Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Programme for Students With Macs
I have never once regretted abandoning Windows PC's for Apple Macs but it has always niggled me that all of the computers at college run windows and that we were expected to present a lot of our work in powerpoint. I had to use my girlfriends laptop for all my work which kind of defeated the point of splashing out the extra money for a Mac. Then I realised that I could...
Published on 26 Feb 2007 by R. Mullaney

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft on Mac, a match made in heaven?
If, like me, you're a student or a parent or guardian of one, then you'll understand how getting value for money is important. Office X for students and teachers offers value for money and also the usual good standard provided over on PC. The interface has evolved since Office '98 ( the last copy I owned ) and is now infinatly easier to use. The menus are clearly laid out...
Published on 25 Oct 2003 by Mr D A Cooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Programme for Students With Macs, 26 Feb 2007
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Office Mac 2004 Student and Teacher Edition (CD-ROM)
I have never once regretted abandoning Windows PC's for Apple Macs but it has always niggled me that all of the computers at college run windows and that we were expected to present a lot of our work in powerpoint. I had to use my girlfriends laptop for all my work which kind of defeated the point of splashing out the extra money for a Mac. Then I realised that I could buy Microsoft Office for Mac at a reduced price because I am a student. I can't recommend it enough and it looks like Microsoft have really listened to what Mac users want when designing the programme. It features Word, Powerpoint, Excel and the handy Entourage for e-mail. Of course all files produced on a Mac can be opened on PC's and there is a very handy compatibility report which tells the user as they work that a particular font or background may appear slightly differently on Office 2000 or whatever so you don't get a shock when you are delivering that important presentation and the slides look different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOES IT WORK? YES!, 8 Aug 2007
This review is from: Office Mac 2004 Student and Teacher Edition (CD-ROM)
For me, the key question in buying a Mac to accompany my several PCs was "will I be able to swap files?" In particular, I use Word and Outlook constantly, and it was vital I could exchange files between the two systems.

Good news: Using Office Mac, everything works perfectly. The Mac version has a few bits and pieces which work better than the PC version, eg in Word there's a neat, transparent formatting palette which appears alongside your document. "Entourage", the Mac version of Outlook, works much the same way but looks and feels better than the "normal" PC version. On the whole, though, everything feels familiar; and files created in either system work on both. I thought it was pretty good value, too - you get 3 installs, so one set will service up to three MacBooks.

Conclusion: valuable, decently-priced software if you want to swap Office files between Macs and PCs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Office 2004 - an excellent upgrade!, 21 May 2004
This review is from: Office Mac 2004 Student and Teacher Edition (CD-ROM)
Office for the mac has lagged behind the pc version for years now. Office VX was a definite improvement, but still, it was easy to feel like a poor relation compared to the pc package.
Office 2004 changes that in my humble opinion.
The suite comes with the usual applications, word, excel, powerpoint and entourage (no access database in the mac version).
Entourage is a mac outlook-like application and although a touch flakey in office vx, it looks VERY nice indeed in 2004. Some of the touches from the pc version such as a translucent mail notification window and a new display which puts email in the right hand side pane giving more room to view the email than the traditional view (although you can select the old view if you like).
In many ways, entourage is the emerging star of this package. It integrates mail/addressbook/calendar/notes/tasks and the new in 2004 project center.
Word/excel/powerpoint have all been updated and their features now leapfrog the pc version in many respects although apparently no XML which MS made a big deal of for the windows version 2003.
All the applications look and feel much more macosx and are fast and stable.
The student/teacher version is particularly good value since it allows installation on upto three machines at only around £100. A bargain for all this software and a must have for any macosx box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft have got it right, 20 Jun 2004
This review is from: Office Mac 2004 Student and Teacher Edition (CD-ROM)
Not a popular thing for a Mac user to say, but Office 2004 is a superb product, only let down by a couple of unfortunate oversights.
I bought this program for two main applications - Word and Entourage. The remaining applications - Excel and Powerpoint - I could take or leave. A quick run through Powerpoint shows that it comes close to Apple's own Keynote program - but isn't quite as slick - however, unless Apple updates Keynote soon, Powerpoint will be the better program. I haven't used Excel, but I'm sure it is perfectly competent.
Word is much like the X release - but debugged and it feels slightly snappier to use. I particularly liked three features.
1: The document map which appears on the left-hand side of the window gives you an overview of the entire document. Previously, this only gave you a series of headings - now, you have the option to see miniature versions of pages - allowing you to see the flow of a long document. It does slow the machine down noticeably, so older Macs might struggle.
2: Revisions mode, where you edit a previous draft of a document used to include deleted text in the middle of paragraphs - consequently it became very hard to see the structure of your document as you added and deleted material, moved it around and the like. Now, deletions are shown on the right-hand margin of the page, each one with a gadget that allows you to reinsert or delete the text. Very simple and effective.
3: Toolbars. The formatting toolbar gets quite big and you use it a lot, but if you're on a laptop or using a small monitor it used to get in the way. Now, when you remove your mouse from the toolbar it gradually becomes translucent. You can type underneath the toolbar, when you need it again - just mouse over. Brilliant!
Word gives you warnings when exporting about any possible compatibility problems - but so far it has shown no problems with Office X or with Word for Windows.
Entourage is a superb mail program come personal organiser, I can't really find any major problems with it, although it has some shortcomings. Entourage still does not seamlessly import data from the Apple Address Book or iCal and it still does not synch through iSync. If these are important to you, this might be enough of a reason not to use it.
Entourage also does not have the oh-so-useful threaded mail view that is standard with Apple Mail and Thunderbird. Which is a bit of a pain if you have a lot of mail and are trying to follow a discussion.
But it does have top-notch junk mail filtering, easy scheduling of routine tasks and a magnificently comprehensive customised filter setup. The program is fast and stable - in short, everything Outlook isn't.
For the money, Office X is unbeatable, I even like the box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually better than expected!, 16 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. A. J. Crawford "alcrawford" (Stoke-on-Trent, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Office Mac 2004 Student and Teacher Edition (CD-ROM)
I mulled over buying this since switching to Mac 9 months ago after too many Windows frustrations. Compatibility has always been a bit of an issue since as we still have PC's for the children and all the systems at work are Windows based. Although Pages/Keynote can export to Word/Powerpoint formats, you need to be careful with which fonts you use and some formatting is often lost.

I have now taken the plunge and bought it, not least because Microsoft are running an offer where you buy the 2004 version and they will send you 2008 when released for the cost of shipping!

Office for mac has now solved nearly all my problems and although is not as quick to use as the mac equivalent it is nowhere near as slow to load/save etc. as the Windows version.

I cannot give it five stars though for a handful of, admittedly picky, reasons:

1) There is not a keyboard shortcut to view slideshow in PowerPoint

2) I would like to be able to view the slides as thumbnails in the side pane in PowerPoint

3) The header and footer options are not as good as Pages (have to either close the toolbar that pops up or double-click back in the body of the document) - although much better than previous versions of Word

4) Why can't Microsoft make this much effort for a Windows environment?

The 3 installs included do make this excellent value though so maybe 4 1/2 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still better than the recent editions!, 19 Aug 2008
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Office Mac 2004 Student and Teacher Edition (CD-ROM)
Office Mac 2004 - Student and Teacher Edition is a fantastic package. I myself am a University student and obviously needed a copy of Word and PowerPoint respectively for lectures, and so bought a copy off ebay (seems to be the best place to find it cheap) for under forty quid.

In College 3 years ago, I had already familiarized myself with the 'full' version of Office Mac 2004 that contained all the features possible, and the slightly different interface. Following on from this experience, and after looking at the average feedback for the 2008 edition, I opted for the Student and teacher edition of 2004 to see if it was much different from the full version I had used.

In short, the answer is not very - you could pay a lot, lot more money just for a different interface and more programs, but I've found that 2004 S & T Edition is a lot more concise-a-program, and is better value for money, second hand of course. This S & T Edition features all the ideal programs for daily Uni/Educational life, including;

Word - For creating smart documents, making quick lecture notes using the Note-Pad feature, and composing long pieces of work.

PowerPoint - For creating visual and audible presentations via 'slides'. Used alot in higher education, so glad it's included.

Excel - For creating spreadsheet and consolidating numeric data, such as Charts, Graphs, and Tables.

Entourage - The email program that uses POP settings from your email provider so you can access your emails without going on the web browser (Safari/Firefox). Only compatible with certain providers though.

Messenger (MSN for Mac) - This is Version 4.0 so it's actually irrelevant, as a much newer version is already out. The same principles apply though; communicating your friends through instant messages.

The features in Word and Powerpoint appear the exact same as in the full edition, as does Excel. The only differences are the fact that the S & T Edition has a cleaner interface, with bigger tabs below the menu bar at the top, and in terms of productivity, it's actually much easier to select a type of document/project and just create it. This, for me anyway, is great because I can just get on with what I want to do quickly.

Drag and Drop installation is just over 600mb which is quite friendly on your MacBook, but if you do a custom install and do away with all the fancy languages and networking blurb, it can come down to 400+ no problem. The programs themselves react just as quick as most Windows versions of Office, so no differences there.

If you're new to the 'Office' packages or are new to the Mac versions, their are just a couple of things you should note. Firstly, this disc comes with 3 product keys, meaning it can only be installed on 3 different accounts, which is why you can find it nice and cheap if 1/2 keys have already been used. The second thing is the layout of the programs. Windows users may need time to get used to the 'box' look of these programs, particularly Word in which the Formatting bar (Fonts, Sizes etc) is actually a seperate small box which you can drag around, and fades away when not highlighted. This takes some getting used to, but it's not a problem, as it 'snaps' to the sides of your MacBook's screen to keep your desktop tidy. Entourage also has a different interface to it's equivalent 'Outlook Express', but I feel this Mac Office version is alot better. Just remember though that Entourage is only compatible with certain email providers... My Yahoo account for example won't work; I believe you have to pay them extra for this privilege? Pff...

Again as stated earlier, Messenger for Mac is quite irrelevant as the version on this disc is out of date. If you download the new version however, it's a really nice program and much the same, if not exactly, to the Windows Messenger Version 7.0 (BEFORE silly features!)

In terms of value, I couldn't be happier with my purchase, and it's really paying off for itself as I can save paper in lectures and just type my notes on the 'Note-Book' project of Word (it suddenly turns into a notepad with lines and bullet points). I'd recommend this for all Mac-Owner's who are fed up with the extortionate high prices of new Office packages, and the seemingly over-complication of Office 2008.

One final thing - this DOES indeed work with Mac OS X LEOPARD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft on Mac, a match made in heaven?, 25 Oct 2003
By 
Mr D A Cooper (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
If, like me, you're a student or a parent or guardian of one, then you'll understand how getting value for money is important. Office X for students and teachers offers value for money and also the usual good standard provided over on PC. The interface has evolved since Office '98 ( the last copy I owned ) and is now infinatly easier to use. The menus are clearly laid out and the help section is particually worthy of merit, being clear and easy to use.
Overall, a very worthy buy, especially at the cut down student price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable. Would swap, but a necessary evil, 22 May 2007
This review is from: Office Mac 2004 Student and Teacher Edition (CD-ROM)
Word is reasonable if all you need to do is type up a report - it does what it needs to for me. Excel is annoying and generally hard to just display/store data with, you can really only use it to produce a few graphs. Powerpoint is great though - has many different backgrounds to keep you entertained for a while, and is generally the most easy to use. My only complaint about Powerpoint would be that it doesn't cope well with any presentations created on a PC - or maybe that's just been my bad luck so far!

However, if there was another popular option, I would almost certainly buy it. Unfortunately, Microsoft Office is used by everybody, and you're at a serious disadvantage if you don't have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate at best, 25 Feb 2007
By 
Rory Mercer (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Office Mac 2004 Student and Teacher Edition (CD-ROM)
Well, everyone knows office is pretty much the world standard. And, as the only real contender on a mac to office is Pages and Keynote then the market is pretty easy to win over.

Unfortunately the software is not that great.

While it will do for writing a quick letter it lacks the features for advanced work, it even struggles to design a poster. For email, stick with Macs own application "mail". Not installing Entourage however reduces the features available to the other three applications.

Word:

Pros: World standard, easy to use with lots of fonts ect.

Cons: Poor use of graphics, very annoying toolbars with no helpful images.

Excel:

Pros: Versatile with equations for most things, conditional formatting is great as well.

Cons: None

Powerpoint:

Pros: Lots of templates and easy to add basic animation.

Cons: Harder to use than other alternatives.

The office system as a whole is better on windows. The one advantage to having it on Mac is that the icons are nicer. Also, any office application is slow to load and while running slows down OS X by a considerable amount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Aug 2006
This review is from: Office Mac 2004 Student and Teacher Edition (CD-ROM)
Like other reviews I have just switched over to a mac (and the macbook comes highly recommended btw!). My only concern was a suitable program for my university work. However, these fears were quelled once I had installed office 2004 for mac as it is simply far superior to the pc equivalent and in my opinion in the soon-to-be-released office 2007. It seems Microsoft prefer macs themselves by the effort they clearly put into this program! It's extremely easy to use, the new tools are really useful, it suits the mac (ie in looks) brilliaantly and the files will work on pcs. Also this version is also a complete bargain! Essential for any mac user...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Office Mac 2004 Student and Teacher Edition
£29.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews