Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50,001 fans actually
I have to be honest I was far from impressed when, as a teenage hardcore/ industrial fan I was directed to The Fall by some older indie type. Pretty good lyrically but the music was nothing more than an atonal drone thought I.
However, odd tracks on magazine cover CDs and my occassional trips into Peel land gradually chipped away at my resistance.
This album,...
Published on 4 Jan 2006 by kingrizla2000

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of the best
39 hits and only a handful I would rate, I have half a dozen tapes by the Fall and am trying to add to my CD colection but thsi isn't their greatest hour.
Published 14 months ago by Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50,001 fans actually, 4 Jan 2006
This review is from: 50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong: 39 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I have to be honest I was far from impressed when, as a teenage hardcore/ industrial fan I was directed to The Fall by some older indie type. Pretty good lyrically but the music was nothing more than an atonal drone thought I.
However, odd tracks on magazine cover CDs and my occassional trips into Peel land gradually chipped away at my resistance.
This album, being as accessible as Mark and the boys could ever possibly be, finally broke the doors open for me. I eventually recognised the bizarre genius of those hyponitic rhythms and of the single most hilarious wordsmith since Richard Pryor. Morrissey eat your heart out.
Genius....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fall - Play them and lose your girlfriend, 16 May 2009
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong: 39 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
Playing "Fiery Jack" at the start of a romantic evening was in hindsight a bit of a faux pax particularly when she asked whether I had any Simply Red. My first Fall album was "Dragnet" which was also a mistake since I still hate Side 2 and find it unspeakably awful. Yet this is the health warning that comes with all Fall albums. There are tracks you really despise. Others you love so deeply that if given the choice of your favourite Fall songs or having your cat tortured unfortunately the moogy gets it. In Dragnet's case I loved "Psykick Dancehall" but it is sadly not included on this, neither are some other Fall favourites particularly "Oswald's Defence Lawyer", "the Mixer" "Glam racket", White Lightning, Sparta FC and the deconstruction of Sister Sledges "Lost in Music". Frankly any one that tries to compile a Fall compilation is on to a hiding to nothing and I suspect that this is as good as it gets.

Mark E Smith has spent a whole career not just swimming against the tide but polluting it with his caustic attitude, outpourings and rants. He is at best obnoxious. You really wouldn't want him as friend and he certainly wouldn't want you. He has treated this band like Stalin dealt with the Russian peasantry but this totalitarian approach has worked. The Fall never stood still and has Smith himself has fought a constant battle to resist any attempts to make the band more palatable. Brix Smith, Martin Bramah and Craig Scanlon have been "in and out" more times than your front door key. Smith has also been free with his opinions on just about every other band on the planet such as contemporaries "The Sex Pistols in the space of one single went from being great to being AC/DC" or listening to Pavement is "just The Fall in 1985, isn't it? They haven't got an original idea in their heads". You haven't got to agree with him, just recognise that he is a loud mouth who still delivers the goods.

There are Fall albums which are highly commercial of course not least the seminal late 1980s early 90s pairing of "Extricate" which included the brilliant Bill is Dead which was followed by the equally wonderful "Shiftwork" where Smith was almost tender on Edinburgh man. But the Fall that everyone loves is that of the Psychobilly shouters so well captured on "Touch sensitive" and of course "Fiery Jack" which clearly is a better song than "Money is too tight to mention"!

This is therefore a great compilation. All the bona fide classics are here not least of all Rowche Rumble, Free Range, How I Wrote 'Elastic Man', Eat Y'self Fitter, Mr Pharmacist and Susan Vs Youth Club. As for girlfriends get a copy of Carole Kings "Tapestry" they always seem to like it and keep your Fall albums to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fall primer 1978 - 2003..., 22 April 2006
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong: 39 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
'50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong: 39 Golden Greats' does what it says on the cover and offers an ideal two-disc primer into that brilliant career. As the definitive Fall-reissue programme advances and we also get the Peel Sessions box-set, there is room for a primer of the mighty Fall for those unsure where to start. This compilation is probably worth buying for the cover alone, though the sleevenotes and the selection of tracks is not as simplistic as might be thought...

It's notable that a few of The Fall's odder moments have made it here - we get 'Repetition' over 'Bingo Master's Breakout', the epic 'Hip Priest' (probably as it featured in 'The Silence of the Lambs'), the Kazoo-friendly 'New Face in Hell' and the Beefheart-on-speed 'Prole Art Threat - so the more caustic side of The Fall is here (as well as the odd dud moment like 'Susan Vs. Youthclub'). There are several of The Fall's cover versions here - 'There's a Ghost In My House', 'Mr Pharmacist', 'Victoria', 'Why Are People Grudgeful?' - though sadly not their storming cover of The Big Bopper's 'White Lightning' (surely The Fall's covers album isn't far from being issued and should also include 'Rollin'Dany', 'Lost in Music', 'I'm Going to Spain', 'The Legend of Xanadu', 'F'oldin Money', 'I'm a Mummy', 'A Day in the Life', 'Kimble' & 'White Line Fever.'

The early singles once found on 'Early Fall 77/79', 'In the Palace of Swords Reversed' & 'Hip Priests & Kamerads' crop up here on the first disc: 'Rowche Rumble', 'Fiery Jack' (featured on the upcoming 'Rip It Up & Start Again'), 'How I Wrote 'Elastic Man', 'Totally Wired', 'Lie Dream of a Casino Soul' (a big hit in NZ!), 'The Man Whose Head Expanded' & 'Kicker Conspiracy.' All fantastic, as is the sole-track from 'Live at the Witch Trials' ('Industrial Estate') and 'Hex Enduction Hour's abrasive-opener 'The Classical'- though gripers may gripe about the absence of such tracks as 'Leave the Capitol', 'Psykick Dancehall', 'City Hobgoblins', 'It's the New Thing', 'Look, Know' or 'Fantastic Life.'

The latter part of disc one heralds the Brix-era, 'Eat Y'Self Fitter' one of their great moments (memorably picked by Peel as one his Desert Island Discs), while 1984/85 when Brix's poppier-input became more apparent is represented by an edited 'C.R.E.E.P', 'No Bulbs', 'This Nation's Saving Grace's 'Spoilt Vitctorian Child' & the classic 'Cruiser's Creek'-single. Hard to fault any of these selections, though it should be noted that '...Saving Grace' has a wealth of possible selections that could have made the grade here...

The second disc opens with the blend of Krautrock'n'goth that is 'US 80's-90's', the sterling cover of The Other Half's 'Mr Pharmacist' & one of MES's most touching moments, 'Living Too Late' (replete with a wonderful psychdelic section courtesy of producer John Leckie)The one-off single 'Hey Luciani!' showcases the more melodic Fall and is a welcome inclusion, as is the classic single 'Hit the North'which defines baggy or Madchester soundwise a year or so before 'WFL' or 'Fool's Gold 953'...It should be noted that the most obvious track from 'The Frenz Experiment' ('Victoria') is included (no 'Carry Bag Man', 'Guest Informant' or 'Oswald Defence Lawyer') and there's nothing from 'I am Kurious Oranj' ('Wrong Place Right Time', 'Big New Prinz' or 'Jerusalem' would have seemed obvious candidates), and no 'Dead Beat Descendent' either!

The Fall's collaboration with Coldcut 'Telephone Thing' is a welcome inclusion, a perversion of 'My Telephone' with MES hailing about Gretchen Franklin! There's nought from 'Shiftwork' ('Idiot Joy Showland' surely should have been selected!), though we do get the 'High Tension Line'-single and the following year's 'Free Range' which ranks as one of their finest single moments. The Fall have a poppier moment or two with 'Grudgeful' & 'Behind the Counter' (no '15 Ways' sadly) and their more avant side is exposed with the inclusion of 'M5' and 'Feeling Numb' (the patchy mid 90s problems advancing...) An edited version of the classic 'Chiselers' single is included and the bizarre 'Powder Keg', which was seen to predict the IRA bomb in the Arndale centre in the 90s (as 'Zagreb' predicted the problems in the Balkans earlier). 'Levitate' was an album accorded mixed reviews is represented by the excellent 'Masquerade', which suggests that the 'Levitate'-reissue might be one to check out. The famous ad-song 'Touch Sensitive' still sounds fantastic, while 'Crop Dust' is one of the better moments from the patchy 'Are You Are Missing Winner?' (2001), which reminds you that nought from 'The Unutterable' is here!!! The compilation ends on the fantastic 'Green Eyed Loco-Man' from the major return to form that was 'The Real New Fall LP - Formerly Country on the Click' (though 'Theme from Sparta FC' might have been a more obvious choice).

Anyone unfamiliar should probably start with this and their latest classic 'Fall Heads Roll' (2005), which demonstrates the new Fall is as great as the old Fall and you don't have to be a look back bore-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heading for the Fall, 13 Jun 2005
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong: 39 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
For a voracious music collector and someone with a supposedly instinctive perspicacity when it comes to music I've been remarkably derelict in my duty when it comes to The Fall. All this despite my best friend being an avid Fall fan , someone all too willing to avail me of their latest release of which there are 26 years worth if I'm not mistaken. I've no excuse really so by way of a shortcut I've bought this and well, the cult of Mark E Smith has another neophyte. Consider me converted.
This compilation takes in material from the full width of their repertoire. From the monochromatic angular rhythms of their early work to the more complex diverse and audacious stuff they later produced. There are thirteen tracks taken from what many would consider their golden period- From 1982,s "Hex Induction Hour" to 1986,s "Bend Sinister"- later albums are less well represented, with most of the 90,s albums having only one track culled from them. Taking in the grumbling appendix rattle of "The "Man Whose Head Expanded", the gleaming pop nuances of "C.R.E.E.P." influenced by Smiths ex wife Brix , The twanging metallic chords of "How I Wrote Elastic Man" ( A particular favourite) the innervated keyboard led "Masquerade" , the bizarre Ska commercial pop hybrid that is "Why Are People Grudgeful?" this is a deliciously eclectic concoction. More familiar songs are included such as "Hit the North", Telephone Thing" and an odd cover of R Dean Taylor's old Northern Soul classic "There's A Ghost in My House" which was a Youth club favourite of Smiths.
I don't think there is any doubt that this is the most comprehensive of all the many Fall compilations , even then I'm sure more religious advocates of their music will complain loudly that this, that or the other track has been omitted. That's the nature of compilations. Apparently endorsed by the curmudgeonly Smith, this is as emphatic and irresistible a statement of The Falls consistent excellence as could be made over a two disc C.D. Every one of these 39 tracks has something to advocate it , with Smiths unique hiccupping sneer and lacerating sarcasm smeared over every punk spattered riff. My ego and pride demand I investigate their mammoth back catalogue further. A certain friend of mine will be getting a call very soon. From now on 50, 001 fall fans can't be wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best compilations money can buy, 14 May 2008
By 
Jay (West Mids) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong: 39 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
If you've had just a passing interest in music over the last 30 years or so, and bought the occasional magazine, chances are you have come across the Fall; chances are, equally, you could not sing or even name a single record here. No matter, it would still be worthwhile laying down the required green and taking a chance on this compilation. If you don't like what you hear then it's no great loss, but it's more than likely that you'll enjoy a good number of these tracks. If you like most of this album then you are just about to fall in love with this band and if you are going to get gooey over a group there's few better candidates.
The Fall have released a studio album every year or so for the last 30 years and don't appear to be about to let up now. More importantly this is not a band whose latter music is held in less regard than earlier, more youthful, output. There are fans of the Fall who hold records released in the last 5 years as highly as those released 20-30 years ago. The new Fall fan has a back catalogue to trawl through, recent releases to enjoy and the knowledge that there's probably more of this to come. That's a rare old thing to find in a band: a past, a present and a future to get excited by. What's more, although there is a definite Fall-like quality to all their records, they are, at times, extremely varied in style so there's little sense of treading old ground. They are not a band likely to bore you.
The Fall aren't the most popular of groups but with their cryptic lyrics, huge output and stylistic changes they have developed a devotional fanbase. Buy this and you may just see what the fuss has been about all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Your Parents Didn't Have Any Children, You Won't Either, 4 July 2004
This review is from: 50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong: 39 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I fully agree with Marc. While I can't lump myself into the "die-hard fan" category, I'm not a complete Fall-virgin, either. I've discovered many of their songs through P2P platforms, and quickly became a fan. When I read on the Official Fall Website ([...]) that it was coming out, I just had to go to my local HMV and pick up a copy. There are a few songs I would have chosen in place of others (a purely subjective decision, mind you) I can't complain about the new discoveries I've made from that purchase.
Overall, a great buy for any casual fan of the band (certainly not for completists) or those wishing to discover what makes The Fall a great band.
Five Stars and Two Thumbs Way Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I finally fell, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong: 39 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
Occasionally heard The Fall over the years, and finally bought this album. Pretty darn good! Not quite the rhythm of Joy Division, but they seem to have a lot more fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Fall, I recommended., 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong: 39 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
Good introduction to The Fall, plenty more gems to unearth on one of their numerous albums.

They are an acquired taste, but one day I got it! Now I can't get enough, Mark E Smith, genius! Thumping bass lines and catchy tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good collection from a vast back catalogue, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong: 39 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
I have plenty of Fall albums on vynil which I rarely listen to now so got this collection which is great. However a few of my favourites are missing (Lay of the Land, Australians in Europe, Bingo Master's Breakout, etc) but with such a huge output you can't have everything. This is a great introduction to one of the best bands ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Fall, 17 Jun 2013
By 
L. F. Cassidy (lancashire,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50,000 Fall Fans Can't Be Wrong: 39 Golden Greats (Audio CD)
This is a great album to get if you are just a casual fall fan.there is a track for everyone somewhere on this album,it,s a lot better than most so called greatest hits albums and it might tempt you to listen to the new album Re-mit.It was a great price and arrived within a few days.Cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews