Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic range of songs showcasing a great singer
Feist's own compositions belogn firmly in the kooky/indie songwriters camp. her vocals, on the other hand, belong in the classic jazz/pop camp. Imagine a place somewhere between The Cardigans and Norah Jones and you'll be close to how she sounds. Musically it's all kept quite simple with guitar and inventive percussion staying playfully in the background. Producer Chilly...
Published on 12 Jun 2004 by Matt Sephton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So, So
I bought this because I really liked her Album The Reminder but this isn't as good in my opinion. Mushaboom is the stand out track the rest slip by without grabbing my attention
Published on 10 Oct 2012 by astockwelluk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic range of songs showcasing a great singer, 12 Jun 2004
By 
Matt Sephton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
Feist's own compositions belogn firmly in the kooky/indie songwriters camp. her vocals, on the other hand, belong in the classic jazz/pop camp. Imagine a place somewhere between The Cardigans and Norah Jones and you'll be close to how she sounds. Musically it's all kept quite simple with guitar and inventive percussion staying playfully in the background. Producer Chilly Gonzales has done a wonderful job here, though he could have been a lot more heavy handed considering his own material.
So, whilst the standout track is Feist's own, glorious "Mushaboom" the second half of the album consists of some excellent covers. She makes each and every one of them her own, from The Bee Gees "(Love You) Inside and Out", through Ron Sexsmith's "Secret Heart" to old Vocal Jazz standard "Now at Last" not to mention the others.
Whether or not this release is a commercial success, it is already a resounding success that it can be released in today's unsure musical industry. Simply fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting hybrid of old genres, 17 Aug 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
I bought this after reading a good review in a rock mag, and an amazon review that stated that she sounded a bit like PJ Harvey. Feist sounds nothing like PJH to me (her voice is too pretty), and NOTHING like Norah Jones, but the album was not disappointing. Her voice is soft, stunning; a french-ballad voice over a funky 70's vibe on some songs. She does sound like a heavier Keren Ann,(another female french crossover) or a lighter Eva Cassidy. 'One Evening' and 'Inside and Out' sounds VERY Bee Gee-ish, but are captivating. This album also has very 60's sounds; organs, snapping fingers... There are a few french songs; some are ballads, some are swingy numbers. This album is so eclectic. It might not suit everyone. Let's say I was extremely, but pleasantly surprised. If you hate 70's/disco/folk/ballad... don't buy this. If you love female singer-songwriters with talent, buy it. This album is very catchy and well written. It deserves to be heard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MAGICAL, 16 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
I bought this album off the back of reading some amazing reviews and was not dissappointed. It is absolutely beautiful. A little bit of magic. Favourite tracks are Mushaboom, One Evening, Secret Heart and Inside and Out. Feist has a voice that is like honey and the more I have listened to the album, the more it has grown on me. I have never written a review for any album I have bought before from amazon but Let It Die compelled me to spread the word!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still fantastic in 2005, 18 Feb 2005
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
I felt compelled to writing this review as it is such a great album. I am not often given to awarding 5 stars as so many reviews are done in haste and use the 5 stars to vindicate the purchaser rather than reflect the strength of the recording.
I discovered this last year when on holiday and it has been a constant since then, and it came into its' own when we were in Paris towards the end of the year where the album was recorded and it just fit so well and captured our hearts. There are definitely several sides to the album: laid back; 70's groove; french chanson all combining to make it varied and interesting. It is leftfield enough in a Beth Orton way to be cool but not edgy in a PJ Harvey way to be uncomfortable and the Bee Gees cover is superb. Personal favourite is Mushaboom which is sublime. Her voice is great and choice of songs serve to give it longevity
She is touring soon and I recommend trying to catch her live, or at least doing yourself a favour and buying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be seduced..., 25 Feb 2008
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
My first experience of Leslie Feist was the excellent 7/4 Shoreline with the Broken Social Scene collective - a storming avant-garde Canadian new wave classic. So this album was a surprise. Everyone has seen the classic Ipod commercial however that quality of all of the tracks here was astounding. It's obviously her beautiful voice which is most captivating - it is as pure and smooth as cream and it makes even the most mellow 'close-up' Brazilian samba crooner sound raw. It is soothing and serene and is truly beguiling. It is simply beautiful. The obvious hit is her reworking of Inside and Out - the minor hit for the Bee Gees - and she brings out the sheer quality of the songwriting. And she does the same for her own material which is always interesting, moving and lyrical.

She is not only the voice of the new music scene in Canada she is one of the most compelling vocalists in the world today. In a world of cod soul singers and R&B divas she is a true gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Saddest Part Is That It Ends, 28 April 2006
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
Canada has churned out some great talent over the years Joni Mitchell,Alanis Morissette,Esthero,Nelly Furtado,Glenn Lewis & Deborah Cox to name a few. Feist is my lastest discovery after hearing the title track on a CD i found i loved the womans voice and it took me well over 2 months to track down who this she was. "Let It Die" is a very introvertive and delicate album that has an enchanting and alluring charm to it that makes you feel calm and at ease.

1.Gatekeeper - This like many other songs it's very short the song itself has a somewhat french feel to it and seen as it was recorded in Paris the vibe of it becomes apparent although a very minimal song it has a big impact and her voice is beautiful 10/10

2.Mushaboom - The lead single that promoted the album the title is from the name of the harbour in her home town of Halifax,Canada it reminds me of something Joni Mitchell would have written (think Morning Morningtown)i love the subtle drumline-like beat.This is also one of the only up-beat tracks here 10/10

3.Let It Die - Fantastic is an understatment to how much i love this song it has a very gloomy and melancholic feel a song about a relationship that Feist had to get over yet the other person keeps tryna start things up again and shes just saying 'let it die' theres no point stepping on old ground i personally think this is beautifully written and she sounds excellent 10/10

4.One Evening - The second single which a choice i wouldn't of picked not saying that i don't like it the chorus is wonderful the jazzy feel to it is excellent reminds me of Rhian Benson (remember her!) it's a cool song and is catchy as hell and will stick in your head for days 9/10

5.Leisure Suite - Another jazzy song the finger clicking and the broken baseline is cool this is almost like an acapella this is one of the longest songs on the album and is a good song 9/10

6.L'amour Ne Dure Pas Toujours - Simply translated as Love Does Not Always Last the song is entirely in french and the song sounds very french indeed i enjoyed this song alot the accordian is brilliant alot with the slight sonar sounds which just reminds me of an old TV show it's an interesting song worth listening to 10/10

7.Lonely Lonely - Now here is another sad song which to me is the worst song on the album i just seems to just stay where its put and just doesnt do anything worth shouting about it starts to pick up only to drag back down again 4/10

8.When I Was A Young Girl - It just reminds me of american indians sitting around a camp fire its a cool song and the distorted guitar solo is delicious! seems like a traditional folk song which could have been on the Kill Bill soundtrack it has that kinda feel 10/10

9.Secret Heart - Another song im not overly crazy about its a cheery happy-go-lucky song but sadly just does nothing for me i mean she does sound great but overall i feel this could have taken in a different direction 7/10

10.Inside & Out - This is a cover of the BeeGee's classic "Love You Inside Out" its an interesting choice to cover but i absolutely love it although Feist puts her own twist to it, it somewhat keeps it disco-esque quality to it one of the best songs 10/10

11.Now At Last - What a beautiful closing song it just reminds me of an old disney movie that had the classic songs (not these new ones...bleh!) This is a very cute song and a very good way to close the album 10/10

Top 5

1.Let It Die

2.Inside & Out

3.Now At Last

4.Mushaboom

5.L'amour Ne Dure Pas Toujours

Take a chance on some great artistry if you liked Sia's Colour The Small One or Rufus Wainwright's Poses then im sure this album will be to your liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Let it live, 24 Nov 2005
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
If Lesie Feist sounds familiar, it's because of her musical resume -- it ranges from Canadian indie-popsters Broken Social Scene to female rapper Peaches to the Kings of Convenience. That sort of resume also makes one wonder -- what will her solo debut, "Let It Die," sound like?

The answer: Stripped down, sensual pop music, with a touch of jazz and trip-hop around the edges. It kicks off with only the strums of an acoustic guitar, before Feist jumps in like an orphaned torch singer. "Well it's time to begin/as the summer sets in/It's the scene you set for new lovers," she croons.

From there on, Feist doesn't even slow down. She ventures into cheery, catchy pop like "Mushaboom," sensual slow ballads, rippling trippy songs, and smooth torch songs. There's even -- surprisingly -- a cover of the Bee Gees' "Inside And Out," which she gives a funky spin, and a delicately catchy cover of Ron Sexsmith's underrated "Secret Heart."

The flavour of Feist's music isn't the sort that sets off fireworks and sets you raving about how much fun it is. "Let It Die" is the sort of album that is periodically hailed as being the real deal -- no studio tricks, little musical polish, and a reliance on good songwriting and tunes rather than hooks. In other words, pure music.

The star of the music is Feist herself; her vocals are front-and-center, and she proves herself a rare kind of singer. No "American Idol" vocal explosions, no hyperdramatics. Instead, Feist flexes her vocals in all sorts of different ways -- breathy, husky, ethereal and coy, and and moving along with the music in perfect sync.

Not that Feist's good voice doesn't mean that the music isn't also good. Most of the instrumentation is based on piano and acoustic guitar, with snapping fingers, cowbells, a hint of synth and handclaps thrown in. It's very simple, and very pretty, whether trying out catchy pop or traditional-sounding folk. Only a few songs, like the clunky "Lonely Lonely," fail to be captivating.

Leslie Feist moves out of the shadow of the other bands and artists she's worked with, and establishes herself with the beautiful "Let It Die." A rare and good type of pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A CD of two halves, 21 July 2004
By 
Matt Sephton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
This is a great CD which I managed to get hold of after seeing her support Phoenix in London. She blew me away with her voice, talent and confidence on stage.
The album varyies from kooky-indie (Merz, The Cardigans), through slightly angst-ridden rock (PJ Harvey), Tamla Motown soul, folk, lounge and on to old jazz standards in both English and French. A great mix, not to be compared to Norah Jones (that'd be the easy way out), but to be recognised as a very good album indeed on it's own merits.
Here's a track list with some additional info from me, it's now easy to see the fantastic range of music on offer here. This is shaping up to be one of my top three albums of the year.
Here's an annotated track listing showing how the albums is roughly half self-penned compositions and half cover versions. I've not consulted the liner notes at this point as I have a promo copy.
01. Gatekeeper (Feist)
02. Mushaboom (Feist)
03. Let It Die (Feist)
04. One Evening (Feist)
05. Leisure Suit (Feist)
06. Lonely Lonely (Feist)
07. When I Was a Young Girl (Sebastian Mure perf. Traditional)
08. Secret Heart (Ron Sexsmith)
09. Inside and Out (Bee Gees)
10. Tout doucement (Jean Paul Dréau perf. Blossom Dearie)
11. Now at Last (Dick Haymes perf. Blossom Dearie)
12. Amourissima (Feist)
13. L'amour ne dure pas toujours (Françoise Hardy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime - exquisite - superb, 21 Sep 2006
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
I heard Feist on a British TV advert and HAD to find out who was playing the music track! After some detective work I found this amazing CD. I endorse everything that the others here have said, but would add that this is one of the rare sounds that makes me want to cry with joy.

Listen to it and you will want to buy it!

I can't believe it was released in '04 and I've only just found out about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly Beautiful, 3 Aug 2009
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
I bought this album on a whim as I'd seen a fair bit of coverage for her over the recent months. It's one of the best albums I bought that year, a brilliant start, with fantastic uplifting songs like mushaboom - her next album The Reminder is amazing too. I saw her live at the Royal Albert Hall too, and she's a real artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let It Die
Let It Die by Feist (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews