Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrubs is supreme
I bought this after seeing afew episodes on tv and loved every moment of it. It's generally really funny,and then theres the moments which will have you in doubled over laughing for ages and then thinking about it later and laughing again. This is well worth the money and not only will it have you in stiches it will probably also question your own morality and the way you...
Published on 3 Jun 2006 by Patman

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars crap quality!
I love scrubs but the first disc doesnt work it jumps and stops and turnsoff so i cant really enjoy this
Published 19 months ago by Stella


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrubs is supreme, 3 Jun 2006
This review is from: Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this after seeing afew episodes on tv and loved every moment of it. It's generally really funny,and then theres the moments which will have you in doubled over laughing for ages and then thinking about it later and laughing again. This is well worth the money and not only will it have you in stiches it will probably also question your own morality and the way you think about people around you, and the thing that makes all this possible is JD's inner monologue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrubs is superb!, 12 April 2007
By 
TUFTY (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
There have benn many of great american comedies starting with the letter "S," like the Simpsons and Seinfeld. Well, Scrubs is yet another excellent sitcom across the border. It is hard to find anything to criticise. The best and the most clever and hilarious part of each and every episode of Scrubs is J.D.(Zach Braff, the main character) mindflashes of people whether it be imagining his best friend Turk having his own musical to everybody dressed up in a Star Wars scene. Probably one of the best comedies this decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best TV programme of recent times, 19 Jun 2005
This review is from: Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
There's something really amazing about Scrubs. It's somehow really inspirational and uplifting, despite it being a slightly wacky comedy show about life working at hospital. The range of characters though, is superb, from the main character JD, his love interest Elliot, laid-back Turk, sarcastic and spiteful yet warm-hearted Dr. Cox, mean Dr. Kelso or the janitor who's always out to make JD's life miserable.
However simply listing plot details can't really sum up how good Scrubs is. The comedy is sharp, every episode I've ever seen is absolutely hilarious, and it makes you feel really good watching it. I've never thought a TV show was essential viewing before I saw this, but I can say with confidence that you WILL love this show and if you haven't seen it already you NEED to check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really is wonderful, 24 Oct 2005
By 
S. COLE "Si" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
In the UK, Scrubs has always been slightly off-the-radar. Originally on late Thursday Channel 4 nights, it failed to find the audience it deserved. The show is adorable! Zach Braff's "JD" is an easy-to-like, slightly geeky intern at Sacred Heart hospital whose best friend Turk and himself are eager to succeed in their new jobs. I find myself watching each episode repeatedly, it's such balanced entertainment. The comedy is sharp thanks to the Janitor and Dr.Cox play their charming jerk roles with aplomb. Elliot and Carla ignite all the action as neurotic doctor and feisty nurse respectively. The heartless Dr.Kelso as villainous boss gives the Sacred Heart staff a face to point all its evils towards. JD's apt summaries concluding each episode shed light on life in general in an affecting way rarely found on TV. Scrubs really is wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrub Up For The Best Comedy In Recent Memory!, 3 Sep 2005
This review is from: Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
After Friends, Frasier etc are all put to rest what will take it's place? How about a hospital comedy? Nah that'll never work will it? - Oh. Hell. Yes!!!!
Scrubs is the absolute best comedy to come out of America in a very long time. It has the best characters the best gags and the best stories ever.
In this first series we meet J.D. (short for John Dorian played by the brilliant Zach Braff) a young man who is about to start working as a hospital intern. With him is his best friend Turk (Donald Faison - "the Clueless guy") and they meet and befriend another intern by the name of Elliott Reed (played by Sarah Chalke) when at the hospital we meet Carla (Judy Reyes) a nurse who loves to get in everyones business and tell them what they're doing wrong. Dr. Robert Kelso (Ken Jenkins) the hospital chief of medicine who doesn't care about the patients and sees them all as walking dollar bills! The Janitor (Niell Flynn) who just seems to be there to torture J.D. and quite simply the best character ever!!! - Dr Cox (played by the brilliant John C. McGinley) Dr Cox is so brilliant. He's basically this wise cracking carcastic man who hates to play by the rules! All together they form the whacky staff of Sacred Heart hospital.
The best thing about Scrubs is the writing. They set it up and knock it out of the park they like to experiment with the form of the telling of the story. The soundtrack is absolutely phenominal and the acting is brilliant. It's not your average sitcom it's so much more! They manage to keep it funny and at the same time become serious for the important things that help form these great characters. Which is probably why the show is so good. Every character is so deep in their own different ways of dealing with working in a place where you're going to be dealing with when working in a place filled with sick injured and dying people! In all there's simply no other way to put it - Scrubs ROOOOCCCCCCKKKKKKSSSSSS!!!! (I'm a bit of a fan!)
On the first season dvd we get a one on one interview with Zach Braff deleted scenes, commentaries on certain episodes and alternate puns from certain scenes. Also the music video to the theme song for the show and a behind the scenes feature. All in all it's a great dvd boxset to get because a series this good is rare and should be treasured! I mean the trademark Dr Cox rants are worth the rental price alone!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrubs:- Possibly One Of The Best, 8 May 2006
By 
Mr. C. D. Cooper (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I started watching this show when it was shown on Channel 4 here in UK a few years back. Since then I've been hooked. Scrubs has something for everyone, from comedy (obviously), drama, personal development, everything. Dr. Cox's rants are things of legend, JD's fantasies are superb.

All I can say is buy this DVD, and the rest! You are missing out if you dont!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Combines comedy and drama, 4 Jan 2008
By 
C. Crawford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I dismissed Scrubs as just another sitcom and had no interest in watching it until, channel-hopping, I caught a Scrubs marathon on tv. Sucked in by a guest appearance by Brendan Fraser, I spent several hours veering between laughter and having tears in my eyes, and became hooked. The series reminds me a little of MASH, with its ability to mix humour with heartbreaking situations. "Newbie" doctor JD's tendency to daydream leads to some surreal moments of comedy, which only add to the series' (and the character's) charm. It amazes me how much the creators of the series manage to fit into twenty minute episodes. The comedy is actually funny and the casting is perfect, with terrific chemistry between the main cast, and all have great comedic timing. Giving the series its strong emotional base are the friendships between the main characters, particularly that of best friends JD and Turk, and JD's student/mentor relationship with big bad wolf Dr Cox is always entertaining and, at times, heartwarming. The series as a whole is a winner and season 1 is a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I take my mangement skills from Dr Cox..., 5 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I could rave on and on and on about how good this show is but you'd probably get board and be put off by the fact that such a geek watches this show. I am a geek but that does not change the fact that this show, every single episode, every single season, has to be seen! It is the funniest program I've ever seen but can still manage to stir emotions in me, leaving me feeling happy, hurt & emphatic for the characters. The writers, directors, cast & crew have pulled of the ultimate show. The ultimate comedy show - and it's American. I know! An ultimate American comedy! Who'd have thought...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughs and more, 29 Jun 2005
By 
J. Burling (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
For some unknown reason, Scrubs doesn't attract the number of viewers it should.
This is a fantastically funny show, which also imparts a message into each episode, without seeming overly pretentious or preachy. The show follows, among others, 3 interns and a nurse through their medical 'adventures' in Sacred Heart Hospital. It's more wacky (think Family Guy) than the creators previous works (Friends, Spin City.)
It should be noted that this isn't a traditionally filmed sitcom. It uses a one-camera format, and doesn't have a laughter track or live audience. This all adds to the notion that you're watching real (if slightly exaggerated) people at work.
If you're into comedy at all, this DVD would not look out of place sitting proudly in your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wahey! It still remains in glory!!!!!!, 8 April 2007
By 
Owain (Dyserth, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Scrubs. It was a dvd I chose out of millions to buy. I'd never watched it before, but I'm proud I made such a desicion. It didn't just change my mind about comedies, but it chaned my idea of life. No program is funnier than this, neither is one so heartfelt and that's why I recommend this film to every human being on the planet, whatever their taste. When I said Scrubs is the funniest show on good ol' planet earth, I truly meant it. It's filled with the most enduring characters and dialogues, i'll ever know. But mostly, each episode of Scrubs is a Fable. You learn things you've never even thought about before. May i also say that every season of scrubs up to season 4 is as special as eachother. Season 4 is however awfully dissapointing. I'm not sure about season 5 yet because I haven't watched it. So, If I was you buy all seasons of scrubs up to season 4 and then skip it if season 5 is good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD]
Scrubs : Complete Season 1 [DVD] by Zach Braff (DVD - 2005)
£13.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews