Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this CD, 20 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Retriever (Audio CD)
Ron Sexsmith has a talent for creating fine melodies and refreshingly un-clichéd lyrics. "Whatever it Takes" is faultless toe-tapping soul, "Tomorrow in her Eyes" is a simple, beautiful track - when I heard him perform it live at his Dublin gig recently I knew I had to get buy this CD. It's the best thing I've heard in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 22 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: Retriever (Audio CD)
Coldplay,Elvis Costello,Paul Mccartney. You've heard of them well, why not this guy? Do yourself and your ears a favour and just buy one of his albums. This was my first choice. Has two of the best songs I've ever heard in years. "Not about to lose" and "Wishing wells".I only bought it as Raul Malo (he ex of the mavericks) covered one of Sexsmiths songs "Secret Heart." That album of Sexsmiths will be next on my list. A real find amongst todays corporate rock drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How does he do it?!, 26 April 2004
This review is from: Retriever (Audio CD)
This is the sixth album from Ron and he's on great form. More guitar-basedthan previous efforts, this still has everything we've come to expect froma Sexsmith album: great melodies and thoughtful, low key lyrics. Mypersonal favourites are Not About to Lose and For the Driver.
Greastsongwriting like this should be supported; don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Has This Lad Ever Improved! Now, at Last, He Attains the Full Stature of His Lyrical, Musical, and Singing Talents!, 13 Mar. 2009
By 
Gerald Parker "Gerald Parker" (Rouyn-Noranda, QC., Dominion of Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Retriever (Audio CD)
I never had paid much attention to Ron Sexsmith, even if he is Canadian (and despite my penchant to support the music of Québec and of the Dominion of Canada) and even if it always was evident that the lad has a lot of talent. His songs earlier in his career seemed so promising, both words (rare these days when song lyrics are variously mind-numbingly sub-literate or vacuously pretentious) and music, his voice nice but not compelling enough to come up with a strongly persuasive "package" of song material and performance to propel me into "leaping for the bait" enough to want to buy any of his CDs or audiocassettes.

That was the case until I heard "Whatever It Takes" (unannounced, of course) playing softly as background music while on "hold" while waiting for a chemist (pharmacist, in our Canadian lingo) when calling the drugstore! I made a frantic effort to identify who was singing this great and very sophisticated song, with vocals of such tenderness and musical control and a surprisingly appropriate and fine arrangement. So, it turned out to be Ron Sexsmith! Well, lads, I am on the path to being a Sexsmith fan now, or at least a vigilant observer of what he does in this still-new 21st century!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ron Sexsmith, Early in This 21st Century, at Last Seems to Be Attaining His Full Potential as a Superb Songwriter & Fine Singer, 12 Mar. 2009
By 
Jerry (Celil) Parker (Abitibi region of Québec) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Retriever (Audio CD)
I never had paid much attention to Ron Sexsmith, even if he is Canadian (and despite my penchant to support the music of Québec and of the Dominion of Canada) and even if it always was evident that the lad has a lot of talent. His songs earlier in his career seemed so promising, both words (rare these days when song lyrics are variously mind-numbingly sub-literate or vacuously pretentious) and music, his voice nice but not compelling enough to come up with a strongly persuasive "package" of song material and performance to propel me into "leaping for the bait" enough to want to buy any of his CDs or audiocassettes.

That was the case until I heard "Whatever It Takes" (unannounced, of course) playing softly as background music while on "hold" while waiting for a chemist (pharmacist) when calling the drugstore! I made a frantic effort to identify who was singing this great and very sophisticated song, with vocals of such tenderness and musical control and a surprisingly appropriate and fine arrangement. So, it turned out to be Ron Sexsmith! Well, lads, I am on the path to being a Sexsmith fan now, or at least a vigilant observer of what he does in this still-new 21st century!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ron Sexsmith Album, 11 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: Retriever (Audio CD)
If you like Ron Sexsmith for his voice and songwriting talent, but find him occasionally (a) a bit schmaltzy, (b) a bit like Paul McCartney's bad stuff (c) a bit overproduced, then this is the album for you, because this album avoids all of those pitfalls. I really wish I could say the same for more of his stuff...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 18 Jun. 2004
This review is from: Retriever (Audio CD)
this album is great for ron its a change from his last (CR) and this is his seventh album by the way, every one is a real classic. one of our generations great songwriter, well done ron
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Retriever (Audio CD)
One of the best new singer songwriters. He has such a warm voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a rare gem, 29 May 2004
By 
Gareth Ellis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Retriever (Audio CD)
It seems fairly commonplace these days for singer/songwriters to try and crack the market. Following the critical success of the likes of Jeff Buckley & Elliott Smith in the 1990s, there has been a wave of hopefuls trying to break into the scene. Ron Sexsmith is one such man, having started on his musical path around 13 years ago. This is his third album, and a wonderful collection of songs it is too. I was fortunate enough to be recommended this by someone else and i'm glad I followed up on their advice. Sexsmith touches upon subjects such as commitment (Not about to lose), relationships (Happiness), and fate (Feel for the driver), all with equal aplomb. He shows that rare talent of being able to write simple lyrics, which are still powerful and effective. Check out the wonderful "Wishing Wells" for a great example of this. Ron Sexsmith is someone that has wrongfully been buried under a pile of Matthew Jays & Ryan Adams - check this out now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Retriever
Retriever by Ron Sexsmith (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews