Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly fun
We bought this as an afterthrought because it was relatively cheap, but our 3 year old has spent hours running the trains past it to make it ding. Excellent value!
Published on 27 Jan. 2006 by Silver Darling

versus
50 of 63 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very dissappointing - only rings with brio trains/trucks
We were very disapointed with this item - the bell ring is VERY quiet and the magnetic ringer only works with brio trucks that have large metal hubs on the wheels. If, like us, you have a hybrid set of Tesco/Thomas/Brio etc. you may find some problems with getting the bell to ring at all.

It's a good idea but just doesn't work well in practice.

we...
Published on 21 Jan. 2007 by D. Chalmers


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly fun, 27 Jan. 2006
By 
Silver Darling (Anstruther, SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BRIO Rail Magnetic Bell Signal (Toy)
We bought this as an afterthrought because it was relatively cheap, but our 3 year old has spent hours running the trains past it to make it ding. Excellent value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What you need to know!, 16 Jun. 2010
By 
S. Nicholas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BRIO Rail Magnetic Bell Signal (Toy)
An excellent addition to a train set. Although other reviews state that you can only use it with a Brio set this is not entirely true. I bought this for my 2 year old grandson who has Big Jigs battery powered trains. Although the bell does not work when just a train goes past, by attaching any Brio carriage to the train, it works very well. There are several Brio carriages that are interesting additions to the train set (my favorites are the revolving cement mixer and the swaying coal wagon!)and are compatable with makes such as Big Jigs.BRIO 33754 Wooden Railway System: Magnetic Bell Signal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 63 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very dissappointing - only rings with brio trains/trucks, 21 Jan. 2007
By 
D. Chalmers "Dave online" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BRIO Rail Magnetic Bell Signal (Toy)
We were very disapointed with this item - the bell ring is VERY quiet and the magnetic ringer only works with brio trucks that have large metal hubs on the wheels. If, like us, you have a hybrid set of Tesco/Thomas/Brio etc. you may find some problems with getting the bell to ring at all.

It's a good idea but just doesn't work well in practice.

we recommend a level crossing or collapsing bridge instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 9 Nov. 2014
By 
This review is from: BRIO Rail Magnetic Bell Signal (Toy)
This was a cheap(ish) afterthought for our son's wooden train set which is a mixture of Thomas, BigJigs, John Lewis, Brio, and random bits off Amazon. It's a nice little addition - not that loud, but still loud enough that he calls "ding, ding!" in imitation when the train goes past it. And it doesn't take up a ton of room or money like some other train set accessories.

Some people have noted that it only works with trains/carriages that have the metal wheel hubs. This is true, however a surprising number of trains do have these, including quite a few of the cheap generic brands. In our son's set, it works with everything except his Thomas pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cheaper in the shops, 20 Nov. 2009
By 
E. Feldon "brio fan" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BRIO Rail Magnetic Bell Signal (Toy)
This is an execellent toy for the BRIO set. But very overpriced online, we bought it from our local toy shop for a third of the price!! I would also recommend that you stick with BRIO, we find it so much better quality that the Thomas version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brio magnetic bell signal, 30 Dec. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO Rail Magnetic Bell Signal (Toy)
Very impressed... ideal to join up with other items of my grandson's Brio railway... bell is not too noisy either... great stuff...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batteries not included (required), 28 May 2012
By 
Y. Wong "gershwin77" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO Rail Magnetic Bell Signal (Toy)
I've bought quite a few BRIO sets for my son, this has been a surprising addition.
Most other items that add interest require batteries - the complete BRIO set has chewed through quite a lot, mainly from the engines. This little item doesn't cost that much (compared to other BRIO accessories) but is a great little addition, particularly if you can run a longer train (3+ carriages). The bell is loud enough for me, I can only imagine the bell is hard to hear (as reported in other reviews) if you generally have high back ground noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Instant Hit!, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO Rail Magnetic Bell Signal (Toy)
The Brio Rail Magnetic Bell Signal was an instant hit with my 2 year 10 month old nephew and he wanted to play with the train tracks straight away. He and his 4 year old brother loved it and have continued to play with it. It is good quality and the bell rings when the Brio battery operated and manual trains go past it. The bell has a good level of sound. A successful addition to the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 7 Dec. 2009
By 
Dr. D. E. Goldwater "dodiceleedoo" (Bushey, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO Rail Magnetic Bell Signal (Toy)
Hard wearing. Reassuringly well built. a lovely ping a a train passes

Up to Brio's usual fantastic standards

Just what we wanted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little addition, 28 Nov. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BRIO Rail Magnetic Bell Signal (Toy)
Bought this cheaper from ELC, which is quite a surprise! However, it's a tad disappointing. Yes it does go 'ding' when trains pass by, but the 'ding' is more of a tinkling, it's quite quiet to the point when I wondered if it was actually working. Nice little piece but a bit of a let down; however, my two little ones, 1 and 3 years old, seem to enjoy it so that's all that really matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BRIO Rail Magnetic Bell Signal
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews