Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Rock Against The World..., 24 Oct 2004
By 
Sarah Barker "Sarah B" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock Against Bush Vol.1 (Audio CD)
The concept of the Rock Against bush albums is so simple other people will be kicking themselves for not thinking of it first. Fat Mike of NOFX has brought together some of the best bands around (mainstream and lesser known...) to write new songs about hating the US Government-BRILLIANT! Out of 26 songs there are 18 rare of previously unreleased tracks from the likes of Sum 41, Alkaline Trio, The Offspring, New Found Glory and NOFX.
OK, so not all of the songs are worth listening to, but the bad ones are in a small minority amongst some truley storming tracks. My personal favourites include:
Alkaline Trio - Warbrain
Anti-Flag - School Of Assasins
Descendents - Sad State Of Affairs
The Offspring - Baghdad
Less Than Jake & Billy Bragg - The Brightest Bulb Has Gone Out
It also comes with a DVD of must see documentaries and music videos from Anti-Flag, Bad Religion, Strike Anywhere and NOFX.
Both albums in this collection so far will not disappoint and are definately worth the money.
God bless Fat Mike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must, 25 April 2004
This review is from: Rock Against Bush Vol.1 (Audio CD)
This great CD is a must for anyone that like punk rock, and hatesPresident. Bush.
Everyone one of the great, addictive tracks will makeyou want more and more of the CD, and when you think it can't get anybetter, it does.
Even if you're not a hardcore punk, theres a greatchance to hear tracks that are other wise unavailable. Personally, Istarted listening to three new bands, just because I heard their tracks onthis CD.
I repeat, if you do not own this CD, buy it! You won't regretit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere in Texas, there's a village without it's idiot..., 26 July 2004
This review is from: Rock Against Bush Vol.1 (Audio CD)
Well this album really is superb. It's full of some of the finest punk bands around (NOFX, Pennywise, Offspring, Less Than Jake, Against Me, to name but a few) and out of the 23 tracks, 18 are previously unreleased, so thankfully it's not another compilation album which you find is pointless owning because you already have all the tracks that are on it!
Obviously though, the main reason why this compilation was released was to raise awareness of how bad/stupid/rubbish "President" George Dubya is and how he needs to get out of office and it certainly does that through various mediums - obviously through the mainly political lyrical content of the songs, as well as the extensive sleeve notes by Fat Mike (which includes "20 reasons to hate George Bush Jr." and "20 more reasons..."), and the brilliant dvd, which includes eye-opening documentaries about the war in iraq and other Bush scandals, such as the election itself. The dvd also has a hilarious stand-up routine mocking George Bush by comedian David Cross and also has music videos from Anti-Flag, Bad Religion, Strike Anywhere and NOFX, which can't be bad at all!
Now to the actual songs themself. Most types of punk rock are catered for with a nice variety of hardcore (Rise Against), ska (RX Bandits), so-Cal (NOFX, Offspring, Pennywise), pop-punk (Sum 41, New Found Glory) and even acoustic (The Ataris). Naturally, this brings with it a wide scope of bands that is sure to attract a wide variety of fans, from old skool punks who would be attracted to the CD by Social Distortion and Jello Biafra with DOA to younger fans who don't actually know too much punk but buy the CD because it has Sum 41 and the Offspring on it (and before you go mental, I'm not trying to say that only bratty little 10 year olds who watch MTV all day like these bands!). The good thing about this is that maybe someone might buy the CD because they know there's a new track by a couple of their favourite bands, and then they'll get introduced to a few new ones who they go on to really like.
The highlights of the album are Sink, Florida, Sink by Against Me! (a band who you MUST check out!), Jaw, Knee, Music by NOFX (as a NOFX enthusiast, I was particularly excited about hearing a new track by them), Baghdad by The Offspring, Sad State Of Affairs by the Descendents, The Brightest Bulb Has Burnt Out by Less Than Jake featuring the legend that is Billy Bragg, and The Ataris' simple yet really stunning and effective acoustic version of Bad Religion's Heaven Is Falling. These are just a few of the great songs, as every single track is brilliant and is completely worth the money.
This really is one of the best compilations out there and is one that has a great political message with it, even if, like me, you're not American. It's still worthwhile for people outside the USA to know of how bad Bush is as America is such a huge influence on the world in so many ways - both good and bad. Anyway, go and buy this cd right now. You'll be able to hear some top quality punk that you've never heard before and will also be able to reflect on the fact that, as well as all the political scandal and so forth, the fundamental fact is that George Bush Jr is just a general fool who can't even eat a pretzel without almost choking to death and thinks that Africa is a country.
Go and enjoy - Fat Mike really has done good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars changed my life, seriously!, 16 May 2004
This review is from: Rock Against Bush Vol.1 (Audio CD)
wow! this is really hot! there are awesome bands wanting to make a difference and their anger at that Bush really makes brilliant music! There are all my favorite bands on it, alkaline trio, anti flag, NOFX, less than jake, pennywise and new found glory so it appealed to me straight away, and it introduced me to bands I now love,
the offspring, rise against and descendents.
the best songs are:
rise against - give it all
less than jake - the brightest bulb has burned out
alkaline trio - warbrain
bagdad - offspring
the dvd is brilliant, music video of bad religion, one of my other faves, the brilliant franco unamerican by nofx and anti flag truncoat, which is my fave anti flag song! the documentaries are a bit boring but maybe cos im too young to understand all that political stuff but the 30 second ones are hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 27 Oct 2010
This review is from: Rock Against Bush Vol.1 (Audio CD)
Seeing this in HMV I was definitely interested.Not especially in the punk bands who mostly sound like the Clash but the whole idea that this was a poke at George Bush.
The title is bang on with a sleeve showing Bush covering his ears up.
With a detailed booklet,bonus DVDs-which take longer to play than the disc itself-you can't argue.In order to digest all this stuff it would take a month.This is a project which needed to happen and it makes Bush look like the World's clown.
Pity no one thought of doing a similar one on Gordon Brown our recent Prime Minister who made Bush look like a Good Guy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best punk rock album of the year.........so far, 26 April 2004
This review is from: Rock Against Bush Vol.1 (Audio CD)
what can i say? this album is amazing!! Go and buy this album and helpsupport the rock against bush campain (yes it is a campain).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars president bush does 1 good thing, influence a good album, 29 Jan 2005
This review is from: Rock Against Bush Vol.1 (Audio CD)
the concept for this album is great. you have the band aid people, the more mainstream music writing records to stop poverty and you have the punks writing songs to try and change the government.this album has some songs on that im not too keen on but i wouldnt worry out of 23 there must be at least i dunno 18 that everyone would like. i think its the albums diversity that makes it so good, there are more traditional punk bands, more punk pop and a touch of metal all coming together to 'rock against bush.' the best part about this album for me is the dvd and the sleeve. there are 40 legitimate reasons why fat mike at least thinks that president bush isnt up to scratch and the dvd fills you with useful information aswell as having a few music videos on (including nofxs franco un american, which i personally think is amazing) if you consider yourself someone that cares about pollitics and musics then buy this as the two are wonderfully entwined
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rob, 4 May 2004
This review is from: Rock Against Bush Vol.1 (Audio CD)
this is great album if you like punk, rock, hardcore, acoustics, ska ... it has it all. also the bonus DVD is great the music videos and the stand up comedy are the highlights. A must buy whether you like Bush or don't care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock Against Bush Vol.1
Rock Against Bush Vol.1 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews