Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars77
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 21 August 2007
I presume people buying this will already know the episodes and are merely looking for a nice souvenir edition with some helpful, interesting extras. If so, you will not be disappointed. It's a great value DVD with both of the glorious episodes in full (you can watch them separately or run them together). There's a really funny directors' commentary which you can hear over episode 2 if you choose, and Gervais and Merchant use their best, weirdest blend of self-deprecating and arrogant humour to describe the process of writing and filming the specials. Love it. There's also a great interview with them again, and several of the cast, talking about the experience of making "The Office" - quite sentimental but enormously worth the money if you're a true fan of the show. Particularly fascinating are the snippets of the interview with Mackenzie Crook (Gareth) who differs most obviously from his character in the show. Really highly recommended for true fans.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 July 2004
Ricky Gervais and Steve Marchants decision to bring The Office to a conclusion after only two series with these two Christmas specials may have felt to many like a hasty one. However watching the episodes its difficult to argue with them for they bring the whole project to a satisfying ,moving and timely conclusion .After two series they clearly felt that a comedy so bound to one location and centring on the same characters so relentlessly would be hard to maintain in terms of quality and freshness. Plus having David Brent made redundant at the end of series two drove them up a comedy cul de sac. The problem was the story arc of some of the shows characters hadn't run its course so this was a nice way of tying up all the loose ends. It was a gamble but it's done with such panache and with a script that pays as much attention to the dramatic as the comedic that it pays off handsomely. These two episodes, particularly the second are superb.
David Brent is now a Rep, still spouting inane cod philosophical asides and crass bulls***, except now he does it scooting up and down Motorways. Garth has been promoted sort of and is still about as effective as wellies in quicksand. Dawn is still in America with her sexist plank of a boyfriend and Tim is still Tim. Brent is trying to cash in on the minor fame his TV exposure via The Office has given him, even to the extent of hiring an agent who with an air of weary resignation books him slots in seedy nightclubs so he can appear in excruciating "Blind Date" parodies along with Howard from The "Halifax." He has also joined a dating agency leading to a couple of acutely embarrassing encounters where his penchant for asinine effrontery goes up a notch. As ever these are wincingly funny but still make you take a sharp intake of breath.
Obviously to divulge more would be to ruin it, but the Tim and Dawn situation is resolved in a believable and poignant way while Brent finds true love or what ever passes for it in his own warped little universe in a way that isn't quite so realistic given his inherent character traits but if it makes him a better person as is implied then what the hell.
This isn't pure comedy in the manner of a "Fawlty Towers " or a "BlackAdder" but it's still very funny at times and as a miniscule peak at the internal dynamics of a work place and the disparate characters involved its terrific and wonderfully observed, aided by some superb performances of which Gervias is fantastic as ever. The acting for the conclusion of the Dawn/Tim thing is absolutely sublime. It would make a bollard weep. As endings of popular comedies go its right up there with the conclusion of" BlackAdder Goes forth" and you can't get better than that. Wonderful stuff.
0Comment|74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2007
The tide of public and media opinion may be turning against Ricky Gervais these days (his constant half-joking boasts being the main problem), but there is no denying that with The Office he produced a work of genius that will be remembered for decades to come.

I personally never hated the David Brent character and didn't quite understand 'the boss from hell' tag that he was lumbered with. I saw him as a human being who simply wanted to be loved. By everyone. He just kept making a pig's ear of it.

Anyway, the first two series of The Office were superb, but the Christmas Specials took things up a notch or two.

I'm not going to waffle on anymore (AKA talk crap, yeah?), I'm just going to urge you to buy the complete collection.

However, if you are a fan of 'My Family' or 'Two Pints Of Lager' then I suggest you refrain from buying this as the shock could kill you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2011
As others have said, this is a superb ending to a great comedy. As i said in other reviews, i'm a late-comer to the Office but i love it now. I dont even want to watch the US version because i believe that Ricky and Stephen were right to not drag this out like perhaps the American's have. Even though you would love to know what has happened to these characters now, you also know they were right to end it when they did and just let everyone imagine what the characters we love are up to now.

And this Christmas special really is very special! I particulary loved Davids rendition of "If you don't know me by now" you will laugh so much when you see him in his guyliner and lingering looks at the camera. I dont know how Ricky Gervais managed to keep a straight face when doing that!

I want to gush and tell all my favourite things that happen but i dont want to ruin it for people who havent seen it yet. It's just amazing, and you really have to watch all of the Office from the start to appreciate just how funny and amazing it is. I also really loved the extra features, the behind the scenes bit with the actors talking about their characters with real affection is just so lovely. And the laughs they have, with Martin Freeman who plays Tim not been able to keep a straight face with Ricky adding more comedy to the script is just hilarious. Love it. Get it. You will love it too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2004
This is British comedy at its best. The follow up to the two series this Christmas is one of the best around, adding more depth to the main characters (including a more sympathetic side of David Brent) and introducing great new ones. Brent is probably the best lead character in recent Sitcom history and his appearence in a club version of Blind Date is hilarious. Also look out for his wince inducing single and its cheesy video. All in all absolute quality, a great script brilliantly acted and with a moving ending. Buy it!!!!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2004
Parting is such sweet sorrow and when it's from the cast of 'The Office', this is particularly true. This DVD will leave any fan of David Brent and his staff with a firm lump in their throat but a finer ending to this splendid series could not have been imagined. Moving away from it's root in cringe-worthy situation comedy, 'The Office Christmas Specials' move into a territory still laced with embarassment and laughs but with a large measure of something else...if I try and describe it, it won't do it service. You just have to watch it.
Apart from the 'drama' (which in itself is worth it's weight in gold), the DVD has some gems for any discerning viewer wanting to see the banter and 'behind the scenes' of 'The Office' saga. The Golden Globe Awards documentary (the only British comedy EVER to win a Golden Globe award) is very touching. The best thing that comes out of these documentaries is what a good time they had. What with the full version of David Brent's failed single (a cover of 'If you don't know me by now'), Ricky Gervais' complete band version of 'Freelove Freeway' and more, you won't be disappointed. The warmth that comes from 'The Office' cast will leave you glowing and Ricky Gervais' unique, manic enjoyment of having a laugh and make others laugh is undoubtably the highlight of this DVD. Buy it. Show it to your kids and then give it to them to show to their kids.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2007
These "Christmas Specials" are two 45 minute episodes which bring the excellent "The Office" series to a fitting and poignant close. Several years after the second series and David Brent is a sales rep of janitorial supplies by day and a very minor entertainer by night doing mostly PA work at local nightclubs. However he still manages to spend much of his time visiting his old colleagues at Wernham Hogg who are in the midst of preparing for their annual Christmas party. Also ,Dawn returns from America especially for the party; will she finally fall into the arms of Tim ? These two episodes are well up to standard and conclude this series perfectly and it is good to see the writers and the TV company end a successful series like "The Office" in this way, resisting the temptation to drag it out for the sake of ratings until all the warmth and humour go out of it and the characters become mere caricatures of themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
Gervais and Merchant have engineered an observational comedy drama of such cutting edge immediacy that every post effort will be incontravertibly hauled alongside it for comparable analysis.....A gross error because nothing can ever hold against their debut offering....As performing artists and writer/producers etc etc then this is a genuine masterwork of gut churning magnitude....Proud indeed they can be,BAFTA notwithstanding,having full knowledge that they have created,for posterity,a body of work unsurpassed in intellect and wit....The pure tragedy of the workplace scrutinised for its cancerous futility........"In The Thick Of It",is a truly first class example of standing on the shoulders of giants.....like I stated at the outset originality is truly tough on everyone including the creators......Savage hilarity.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2005
These final episodes of The Office were the perfect end to the story. They wrapped everything up neatly, showed more insight into the major characters, and left a warm feeling at the end.
Funny, touching... perfect!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
Bought for a present for an ex-girlfriend of mine so I can tell you if it was any good because we split up shortly afterwards. Probably think it wasn't due to her terrible sense of humour.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)