Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic comedy and great DVD edition
I presume people buying this will already know the episodes and are merely looking for a nice souvenir edition with some helpful, interesting extras. If so, you will not be disappointed. It's a great value DVD with both of the glorious episodes in full (you can watch them separately or run them together). There's a really funny directors' commentary which you can hear...
Published on 21 Aug. 2007 by M. L. York

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a present.
Bought for a present for an ex-girlfriend of mine so I can tell you if it was any good because we split up shortly afterwards. Probably think it wasn't due to her terrible sense of humour.
Published 8 months ago by x wing flyboy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely superb, 26 Oct. 2004
By 
Steve Morris (Hove, Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Office - The Christmas Specials [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
The only reason I gave this five stars is because I cannot give it any more! Stands on its own as a piece of comedy in the last decade as being a classic that will be enjoyed by generations to come. I just hope that Ricky sticks to his guns and does no more - I would hate this to go the same way as Fools and Horses. I was initially worried because I loved the end to series 2, but the closure to this series is now superb! Watch and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Brilliance, 17 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office - The Christmas Specials [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
These two episodes were absolutly fantastic. They bring together the whole story of the two series in a simple, yet so effective way. Even though they are the last two episodes fo the comedy, they still have all the laughs, and all the seriousnes of the series. Buy these two episodes and you will not be dissapointed. They are especially worth it if you already own the two series. These episodes do not ruin the story line, unlike other final episodes. Truely amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Office, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office - The Christmas Specials [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Can't remember buying this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brought a genuine tear to my eye, 11 Jan. 2005
By 
Ms. C. J. Malcolmson "rinibop" (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Office - The Christmas Specials [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
The Office Christmas Special was undoubtedly the highlight of TV 2003 - and what a fitting end to a fantastic series.
Returning to Wernham Hogg 2 years later to find Gareth the boss, poor Tim right where we left him and a few additions to the office.
I was wondering where they would go with the first episode, but the second wrapped it up very nicely. I have just received this DVD through and have gone back and watched those two excellent scenes about 6 times. Like Tim said, no one expected a happy ending, but we were left with two.
The cracking scene where Brent finally gets serious nearly had me cheering out loud, but the absolute highlight had to be the exquisitely beautiful scene where Dawn comes back to the office having received her secret santa present. I cried buckets and I'm not afraid to admit it. If anyone follwed the office and failed to be truly touched by that scene - you must be made of stone.
An excellent end to one of the best British comedies of recent times - five stars without a doubt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitive entertainment rarely experienced, 25 Dec. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office - The Christmas Specials [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the most important aspects of Anglo-Saxon culture is the role that pathos plays. When we refer to someone or something as being pathetic we mean that they are eliciting very deep emotional feelings in us, feelings that all too often refer to ourselves. It is never humour as it transgresses this.
Chaplin used it extensively. Children may laugh at the antics even today but there is this far deeper meaning behind the little man. Tony Hancock had it too in large amounts. Barry Humphries used to have it. Judge the way Australians would squirm when watching him at work.
Ricky Gervais has it in spades. To watch the Office series and especially the follow-up Christmas Specials, is to feel a sense of hurt, membarrassment, affection and even gratitude that we are not physically present when the events unfold.
Entertainment of this quality is rare and should be taken in small doses.
The Office Christmas Special is sheer genious. The entire cast is perfect, the screen play magic, the direction perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 6 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Office - The Christmas Specials [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
This really was the ending we all hoped for.
The series itself is of course magic of a very special kind and I had doubts about whether the Xmas specials would sort everything out in a believable way.
The fact that all of us yearn for another series is testimony to the enduring appeal and the perfect scripting of this series.
Well done to the cast and crew of The Office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!!, 3 Nov. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office - The Christmas Specials [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
A perfect finish to a wonderful series - one of the best of the last few years, it makes you cringe, laugh and cry, when it's over you think "let's have some more", but all good things must come to an end!
Thanks David, you certainly put a smile on my face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classics must watch, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classics must watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Office - The Christmas Specials [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Not my cup of tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Office Christmas special.. TV's finest hour bar none, 23 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Office - The Christmas Specials [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Well October is the release for British Televisions finest hour
It seems like yesterday that I sat down on Boxing day night to see the first of the two episodes
What can I say it was suitably laid back and many would have found it a little depressing and in some ways disapointing.
For me that was the whole point.
It just made the second one so much better.
Many people will obvisously have their favourite bit.
David's blind date at the pub
David waiting outside when the fat girl arrives
David finally swearing at Finchy
all priceless
But the absolute earth shatering moments were
When Dawn opened the secret Sanata in the taxi and read the words
"Never Give Up" and you thought that was that
Then with no build up and to catch the viewer completely unaware.. To have Dawn walk back into the party, come slowly up behind Tim and just stop and wait for him to turn round and then just smile at him.
They absolutely nailed it.
I doubt if there was a dry eye in the house at the moment.
So Christmas TV was saved that night
If ever I bump into Mr Gervais and Mr Merchant I must remember to thank them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Office - The Christmas Specials [2001] [DVD]
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews