Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, fast, frenzied
As big fans of the first two in the series, my son & I rushed to buy Ratchet & Clank 3 as soon as it came out. The basic premise is the same, but it's bigger and better than ever. Large free-roaming levels, weird and varied (but not scary) monsters, ridiculous weaponry, intriguing mini-games - it's all there. This is the 'family friendly, platform, third person...
Published on 15 Nov. 2004 by Mr. S. Poore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars However the disc is VERY difficult for the PS2 to read it reads many other games just fine but it can take up to 20 attempts bef
Arrived on time, However the disc is VERY difficult for the PS2 to read it reads many other games just fine but it can take up to 20 attempts before it will read this disc.
Published 2 months ago by David Tattersall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, fast, frenzied, 15 Nov. 2004
By 
Mr. S. Poore (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
As big fans of the first two in the series, my son & I rushed to buy Ratchet & Clank 3 as soon as it came out. The basic premise is the same, but it's bigger and better than ever. Large free-roaming levels, weird and varied (but not scary) monsters, ridiculous weaponry, intriguing mini-games - it's all there. This is the 'family friendly, platform, third person shooter' genre at its very best.
The story line is not too taxing, and *all* the characters from the first two games are back. The cut scenes and in-game dialogue (such as the tannoy announcements when back at 'base') are laugh-out-loud funny.
Each level (planet) is just the right pitch. Not 'walk right through' easy and not 'stuck for hours' hard. Of course, when you get the powerful guns, the early levels appear easy - but this is great for building up experience points on your different weapons which may be needed later on at a hard planet.
The game has a *huge* life-span as you return to the many planets trying to collect trophies, hard to find titanium bolts and skill points. Earn enough and unlock 'cheats' enabling you to play in different costumes or with different weapons.
Don't throw away the old games either, as saved game entries on your memory card can be used to obtain discounts from the vendor or unlock weapons from the previous games.
The game is also multi-tap and network adapter enabled. Our disk also contained a demo of Sly Racoon 2 (press all four shoulder buttons at start-up).
My son & I spent most of the weekend fighting over whose turn it was to play. I've stayed up late trying to beat him to the end - it's been a long time since I've got that involved in a game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 23 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game rocks! Having played the previous R&C games and being totally addicted to their cartoony, tongue in cheek graphics and the genuinely funny cut scenes, I couldn't wait to buy it.
The game doesn't mess with the formula of the other games, which is definitely a good thing, who cares about originality when you have such an excellent basis for a game?
The graphics are top notch, with bright colourful scenery, well rendered characters, and smooth cut scenes...
My fave bits are the new weapons, I'd recommend the disc-gun and the agents of doom, nothing better than blasting unaware enemies into oblivion with your own army of cutesy but deadly robot assasins. The secret costumes you can unlock are cool too, I love playing as James Bond Ratchet, though having to find 6 titanium bolts for each costume is a bit of a bummer!
The storyline is good fun, with the inimitable Captain Quark, and his one eyed monkey sidekick providing plenty of laughs, as well as Dr Nefarious and Lawrence hamming it up on the evil side.
The only downside to the game is that I finished the missions very quickly, the only bits that gave me any trouble were the boss fights, and some occassionally tricky platform jumping. But with the multi-player mode and the chance to go back and get more trophies and bolts, I'll be playing it for a while longer.
I'd recommend this to any gamer who likes quirky humour combined with quick fire shoot em up action and some fighter pilot missions. I think older kids would get most out of this, as it requires quick reflexes, and some brainpower to work out the best strategies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different ins't the same as bad..., 4 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Long term fans of the series will be a little disappointed by this game. At first. But then they will love it as much as the other games.
There are slightly less weapons. You may think thats rubbish, but it's a brillient idea! No more useless weapons! Only the good ones. (You'll know what i'm talking about when I say no hoverball gun...). There are a few features missing from this game. The popular grind boots, space fights and even the Hover-races! (They were cut because of time shortages). But one addition is the battle field levels. Wide open spaces with more then one way do complete the challenge! There are two veichles you can use- The Turboslider (a fast car with a cannon, which will NEVER fall over) and the hovership (it's like a plane and a helicopter mixed together- I prefer the old plane fights meself!). And the cool retro style Quark Vid-comics (2D mini games that contain secrets about the plot).
Also, you'll want to play it again and again! Theres so much to unlock! Mini-games, funny cheats and the secret 'Insomniac Museam' Level, with un-included enemies, levels and all sorts! You may have been expecting more from this game. Then there's always multiplayer to make up for it!
There are 10 levels to choose from, from all three of the games. There is a mode where you have to capture all the spawn points, a death match mode, and a mode where you have to get the enemy base. This can be done locally, or online.
All in all, the story mode is better (but a TINY bit dissapointing... this can be expected, as they made this in a year and had to sort out multiplayer) and the multiplayer is unlike any other game! Nice one, Insomniac Games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Day One: Bring it on..., 12 Nov. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
ThankYOU Amazon for delivering this Soooooo quick...after 3 hours on it I have to say - Insomnia games, you've cracked it again. What a terrific threquel.
So far the game is faster, funnier and wackier than ever...yet has all the essentials which make this such a cool game: Jokes, Captain Quark, Skins, Ship Mods, devilishly devious Skill points, AI enemies which are actually pretty Intelligent, Titanium Bolts, New Weapons and Upgrades, Arena-style challenges and way more stuff I need to find out yet...
Best bit so far? The Virtual Reality weapons tester - now try before you buy!!!
Short review? Sorry got another world to visit...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST PLATFORMER ON THE MARKET, 19 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Gameplay-9/10
Both Ratchet and Clank are playable characters (giant clank is also available for one mission(for those of you who don't know him think king kong crossed with a robot)), ratchet being the predominant character goes through the usual shoot 'em up style of level and clank's levels are more puzzle-based where you have to think through some not too taxing problems using a gun that fires bananas(buy the game to find out more). About 20 different weapons are available to purchase each bearing severely different characteristics, for example the quack-o-matic turns enemies into ducks whereas the plasma whip slices through your enemies like butter, each of the weapons begin at level 1 and upgrade as they are used, when they reach level 5 they transform into a different, more powerful weapon which entices players to use all of their weapons to raise their abilities.
Lifespan-7/10
Not much replay value, however plenty of side-quests and unlockable costumes might help the in-depth gamer to squeeze a few more hours of gameplay out of it. Obviously if you have a network adapter then the online mode can offer many more hours of multiplayer gameplay with up to 8 players, however a non-online multiplayer is offered with up to 4 players(with a multitap) being able to play in Deathmatch, Siege and Capture the flag modes.
Graphics and design-9/10
For a platformer these are brilliant, a variety of colourful interactive backgrounds are used to excellent effect throughout the game. The cartoon style graphics are utilized very well both in-game and during the cut-scenes. The characters are innovatively designed along with all the weapons and gadgets.
Overall
Insomniac have truly made a classic here, for once(bar Jak & Daxter) a challenging platformer that can be enjoyed by people of all ages. Tons of enemies, tons of big guns and tons of weird and wonderful environments make this a brilliant game. The combination of puzzle, platform and shoot 'em up gameplay creates a memorable experience and has been very well generated by Insomniac. Even if you've never played a R&C game before you will find this game instantly playable and fun. BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ratchet and clank rules!!, 19 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
What can I say? This is truely the best platformer game out right now. Both the gameplay and comical sides of it are truely great. Although you cant realy compair it to the other games (r&c 1+2) due to differnt gameplay, I would say that this is second best so far out of the 3. You dont need to have blood and gore in a game to make it good, ratchet and clank uses just plain, addictive clean gameplay. I would recomend it to people aged 11 and up as some parts can be quite tricky. And thats coming from a 14 year old that has mastered 7th guest, toonstruck, little big aventure and grim fandango, some of the hardest puzzle games ever. Overall I would recomend this to everyone. The only bit that puts it down is its small gameplay time. This may sound like I am going against what I just said about being a hard game, but the story line is short, the extras are the bit that put on the time (there is a chalange mode; once you have compleated the game everything is harder, extra weapons etc oh and theres trophys and bolts to colect...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great galactic smash, 25 Jun. 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
The 3rd release in the series brings another galactic saving mission for the pair of superheroes as they battle a swarm of Tyrranoids that threaten to over haul the galaxy in the hands of Dr Nefarious and his butler.

Ratchet and Clank must first rescue Captain Qwark from himself and soon the President gathers all superheroes to form a team to battle the evil natures of the world.

I have followed the Ratchet and Clank games in order and this being the third I have been playing it very frequently and enjoying it as much as the others.

Following the same styling as previous games this sees first role playing mode combining the great features of changing upgradable weapons to make an action soaked adrenaline game that will easily have anyone of any age hooked.

I'll mention now the few bad points to get them out the way. First the weapon selection is certainly the worst I've come across, its as if you can't find the right weapon for the right moment. Whilst its initially funny, the "Infector" weapon can barely be used considering the amount of heavy battles Ratchet goes through. The rubbish lava gun from the previous release I have never even used and the holo gun shield I really hoped would save the character's skin, but it disappears after mere hits.
A slight annoyance is the fact you have to keep going back to the Starship Phoenix and the layout of the menu for missions tells you what to do next, eliminating a certain amount of freedom.

However be prepared to see the best weapon in the world. Scratch that, in all of galaxy and in all of time. The "Rift conductor" sends a sharp shot and sucks enemies into another dimension, eliminating 90% of them instantly! When I first used this weapon I thought it was the coolest thing to ever come out of these games! As the game carries on you become more accustomed to the weapons and I've just reached a stage where the "Qwackonator" has become available, hopefully reminiscent of the black sheepinator!

Again R and C expands brilliantly on previous releases by adapting stronger graphics, funnier stories and more difficult challenges.
One of the hippest features in the Captain Qwark video games where in 2D Mario game style you play as Qwark, collecting tokens and navigating a series of death defying challenges as the good captain would say.

The battle arenas have improved with seemingly endless challenges that are great to do for upgrading weapons (all of which have 5 stages). As usual there are items to collect in titanium bolts, skill points and trophies.

Whilst I've enjoyed all games this is an improvement story wise on number 2 and there is certainly a lot more to do here than 1 and 2.
This is another great game and if a fan of any other R and C game I certainly recommend it to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goos game, 7 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
2004 is definitely the year of sequels - Halo 2, GTA San Andreas, Burnout 3, OutRun 2 and now Ratchet and Clank 3.
Rather than resting on their laurels and rehashing its predecessor, Insomniac Games have developed the sucessful title into a fantastic multiplayer adventure.
With Deathmatch, Capture The Flag and Siege modes, Ratchet and Clank 3 is now a cartoon version of Unreal Tournament that will have you battling it out with your online buddies until the early hours.
The single player mode is better too. The game is more of a shoot'em up than a platformer now, with a host of weapons from The Infector and Plasma Whip to the Refractor and Rift Inducer.
Clank plays a much more important role this time around, with ten maps to roam around and graphics and sound are both top notch.
Ratchet and Clank is one of the very few games that transcends the generation gap. Whether you're six years old or 60, you'll find this fun, particularly the online modes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ratchet and Clank 3 PS2, 21 Aug. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Excellent game, lots of fun and a great addition to the series. Improved on Ratchet and Clank 2 which was already amazing. Good storyline and very good graphics. Online play is a fun new feature which works really well. Game play is good with numerous weapons and gadgets, and a more open, less linear environment at times improves gameplay as a whole, giving you more freedom. As usual, there is good humour throughout, and environment changes as well make the game more interesting and diverse.
This game is more of a challenge than the others, but this is a good thing, since you no longer feel that everything is too easy, and that adds to the addictiveness of it. I like the way that you sometimes work alongside other good guys, making it feel like more of a battlefield with lots going on, and that you're not just on your own. The ability to upgrade weapons encourages you to use everything in your arsenal to blow up bad guys, and generally wreak havoc on anything in your path.
Overall this game improves on the last (which was amazing) dramatically, introducing many new features, scenarios, environments and weapons, making this game definitely worthy of a place in the Ratchet and Clank series, and I would definitely recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cashit and Bank 3, 18 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
The 3rd installment of the R&C series see nothing dramatically different from previous versions. There are a few tweaks here and there, but otherwise the gameplay, graphics and sound are pretty identical to the other 2. Not that that's a bad thing though, as R&C games are about as good as free-roaming platforming gets...
There's a few new weapons, some old favorites, all the characters and plenty to unlock and secrets to find. The learning curve is gentle at first but gets pretty steep in the latter levels where some frustration may creep in. Overall, it's more of the same with some minor improvements (such as the weapons select function) and plenty of humour - and it will take you hours and hours if you want to find everything. But while it feels good to be back in control of R&C again, this game is missing something....some originality, or variety....there doesn't seem to be as much variety in the mission types as before, and, though I may be wrong, I get the 'feeling' that there aren't as many levels or worlds as in the previous games.
If you've played the first two then you'll be on very familiar ground here and will no doubt enjoy it. If you've not played an R&C game before, check out the other two and possibly get one of the older games at a lower price - they're just as good as this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2)
Ratchet & Clank 3 (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
£28.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews