stand off between man and man-eater. The three make an ill-fitting team and it's clear from the outset who's going to come off worse. When the final pay-off comes, it's every bit the result of two hours of carefully racked-up tension, and enough to leave the viewer heaving a sigh of relief when it's over.

The big question is of course, more than 30 years on, is JAWS still a great film? And to me the answer will always be a resounding YES!! It stands up to repeated viewing and created a style much imitated even today. Maybe by today's standards the model shark (nicknamed "Bruce" by the film makers) seems phoney, and the movie certainly fell victim to sequel-syndrome in the years that followed, but these are minor flaws in a work of exceptional merit. If you've never caught it before, whatever you do, don't miss this classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jaws [DVD] [1975]
Jaws [DVD] [1975] by Steven Spielberg (DVD - 2004)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews