Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Voyager Season 5
Season 5 of Voyager is possibly its best of all seven as finally the series has a clear sense of momentum unlike the rather stale first 2 series where enemies such as the Kazon were encountered again and again and storylines from The Next Generation were rehashed. For a change, the viewer actually feels the crew are getting closer to home and with Seven Of Nine now an...
Published on 2 Feb 2005 by CJC

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars birthday pressie
this was a birthday pressie for my grandson as he is collecting them and the third I have bought him
Published 13 months ago by Niobais


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Voyager Season 5, 2 Feb 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Voyager - Season 5 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Season 5 of Voyager is possibly its best of all seven as finally the series has a clear sense of momentum unlike the rather stale first 2 series where enemies such as the Kazon were encountered again and again and storylines from The Next Generation were rehashed. For a change, the viewer actually feels the crew are getting closer to home and with Seven Of Nine now an integral part of the main cast, it allows for a great deal of much deeper interaction between the characters and consequently, a lot more character driven episodes. The viewer might also notice that elements from the rest of the Star Trek universe (Borg, Starfleet, Cardassians) are perhaps more prevalent in this season than previously, reinforcing the rather more progressive stance of this season as well as the fact that Deep Space Nine was coming to an end at the time this was being produced. Simply put, it is an incredibly well-written season which manages to avoid any of the usual filler episodes which have been the bane of its earlier seasons as well as its sister series, TNG and Enterprise.
Among the season highlights are:
NIGHT: Travelling across an area of space devoid of stars, the crew encounter the Malon, a group of intergalactic polluters and a race which is threatened by their pollution.
EXTREME RISK:Tortured by the thought of her dead Maquis comrades (at the hands of the Dominion/Cardassians), Torres risks her life in increasingly dangerous situations.
IN THE FLESH: Chakotay discovers a recreation of Starfleet Headquarters which is being used as a training ground by Species 8472 for an invasion of the Federation.
TIMELESS:The 100th episode where Chakotay and Kim travel back in time to prevent the death of their crewmates in a tragic accident.
NOTHING HUMAN:Unable to remove a parasite from Torres, The Doctor consults a hologram of an infamous Cardassian exo-biologist to deal with the problem, causing unrest amongst the former Maquis and Bajoran members of the crew.
COUNTERPOINT:Perhaps one of the best Voyager episodes where a member of a race against the presence of telepaths seeks asylum on Voyager in exchange for helping a group of telepaths concealed on the ship escape, posing a dilemma for Janeway.
BRIDE OF CHAOTICA:An ingenious story as aliens from another dimension go to war with Doctor Chaotica and his army on the holodeck. A great send-up of Flash Gordon.
DARK FRONTIER:The Borg Queen demands Seven of Nine's return to the Collective in exchange for Voyager's safety.
COURSE OBLIVION:A sequel to Season 4's 'Demon' with a great twist as the crew find themselves and their ship breaking down at the cellural level.
RELATIVITY:Seven of Nine travels through Voyager's past to stop a saboteur intent on destroying the ship. A very fun episode - a sequel of sorts to Season 3's 'Future's End'.
EQUINOX, PART 1:An excting end to the season as Voyager makes contact with home (of sorts) when they find the crew of another Federation starship. However, the actions of the Equinox crew in the Delta Quadrant place the Voyager crew in grave danger.
The extras are well put together and significantly longer and in depth than either TNG or DS9.
All in all, the season is a real gem, perhaps one of the strongest individual seasons of any Trek show and highlights the way Voyager will go in its last 2 series. Roll on Seasons 6 & 7!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Voyager's Fifth & Possibly Greatest Season, 21 Mar 2009
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the fifth season of Star Trek Voyager, and the boxed set contains all twenty six episodes as well as some interesting special features. Picture and sound quality on the DVD release is excellent, and offers the added incentive of being able to watch without constantly being interrupted by commercials.

Voyager is a science fiction television show that is set in the twenty forth century. Each episode follows the adventures of the U.S.S. Voyager a Federation Starship that becomes stranded on the other side of the galaxy. Her Captain (played by Kate Mulgrew) and her crew must find a way to get home, and face the prospect of spending their entire lives travelling across unknown and usually hostile space.

There are various incantations of Star Trek such as this Voyager, but also Enterprise, Deep Space Nine, The Next Generation and of course the Original Star Trek. While each are based around the same idea, each is somewhat different from the other, and as a result every fan of Star Trek, or Science Fiction, will have their own personal favourite. Voyager is mine, and while it may not be the most serious of the Star Trek universe, I find it the most gripping, the most involving, and where we really get to know the various characters.

This fifth season has to be one of Voyager's best as it offers so much. Many of the episodes are nothing less than brilliant and a true credit to the show. Episodes such as "Drone" where the Doctor and Seven accidentally create a 29th Century Borg. "In The Flesh" we see Species 8472 planning an invasion of Earth. The great and epic "Timeless" episode where a future Chakotay and Kim try to prevent Voyager's destruction. "Bliss" where the crew are tricked into thinking they've found a way back home where in fact there flying into the stomach of a massive space organism. The two part "Dark Frontier," "Relativity," the list goes on and on, but needless to say all make for a very enjoyable season.

I would normally include a list highlighting the best parts of the season, but in the case of season five, there are far too many too include. But there really are some exceptional moments that do deserve a mention such as watching Seven Of Nine (played by Jeri Ryan) singing, and the showdown between Janeway and Captain Ransom.

The cast and crew should be given a pat on the back, as they have managed to create and work with some excellent scripts, ideas and episodes plots, to create something that is truly admirable. The acting from the cast is second to none as all makes from a very entertaining and enjoyable experience.

Well it's taken me a while but I've finally managed to watch and review all seven seasons of Voyager. I hope these reviews have been helpful to you, and I hope that I have done justice to the show that is a great piece of science fiction.

Naturally if your new to Star Trek Voyager, then it would be a idea to start watching from the first season to get a better understanding of the show. If your already a fan, then I hope you already have the boxed sets, if not it's time to buy them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb series...full of extras!, 4 Jan 2008
Just had to respond to the 2 "reviews" on this page, and confirm that these boxsets certainly DO contain all the extras that were found on the original boxsets. So even more reason to get them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better and better, 16 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. Andrew MCNAUGHTON "Griffin WindowSeat" (Glasgow, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Voyager - Season 5 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Star Trek series have a habit of getting better and better as they mature. Season 5 doesn't disappoint. Rather than write one of the usual reviews I thought I mention my surprise when I discovered that the feature length "Dark Frontier" episode - a highlight of this season - featured deleted scenes that did not air previously and were not present on the VHS version of the episode. As always these boxsets' bonus features are usually worth the price itself, but this slightly altered version of a much watched episode really surprised me and I'm so glad I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Season of Star Trek Voyager, 15 April 2010
By 
H. C. Traveller (Guildford, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD set is of excellent quality, very good value and contains some of the very best and greatest variety of the adventures of the crew of Voyager. There is a very good range of episodes from high action drama to intensely ethical episodes to great comedy.

I'm a huge fan of Captain Janeway who adds especially wise diplomatic skills to those of a starfleet captain. All the crew favourites are here: Chakotay, Tuvok, B'Elanna Torres, Tom Paris, Seven, Neelix, Harry Kim and the Doctor.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best season so far, 21 Mar 2010
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I said that about the previous seasons, but it's true. This season eclipses all that have gone before.
As a soap opera on a space ship, voyager stranded in the delta quadrant and trying to get home, the story lines are so imaginative and creative. There is not a weak episode amongst the 26 in the box set.
The character of Seven of Nine develops. She even starts singing duets with the doctor in this season. The season finale, Equinox, is particularly good as Voyager encounters another Starfleet vessel in the delta quadrant.
All in all, brilliant entertainment for Sci Fi fans. Don't hesitate - buy this, you won't regret it.
Currently Amazon have one of the best prices on the internet!
Star Trek Voyager - Season 5 (Slimline Edition) [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Species 8472, Super Borg and A Xenophobic Civilization, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Voyager - Season 5 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
There are some really good reviews of this season, well here's my pennies worth. I do not own any the slimline versions that said I am sure the quality is the same? Some who love the show and have deep pockets will buy these at this too. Season 5 sees Voyager making some progress to towards the Alpha Quadrant. The character of 7 of 9 seems better embed with the Janeways' crew. Some of the seasons narratives, we see Species 8472 in a more `human element'. There is the accidental creation of a Super Borg and we meet a `Nazis' like xenophobic race who persecute telepaths with unnatural cunning zeal. The stories mentioned are just a sample of good season. All in all a very good series with a great female captain who really held her own, it's a real pity that the whole TV franchise has not explored more of the Star Trek Universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 20 Jan 2010
By 
M. Lang - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always wanted my own Voyager series but I'm not mad to pay £60-70 a season. Loved the price, nice edition, could've have some more extras but well won't complain. Love it and love Voyager!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars actually..., 11 Jun 2008
By 
Naif (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
I'd just like to re-affirm that it does contain all the bonus features, i got my copy this morning.
Great quality videos, pretty cool menu screens and the features are great too.
I'd advise people to make sure they know things for sure before they go bitching on amazon reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Package deal for an excellant series, 24 Jan 2009
Voyager deals with the mixed race, genocide , Who can Forget Species 8479 but nevertheless if you can't afford the flash Red fold out these DVD's are just as good Bonus Fetures ARE there and it-like the series itself-is well crafted
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: Voyager - Season 5 [DVD] [1996]
Star Trek: Voyager - Season 5 [DVD] [1996] by Kate Mulgrew (DVD - 2005)
£59.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews