Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, brilliant, fantastic...
Halo must be the best game I've ever played on a console. Grafics are amazing. The very different outdoor sceneries are huge, beautiful and detailed. You never get bored running around in the snow or jungle, while messing up the enemies with the great selection of weapon you have. But then on the other hand there simply must be a catch with something so great like this...
Published on 30 Dec. 2004 by king_playboy

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bang bang shoot shoot!
I've been doing a bit of retro gaming recently, having purchased both an old Gamecube and an old Xbox console. The last consoles I owned were the PS1 and the Sega Megadrive both about 15 years ago. Since then I have been an occasional PC gamer and Thief addict.

Halo is a good fun if a little repetitive shooter which doesn't really get going until the Flood...
Published on 28 Dec. 2009 by Dyspeptic Spirit


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dont believe the hype!!, 2 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Halo - Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
Why this is known as one of the best FPS around is a mystery! The levels are few and unoriginal. 80% of the game sees you walking through linear indoor areas. Many of the levels follow the same theme; walk into a room, destroy anything that moves, then move to the next (identical) room and do the same. The monotony is briefly split up in the few outdoor areas. Vehicles can be driven but there is very little to do with them, and have to be abandoned shortly after aquiring. There is absolutely no freedom at all, which makes it pointless to replay, as every level will be exactly the same every time. Levels such as the Library are tedious and repetitve (you battle your way through the same area for around 40mins). Many of the enimies such as the flood can be ignored as they do very little to damage you. There are also very few weapons and vehicles available.
To its credit though the health system is a good addition to the genre, but its nothing groundbreaking. save points are also well placed, just when your on the verge of death.
I have not played the multiplayer so i cant comment, however the single player game is a huge let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Controversial review of the day, 9 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Halo - Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
I just wanna say that Master Cheif as a character is bland and green, the levels look bland and green, indeed the xbox itself is big bland and green (in terms of asthetic appeal). In one-player the game is pretty boring, its boring to walk along the sparse levels and the coridors all look the same.
In its favour it Halo totally rules in 2 player; awesome in versus and double awesome in co-operative mode. If you have a friend you can give Halo 5 stars if you are lonely then just 2.
What is the true value of friendship? 3 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but slow, 6 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Halo (Xbox) (Video Game)
After hearing such rave reviews I 'borrowed' my brothers X-box and copy of Halo and had a play. Overall the game play is very good with the opening sequence allowing you to get used to the controls and ablilities of your character. Once into the game proper the shear size of the game playing area is quite amazing with spectacular scenary and AI combat.
Now come the bad points, overall I found the gameplay rather slow, after playing some quick first person shooters the glacial pace at which your character runs is painful and agonizing as you traverse from one point to the other.
The weapons while they are good, with a spread of 10 weapons but the ability to carry only 2 plus limited grenades makes good tactics. However the ages it takes to drop one weapon and pick up another is painful and makes for very boring multiplay where the good weapons are ambush points as you stand still and make a good target for the enemy - likewise in the game. The grenades and the ability to throw at the same time as holding a weapon is a very good and innovative idea leading to interesting multiplayer games governed by grenade throwing as well as weapon fire. An idea that I hope to see continued in the future on other games. The controls can take some getting used to with the design of the X-box controller not helping in this, finding the correct buttons in the middle of a fire fight tends to be a touch of luck. In first person shooting mode they do work up to a point, it is however the really aggravating vehicle controls which make the game very frustrating and even with some practice I found controlling the hog especially to be a chore.
To sum it all up the graphics and the AI make this a game worth playing as long as you have very big hands and the patience for a first person shooter which seems to proceeds at the pace of a dead snail. Engaging but too too slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Halo, 1 Jun. 2006
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo - Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
Halo is not as good as everyone says it is. To star with, the scenery in missions is sooooooooo repetetive! I actually had a mental map of the place after one mission and the worst thing was, it wasn't meant to be the same place. Yes, the game has creativity with all the different weapons and the storyline and the graphics aren't bad, but it is no better than any other game. Infact, i enjoyed Starwars Republic Commander more than this game. I think it is a waste of money bought new; buy it preowned or not at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Halo not as good as the hype?, 29 Oct. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo (Xbox) (Video Game)
When I bought this game I certainly expected it to be at least as good as Return to Castle Wolfenstein given the general hype, other reviews etc. However, I have found it to be tedious in the extreme in places - how many times do you find yourself walking through the same scenery? The answer is time and time again - its like being in a constant state of deja vue and displays a real lack of creativity and imagination on the part of the designers - if you've played Return to Castle Wolfenstein recently, the repetative nature of Halo may dissapoint you-I'm selling my copy as it doesnt interest me enough to play again, but I'm keeping Wolfenstein! Am I also the only person who thinks that when walking up slopes the character seems to be about 2 feet tall or walking on his knees???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great game and a must buy for xbox owners, 26 Mar. 2007
By 
J. R. Skinner "skinner" (medway in englend) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo - Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
if u have an xbox and de only games u get r the ones ya parents buy for ya and u havent got this game then beg ya parents to buy this game u will not be disappointed on game play, weapons, vehicles, characters, enemies etc the game is great u shud buy it even if you dont like fps u will fall in love wit it on the first level and even when u complete it u will keep playin it to see if u can get better at the levels and use ur weapons in better ways to save bullets the. u have lots of levels to do either in multiplayeror co-op all the levels the multiplayer levels are gd but it is much more fun teamin up wit a mate and kickin some alien but together. vehicles r great ya have a selction of great alien and human transport e.g alien is the ghost, wraith tank, banshee, human the awesome tank, the indestructable buggy that u cant break even when you jump off a cliff, it can only be destroyed by a weapon of some sort, the weapons are awesome and u also have a selection of alien and human weapons the human election is an assault rifle e.g ya main weapon, pistol, sniper rifle, rocket launcher so much fun, grenades, shotgun is awaesome agains any enemy, you can also hit the enemy wit any weapon u have got in ya hand and it ususlly takes one hit if u are facing the lil grunts but the elites and the other enemy i will let u find it out i will let u find out the alien selection i cant remmeber the names but you have a lil pusle weapon that shoots green bullets like a lil pistol, a gun that shoots blue bullets but a pulse thing aswell, a needler they have lil pink bullets that follow ya, alien sniper rifle which is in a way betetr than the human one, alien grenades and they stick to things e.g the enemy and so funny watchin them runnin around sayin get it off arghhhhhh hahaha, or they say there here arghhhhh, theres more hahaha,

if you havent got this game or you dont think u will like it trust me everyone i know loves it and ya wont get bored a must buy for xbox owners and when u have completed it you must buy halo 2 it is another awesome game and ya get new levels woop when u buy the game u will not be disapponted and if u r then u r not a true gamer cos its the best game on the xbox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Run of the Mill FPS, 14 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Halo (Xbox) (Video Game)
Halo is not worth all the hype it has recived, sure it graphicaly one of the best games I've ever seen but game play is often irritating at best, the levels are huge but you are often left standing wondering what to do. With no features gamers haven't seen before, it covers no new ground the use of controlable craft was seen it red faction and controling the craft is unresonsive and a pain in the Ass. Worth geting if you've just bought an X-box but I wouldn't bother buying one for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Halo, 1 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Halo - Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
Halo is one of the best game i have ever played, however i think the multiplayer could be better. if you are planning to buy this only buy it if you are prepared to have a short game and bad multiplayer. There that is a reveiw that will help you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wish it lived upto the hype!!, 8 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Halo (Xbox) (Video Game)
Im going to start by stating that HALO: Combat Evolved, is a fantastic game, however it has a few flaws, which for me as a gamer slightly ruined my experience.
The graphics are stunning, and there is no faulting them, some scenes really have the WOW factor. On comparing with say Star Wars on the Gamecube, i would say that they are rougly the same, however Halo has so much more variety of terrain which gives it the edge.
The story is pretty good, i wont give out any spoilers, but there are a few suprises along the way, and the story itself is very well thought out, however the main aim still is to save the world, its is only how you do that which makes Halo different.
The gameplay is good, however this is where i faulted the game, there arew loads of points where i would randomly go the wrong way, and i would find myself miles back before i realised, then i would be lost, plus a lot of rooms look alike so determaining where you have and havnt been is a chore somtimes. I especially like the weapons however, each has different characteristics which makes choosing one difficult. I didnt like the fact that there was no deathmatch mode unless you have mates round, i would have liked to see computer opponents, this is really why i took two stars away as this was a main reason for buying the game for me.
Overall the game is worth playing for definate, however i dont have a feel to play it now after completing it once, so no replay. But a good game nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Radz Review, 7 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Halo - Classics (Xbox) (Video Game)
I played this game people saying this was the best fps game ever, and i have to say WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT. These games are ten to the penny and i found nothing different with this one, apart from the fact you can get in a few cars and tanks here an there, and the talk about intelligent enemies is total balls. I found the levels big which made the characters seem slow, and the baddies seemed all the same apart from the midgets so why all this hype i dont know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 24 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo - Classics (Xbox)
Halo - Classics (Xbox) by Microsoft (Xbox)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews