Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD box set! Great Dukes! Great episodes!
I've always been a fan of "The Dukes of Hazzard" and was excited about finally owning this classic and timeless show on DVD. It has action, drama, comedy, stunts, fun and laughter for all the family.
I'm very happy with the picture quality of all 13 episodes, which is more or less the same as other TV shows on DVD from the late 70s, so I'm not looking for perfection...
Published on 25 Aug 2005

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic given terrible treatment on DVD
I was immensely please to see that this series was finally to become available on DVD. With a company like Warners behind it, I felt sure that they would have given the series the treatment it deserved. How wrong I was.
Rather than re-mastering all the episodes, Warners have elected just to redo TWO out of thirteen, with the rest (presumably out of stinginess)...
Published on 19 Aug 2005 by Wolf Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD box set! Great Dukes! Great episodes!, 25 Aug 2005
By A Customer
I've always been a fan of "The Dukes of Hazzard" and was excited about finally owning this classic and timeless show on DVD. It has action, drama, comedy, stunts, fun and laughter for all the family.
I'm very happy with the picture quality of all 13 episodes, which is more or less the same as other TV shows on DVD from the late 70s, so I'm not looking for perfection. You've never seen "The Dukes of Hazzard" episodes look so sharp and of high quality. After the opening credits finish and the episodes start, there isn't much dirt and dust showing up in the picture. They've also placed chapter marks after the opening credits and in other convenient places.
I do like the packaging. There are 5 discs and each one in its own slim, plastic case, and on the reverse they list the episodes. There are 3 episodes per disc and are one-sided discs. There are nice pictures on each disc.
The extras are great, especially the cast gathering. John "Bo" Schneider and Cathy "Daisy" Bach do commentary for the first episode "One Armed Bandit" and you learn alot of trivia whilst listening to them. I also learnt quite a lot about "The Dukes of Hazzard" which I didn't know before watching the cast talk about the show.
All in all, 5 stars for "The Dukes of Hazzard" season 1 DVD box set. You'll love it! I can't wait to buy all the other six seasons on DVD. I'm already looking forward to buying the season 2 DVD box set. btw, Warner Home Video are releasing the season 3 DVD in late November 2005! As Rosco would say "I love it, I love it ! kew kew !"
P.S. The new "Dukes of Hazzard" movie remake is nothing like this classic show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so glad this series has been released on DVD, 31 Oct 2005
with Season one of The Dukes Of Hazzard there are so many good episodes. the episodes i do like are High Octane, The Big Heist and Limo One Is Missing. I also like the first episode One Armed Bandits. I watched that one with the commentary by John Schenider and Catherine Bach. Very entertaining commentary. The extras on disc five are top notch. i like the dukes of hazzard 20th anniversary barbecue. it was so good to see the members of the surviving cast talk about their memories of working on the show. My verdict about this boxset Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oohh, i love it I love it, 1 Oct 2007
By 
Bj Lucas "saculnamron" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this folks, is the very first season of the dukes of Hazzard. Containing all the episodes from season 1 this sure to please. Get to know Uncle Jesse, Bo, Luke, cousin Daisy and Hazzards mechanic Cooter. There are high jinks a plenty as Boss Hogg and roscoe plan and plot against 'them dukes' And while Roscoe is always chasing the boys there is a warm welcome at the duke farmhouse.

this is the role that made a star out of wopat and Schneider and you can easily see why. Get to know the dukes over and over again. The pilot episode 'one armed bandit' is a gem. bo and Luke accept a drivng job for a pretty lady. Only, said lady is running an illegal gambling operation in the truck bo and luke are driving. Cue a little 'shuck and jive' duke style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic given terrible treatment on DVD, 19 Aug 2005
By 
I was immensely please to see that this series was finally to become available on DVD. With a company like Warners behind it, I felt sure that they would have given the series the treatment it deserved. How wrong I was.
Rather than re-mastering all the episodes, Warners have elected just to redo TWO out of thirteen, with the rest (presumably out of stinginess) being done off old CRI prints which are dull, dirty and lifeless, with poor black details. This is even more annoying since the two which have been remastered look truly sublime.
Until consumers decide to boycott discs which have been done 'on the cheap', especially by multi-million dollar companies like Warners, they will continue to be foisted with rubbish like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yee Hah!, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those of you who remember DoH- it is what it is.
Its cute, it is brilliantly cast, it is good solid stuff about a way of life that had mostly died out, and it it nice to watch it- there is a bit of charm.

The most outstanding thing about a series where there were long car chase sequences is not the effort made to make this entertaining with voice overs, stunts, music and lots of cuts- the highlight for me is the lack of CGI, and the high grade quality of skilled stunt drivers.

The cute young thangs are cute, the bad guys are endearing, vile and funny, the stupid ones are endearing- its a bit of fun made by talented folks for entertainmentl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun! Yeeeeee Haaaaaaaa, 9 Sep 2005
Remember when you were a kid? Not exactly doing homework because Dukes was on? Well if you don't just wait till the shows opening starts, with the guitar scene and the awfully familiar song. It will all come back...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to see the Duke cousins in action again, 20 Nov 2014
By 
R. Hargrave "Doodle" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to see the Duke cousins in action again. However, as much as my seven and eight year old boys love the car chases, to their disgust they are not allowed to watch it again... too many pervy men trying to cop off with Daisy Duke. I quote: "mummy, what's he doing?" (Daisy in dodgy potential casting couch scenario).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dukes of hazzard dvd, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very pleased with the item it was just what I am been looking fore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a step back in time, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
go back to a gentler time. had forgotten how much more enjoyable a programme with no swearing, violence and naked people could be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching if you need a laugh, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great fun. It has charm, car chases, comedy and great silliness . It's not the best thing you will ever watch but it will make you smile while watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dukes of Hazzard: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews