Customer Reviews


178 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a dry eye in the house . . .
If "Original Pirate Material" was the "Never Mind The Bollocks" of this decade, with his new album Mike Skinner has took his lead from the prog rock heavyweights and delivered what in all but name is a concept album. And this means it features both the ups and downs of this medium - the first half of the album is intent on scene setting, and as a consequence sacrifices...
Published on 17 Jun 2004 by robosquirel

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garage by numbers
I LIKE BEER,
THE GEEZER CAME TOO NEAR,
I HIT HIM IN THE EAR,
I CRIED A TEAR.
He's a poet
Published on 10 May 2004 by black_books


‹ Previous | 117 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where's all the talent gone?, 8 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Grand Don't Come For Free (Audio CD)
I'm disallusioned!! The problems is, that because all the music that we are bombarded with these days is very sub-standard, it begins to become accepted as quality, and something to rave about.
This is where we are with The Streets albums, sub-standard!!
I can't believe that the golden legacy of past quality song writing has spawned such utter rubbish as this. Where has all the quality structured song writing gone? This can't be, I'm sure, the best we can do, and expect.
The lowest star rating with Amazon is 1 Star; I'd say MINUS 5!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars how good is it really!!, 26 Aug 2004
By 
Ben (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Grand Don't Come For Free (Audio CD)
not really a bad album the songs that have been in the charts are actually quite good but basically the whole album is Jackanory with a beat in the back ground
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter Rubbish, 28 May 2004
This review is from: A Grand Don't Come For Free (Audio CD)
This is, by far, the worst drivel I have ever heard. I could walk around Romford market with a Casio keyboard and produce a better effort than this pish. DO NOT, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES, BUY THIS ALBUM.... unless, of course, if it's for your worse enemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Atrocious, 26 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Grand Don't Come For Free (Audio CD)
In the annals of unadulterated drivel this surely merits a volume all to itself.
I have achieved absolutely nothing, whine the lyrics on one track (I forget which, they all sound the same). You said it buddy.
Avoid like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars i hate to say this, 5 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Grand Don't Come For Free (Audio CD)
i realy do hate to say this but it is just not the same. the last album was an absolute masterpiece with its fast beats and mean urban city sounds.
but this album is just to melodic and all about heartbreak.
its not a good follow up at all. i am a big fan of the streets and it pains me to say this but its just not the streets. thats all i have to say.
your fit but you know it was great though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the best album ever come, 8 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Grand Don't Come For Free (Audio CD)
it might be the one iam looking for as i know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No no no no no, 11 May 2004
By 
col (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Grand Don't Come For Free (Audio CD)
This is absolutely shocking. First off I need to say I haven't heard the first Streets album, so this review is aimed at those similarly unfamiliar with this band/person/travesty.
Put simply - this is some of the most annoying music I have ever heard in my life. After a great write-up in Q magazine I was intrigued enough to give it a listen. OMG - It's like Ali G trying to get in touch with his sensitive side. Everything from the inane lyrics delivered in a 'Staines massive' accent to the teeth grindingly repetitive drum-beats made me want to break things.
Maybe I just don't 'get' this type of music, and I'm certain this album wasn't aimed at people with my particular tastes. Nevertheless, if this is urban music I'm pleased I live in the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 5 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Grand Don't Come For Free (Audio CD)
It defies belief that people can listen to this and think the lyrics in some way reflect everyday street life. The words would work if the title of the album were "my first thesaurus/dictionary combo." Funny, if you think paying someone to come up with this and getting paid is entertainment. The only people laughing are the producers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Grand Don't Come For Free
A Grand Don't Come For Free by The Streets (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews