Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wing and a prayer
wing and prayer is a great film it tells the story of what it was like on board a u.s aircraft carrier in war time, and also it was leading up to the battle of midway, good acting and a good story line. this nominated for a 1944 best original screen play oscar, this stunning war drama uses actual combat footage so all and all a good film. yourfaithfully peter elliott
Published on 22 May 2011 by peter

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A Cameo Appearance by Cedric Hardwicke
Apart from the cameo appearance by Cedric Hardwicke at the beginning of the film, there is nothing notable about this production apart from some tough performances by Don Ameche and Dana Andrews.
Published 1 month ago by Samuel Barber


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wing and a prayer, 22 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wing And A Prayer [DVD] (DVD)
wing and prayer is a great film it tells the story of what it was like on board a u.s aircraft carrier in war time, and also it was leading up to the battle of midway, good acting and a good story line. this nominated for a 1944 best original screen play oscar, this stunning war drama uses actual combat footage so all and all a good film. yourfaithfully peter elliott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars war nostalga, 16 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Wing And A Prayer [DVD] (DVD)
good all round entertainment, showing the frustrations of the american pilots at sea just before pearl harbour, not a lot of action but watchable anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wing and A Prayer, 23 May 2012
By 
P. Long - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wing And A Prayer [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoy war films set in WW2, especially those at sea. This is a very very good film, the combat scenes do take quite a long while to happen because of the nature of the carrier's orders but there is plenty of actual footage and the story of the mission is very revealing in the history of what led up to Midway. Very worthwhile buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Cameo Appearance by Cedric Hardwicke, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Apart from the cameo appearance by Cedric Hardwicke at the beginning of the film, there is nothing notable about this production apart from some tough performances by Don Ameche and Dana Andrews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was OK!, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wing And A Prayer [DVD] (DVD)
Very interesting and surprising to see Don Ameche who was much younger at the time.
The film was like expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wing and a Prayer, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wing And A Prayer [DVD] (DVD)
The story of a United States Aircraft Carrier's pilots and aircrew, and what they went through after Pearl Harbour, and how the Carrier and its crew eventually won the day at Midway, good naval story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent throughout ... more so as made during the war, 19 April 2014
By 
Clipper 314 (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wing And A Prayer [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film and very good DVD quality. Is in black & white and depicts the events post Pearl Harbor prior to Midway. Contains combat footage and plentiful carrier deck scenes of Avengers, Dauntless & Wildcats. Any slightly false cinematic effects in my mind are just part & parcel of films of the era and totally compensated for by the real ships & aircraft featured & flying. Made in 1944 it obviously has a patriotic 'buy war bonds' message, but this is not overstated and is equally balanced by the reality of fear & losses of aircraft and crews. Very glad I came across this film and highly recommend it to anyone interested in the history & events of the Pacific war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wing and a prayer, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wing And A Prayer [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film, deals with the after effects of the attack on Pearl Harbour, where the fliers have to bide their time before being able to strike back and get their own back on the Japanese attackers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wing and a Prayer - Great historical record, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wing And A Prayer [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because I've always been fascinated by aircraft carriers and the aircraft of the 2nd World War era, probably because my father had served in the Royal Navy's Fleet Air Arm aboard HMS Illustrious, which was part of the British Pacific Fleet. The American carrier in the film was much bigger than the British carriers. The american seamen had the luxury of beds, whereas my Dad and his ship-mates "hung like bats from the ceiling in their hammocks". My Dad said he wasn't at all fond of the sleeping arrangements, but generally enjoyed the rest of the life on board ship.
A major difference between the British and American carriers was that the Brit carriers had armoured flight decks which resisted damage from Japanese bombs and kamikaze attacks. The film clearly shows the damage wrought on the american carrier's wooden flight deck by the kamikazes. The only thing that is slightly lame about the production is the superimposing of some of the actors against the real war footage, but because the film was made in 1944 I won't reduce the score for such a petty criticism.
The highlight of the film for me and my Dad was the aircraft operations on the carrier, landings and take-offs, etc. which my Dad remembers so well, particularly as they were the same american aircraft, Grumman Avengers, as operated by the Royal Navy at the time. It's a joy to see the squadron arriving on the carrier for the first time even though the american gum-chewing is irritating.
The film shows ship-to-ship replenishment and the transfer of wounded men to a destroyer, which my Dad had to endure.
All in all, a very enjoyable watch. Even my Mum liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars toytown, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wing And A Prayer [DVD] (DVD)
i havent actually viewed this movie, but my dad has and loved every minuite of it he loves old movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wing And A Prayer [DVD]
Wing And A Prayer [DVD] by Henry Hathaway (DVD - 2004)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews