Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A career high!
I've always liked the Charlatans - from the falsetto of Tim's voice in Wonderland to the hammond organ in Between the 10th & 11th & Some Friendly, I always thought of them as a quality groups. However, I was surprised at just how good Up At The Lake Was. Catchy, well crafted, fresh and summery, this is one CD you want playing as you laze around in the sun this summer...
Published on 29 May 2004 by Lucy Jane Moore

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moments of brilliance and mediocrity
I was really looking forward to this album. A life long Charlies fan, each album they produce is eagerly awaited. During the first 5 tracks of the album, I was wondering whether I had the wrong CD in the player. Where's all the Hammond gone???
The album seems to be more cohesive during and after track 6. The tracks are catchier, and seem more carefully crafted. High...
Published on 24 May 2004 by sealzy_seal


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A career high!, 29 May 2004
This review is from: Up At The Lake (Audio CD)
I've always liked the Charlatans - from the falsetto of Tim's voice in Wonderland to the hammond organ in Between the 10th & 11th & Some Friendly, I always thought of them as a quality groups. However, I was surprised at just how good Up At The Lake Was. Catchy, well crafted, fresh and summery, this is one CD you want playing as you laze around in the sun this summer. My personal faves are Up At The Lake, Try Again & Hymn For You, although I don't think there are any weak tracks on the whole album ( a first for any band - including The Charlatans) Well done boys, a definate career high!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still living it like they love it!, 4 May 2004
This review is from: Up At The Lake (Audio CD)
I saw the Charlatans preview show for this album last night, and it is an absolute blinder!
The opening tracks of "Up at the Lake" and "Feel the Pressure" herald a stomping return to the rocky side of the Charlie vibe, with Tim dropping the falsetto of Wonderland. There's a couple of slow ones which build superbly in true Charlatans style on the rest of side 1, and then it's on to the masterpiece that is "Loving You is Easy", with Tony Rogers (keyboards) on lead vocals, and Tim backing. Sounds weird, I know, but it's sure to become a live favourite, and if you've not experienced them live yet, you haven't lived!
Apples and Oranges is also a stand out track, so called as it needed to have an English type title apparently! The final number "Dead Love" is a fab guitar and keyboard led ballad which closes the album beautifully.
From beginning to end, this is sure to please any fan, new or old. I loved Wonderland, but the vibe has returned bigger, better and rockier than last time!
Buy it now... it's going to be hard to beat as the album of 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Albumn of the Summer?, 6 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Up At The Lake (Audio CD)
I had the great pleasure of attending the charlatans albumn preview show in islington on 4th May 2004. In my opinion this band deserve to be at the very top of the British music tree. Their show was absolutely awesome. My fave tracks for all out bounce around rock and roll were, Apples and Oranges, Up at the Lake and Bonafide Treasure. The whole albumn is an absolute pleasure though with some blindingly good slower numbers. The Charlatans certainly knows how to write a love song and Dead Love and I'll Sing a Hymm are among two of their best. The albumn as a whole feels very British and i'm sure in a few years time it'll be talked about like how classic rolling stones and david bowie albumns are talked about now. An essential summer purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 19 May 2004
This review is from: Up At The Lake (Audio CD)
A classic from a classic. Elements of the whole history of the band combine to produce a masterclass in how to pluck every music/emotional string. A brilliant example of how a band is so much more than the sum of it's parts.
Some tracks make me feel a little to long-in-the-tooth with some of the licks reminding me of 10th and 11th, 1992 seems so very long-ago...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Class, 7 May 2004
By 
J-Mac (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Up At The Lake (Audio CD)
How does a band keep on keeping on for so long and consistently get better and keep things fresh? Who knows but the Charlatans have figured it out so sit back and enjoy the ride. After the ace electric-soul groove of WONDERLAND, Tim and the lads return with an album of rockin' scorchers and fragile beauties. Inspired and inspiring, UP AT THE LAKE captures the band in top form. FEEL THE PRESSURE and BLUE FOR YOU already sound like anthems. Long may they run!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keeps on getting better-in a different way, 24 May 2004
By 
D. Hardy "David Hardy" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Up At The Lake (Audio CD)
since the 80s when the charlatans first appeared with the sound of madchester the've gone from strength to strength...their secret (well it's not really a secret at all) is to change or more to the point they have evolved! is a must album for any charlatans fan, and a must have for any one into good old honest rock with some lustful blues and some gentle soul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different but bloody good, 22 Jun 2004
This review is from: Up At The Lake (Audio CD)
The Charlatans have beena round for a long time now and always seem to produce consistently good albums. This one is no different. The single "Up at the lake" opens up the album with an up tempo beat and a good melody.
"Feel the pressure" is next up and is probably the fastest and upbeat song on the album, certianly one to get ya dancing and singng along to in the car and was a live favourite at the recent shows.
The album slows downa bit through to the end but the beautiful "Loving you is easy" is a majestic and heart warming song, a true slow emotional love song. Also Tim on backing vocals is wierd but a welcome change.
"Try again today" is a typical Charlatans, a good tuen, the lyrics are meaningful and it gets your foot tapping.
Definitely worth a buy, go and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHOULD COME WITH A HEALTH WARNING!, 30 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Up At The Lake (Audio CD)
Every morning I wake up with a different track from this album whirling round and round and round in my head.
Please help as it is now affecting my performance at work and also an ability to sleep!!!
Top stuff!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sheer class, 29 April 2004
By 
J-Mac (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Up At The Lake (Audio CD)
How can a band stay so fresh and so good for so long? Who knows ... butTim and the lads have figured it out so enjoy the ride. After the lush,funky, electronic soul and rock of Wonderland, Up at the Lake is a returnto the band doing what they do best - being the Charlatans. Raw androckin' at times and beatifully fragile at others, this album features theband at their best. Blue For You & Feel The Pressue are early standouts.Could be another classic from these proper charlies ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Up At The Lake (Audio CD)
The Charlatan's albums are always brilliant and even with my huge CD collection, I never bore of them. This album continues to impress right from the start. Wack up that volume! My favorite tune is "Loving you is Easy". I am just gutted I missed them when they did a gig with Ronnie Wood in Hammersmith :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up At The Lake
Up At The Lake by The Charlatans (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews