Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Follow Up Album
It's quite sad when a band such as Breed 77 is not as big as they should be. Cultura is by far there most solid piece of work yet. It has more of a polished sound than they're debut. The first half of the album is flawless. But the second half starts to drip away as many other people have commented. Breed 77 manages to mix styles and influences from all over the place and...
Published on 4 April 2006 by Tom Morris

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but does the Music World need more of this...?
Ok, I'll start by saying that the album is good. Not great, but good. As many people have mentioned before, they combine a nice mix of metal (not heavy metal....more of a middle-metal sound) and Latin American music which does sound reasonably fresh and enw. There are some good songs on thw album, but I also believe that it tails off towards the end, with the better songs...
Published on 26 July 2004 by Liam Byrne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Follow Up Album, 4 April 2006
This review is from: Cultura (Audio CD)
It's quite sad when a band such as Breed 77 is not as big as they should be. Cultura is by far there most solid piece of work yet. It has more of a polished sound than they're debut. The first half of the album is flawless. But the second half starts to drip away as many other people have commented. Breed 77 manages to mix styles and influences from all over the place and make it sound like a solid piece of work. This is an incredible feat which few bands such as sepultura manage to pull of. They're last album was loud gritty and fast. This is more sophisticated but you can still feel those gritty riffs on most of the songs.
Voices - 8/10 a great Atmospheric opening track
Individuo - 9/10 this song kicks in so fast the opening riff is amazing. Not as good vocals as on the rest of the album but that is a hard feat. I still love listening to it.
La Ultima Hora - 10/10 the first single from this album. Unbelievably catchy. The chorus comes out of no where breed often use this to close they're gigs and rightly so. One of my favourites on this album. The quick move from Spanish vocals back to English is amazingly fast and it really works.
A Matter of Time - 10/10 a hidden gem on this album. This is energy packed. I went to one of breeds gigs last sat and i think they have reworked this song for the new album i can't wait. The vocals perfectly match the song. Along with Numb this is my favourite song on the album.
World's on Fire - 10/10 amazingly this single isn't talked about much. It is so catchy probably the most on the album. I prefer this single to the other singles. This captures the best of the brute force used on they're debut mixed with the hooks on present all over this album. This song works amazingly well live
The River - 9/10 the acoustic guitar on this track is breath taking one of the few songs around that the verse is as most choruses. As atmospheric as the intro and quite upsetting. The vocals are packed of emotion. Although it sounds nothing like it i relate this song to ghosts of you by my chemical romance because it is upsetting but so beautiful that you cant turn it off.
The Only Ones - 8/10 I haven't really got in to this song. I like it but it is by far not the best song on the album.
Resurrection - 9/10 i love the vocals and acoustics on this song. Similar to numb. It drags on a bit too much but i mistook it for a single first time i listened to it. I actually love this song. The energy it carries at the start is shocking.
Numb - 10/10 for this song 10/10 is not enough it is just such a good song. There is not a bad second of this song. It is so calming and soothing. Easy to relate to if you are feeling lost in your life or just hollow. This is one of my favourite songs ever. I could listen to it all day and have since i got this album.
Calling Out - 9/10 another great song on these album parts of it are forgettable but the rest is just pure pounding energy.
The Last Songs on the Album are reworked from the last album. This may sound like a bad thing but they have been improved amazingly.
Eyes That See - 9/10 already a good song from the last album. It is even better now. Not much of an obvious change but there is more happening underneath the surface.
Oracion Final - 9/10 a good song from the last album. The obvious change here is that it seems a bit faster and the vocals in Spanish. This actually sounds better but as the same with eyes that see there is not much of a change.
Breaking The Silence (Acoustic) - 10/10 a great way to close the album this song has been hugely improved since the last album. Id always listens to this instead of the old version. The vocals are better and i love the strumming pattern.
At times the slight nu metal influences become a bit too much but this album deserves every point of 5 it has got. If you have given it less that 4 you have heard it all wrong. I would recommend buying this album as soon as possible. Then buy they're debut which is nearly as good. After this learn all the words religiously and catch these guys live before they start only playing in stadiums. You will be surprised how small venues these guys will play at the front there is barely half a metre between you and one of the guys. Buy this you won't be disappointed.
PS i tried to get this shorter but there is just so much to say about this masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not SOAD but not boring either, 24 May 2005
This review is from: Cultura (Audio CD)
Don't be mislead into thinking Breed 77 sound like System of a Down. This is more akin to NWOAHM but with a Gibraltan twist in it's use of flamenco guitars and rhythms.
Some songs are brilliant (A Matter Of Time, The Only Ones) whilst some come across as rather plain (The River, Breaking The Silence). So overall it's a brilliant album but lacking the consistency to give it full marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow - Awesome Album, 4 May 2004
This review is from: Cultura (Audio CD)
Firstly there is a lot of mentions of 'Spanish' in this review. By Spanish I mean like Spanish/Latin American (a bit like Ill Nino type) rather than Spanish (Like say... Enrique Iglesias [spit] type).
Ok,now thats cleared up, 1st things 1st, it only got 4 stars for the simple reason that there are only 9 'new' tracks on the album. The last 4 tracks are reworks of tracks from the last (self titled) album. Thats it, thats the bad points over with. It's not really THAT bad a thing anyway because (in my humble opinion) the 4 reworks are of the best 4 tracks on the last album, and are better than they were on the last album... so perhaps the 4 stars is a little harsh!
Anyway, if you are a rock fan with Sky tv you must have been living under a rock for the last 12 months if you haven't heard the magnificent first 2 singles (namely La Ultima Hora & The River), the former being a fantastic Spanish Guitar/Nu-metal hybrid/interface & the latter a moving soft (again) Spanish guitar orientated tune that builds up to a finish that is just perfect in every way.
The rest of the album pretty much follows the same lines as the first 2 singles... there are some soft then heavy, some all heavy and of course, some all soft but they all have a lot of Spanish influences (hailing from Gibralter its no real surprise I guess).
Anyway, not much point in me going on about which songs are my favourites because I'm sure everybody will have different favourites. I would just say that this is a great album with some very original songs. On first few listens most of the songs do tend to sound the same but after a while that changes and it becomes apparent that this is an album by a very talented bunch of individuals whom I think will become very big. Good luck to them they deserve it.
You can help them by buying it... I guarantee you wont be disappointed (but please dont send the boys round if you are!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Culture arrives, finally., 6 May 2004
This review is from: Cultura (Audio CD)
For devoted fans of Breed 77, this album has been a long time coming.
I can remember hearing La Ultima Hora as far back as last Christmas and expecting an album out to preceed that single. It didn't happen but you can see how they've taken their time over this one. Cultura was worth the wait - clocking in at just under an hour, it's nigh on perfect.
Reworks of 4 old tracks are on here, Eyes That See (which is really quite similar to the original version..), Final Prayer - which is now called 'Oracion Final' and is sung in Spanish, Breaking The Silence done acoustically and of course La Ultima Hora, in its original form.
The 9 new tracks take the band upto a new level. Not only does the production of this album sounds a lot better (compared to the rather muffly at times sound on the debut) but the vocals of Paul Iosla are really allowed to shine. Whereas before he incorporated a lot of deep 'growls' into his singing, now it's a different ball game. Paul's vocals on Cultura are stunning and really add something to the metal/flamenco sound they pull off so successfully.
The River will draw many new fans in here, and good - the band really deserve it, they are true musicians giving it their best shot and in doing so have crafted a truly beautiful and memorable sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cultura (Audio CD)
As an ageing RockMomma I surprised my kids by not only buying this album on the strength of the two singles, La Ultima hora and River, but playing it constantly . My 16 year old listened and thought the same as me and demanded to borrow it. It is an awesome album with something for everyone. The guitar playing is some of the best I've heard and Paul Isolas vocals are tremendous.If you're not convinced by these reviews go to Breed77 website and listen to the demo tracks then go and buy, buy, buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brillaint album by a great great band, 30 Sep 2004
This review is from: Cultura (Audio CD)
this album is a great piece of work, the fusion of flamenco style acoustic guitar with caustic electric driven metal is inspired.
this may not be the heavyest album in the world but to compare it to creed and puddle of mud is an insult,breed 77 are a true band not out for commercial success but to make great music, and with this album they have achieved just that.
the band are amazingly talented and each brings something to the music, the most striking being the vocals, they are of a sort not seen in metal very frequently both powerful yet melodic, neither screamed nor sung they have found a great middle ground in vocals.
i would recommend this album to anyone who is into metal or rock in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These boys will be BIG, 6 May 2004
By 
N. Patchcott (Hertfordshire, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cultura (Audio CD)
WOW!!!!!
I saw these guys supporting Machine Head last year and became very very curious. Now that I have listened to the new album Cultura, my curiosity has been rewarded with possibly the best album I have bought over the last year. I loved the fusion of Spanish/Flamenco/Metal, as it really stands out as something rarely heard done well(perhaps with the exception of Ill Nino). Favourites so far are La Ultima Hora, World on Fire and The River, but I cannot say a bad word about any of the tracks on there! Well done Breed 77, I hope this album gets you to where you deserve to be. Look forward to seeing you at Download!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars !WOW!, 20 July 2004
By 
Mr. D. W. Bond "weeman5foot" (Dartford, Kent, Eng) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cultura (Audio CD)
I cannot beleive my ears, i heard la ultimo houer on kerrang and i thought, this aint too bad, then at around christmas time they realeased the ashstonishingly superb single The River. I heard about the album and i saw it in HMV for £9.99 and thought ok, when i got home i was amazed with the pure quality of the music and now i am a big fan of breed 77. i asked people at school if they new breed 77, i lent it to my mates and they love the album and want it. This is a brilliant CD for antone who likes them or never heard of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars buff, 3 Aug 2004
By 
G. Marsh "Faith" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cultura (Audio CD)
this is a brillent album, there are relitivly heavy tracks *worlds on fire* but then the acoustic ballad type songs, like Numb and The river both amazing songs. and they sound like no other band out at the moment becuase of how they have encorpriated the flaminco guitars, an amazing album they desuve the recinision they are getting for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Breed 77 - A Keep a look out for them..., 30 May 2004
This review is from: Cultura (Audio CD)
I got into this band by listening to 'The River' and what a great song! I like my heavy rock songs, don't get me wrong, but when a song comes along that mixes everything - heavy rock, great lyrics and wonderful instrumentals - you can't help but be pulled in.
I recommend everyone listening to that song, jsut to get into the band, even if you don't like the rest of their stuff.
Fortunately, I had the pleasure of seeing them live at MVC (yes, MVC) in Derby. They were great, I expected everything to sound differently, with it being live and everything, but it wasn't! The vocals were excellent, as well as the guitars, and the drums! I even got something signed, it was only a sticker, but hey! It was well worth seeing!
In summary.. A new band that could do really well in the industry, listen to 'The River' and keep Rocking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cultura
Cultura by Breed 77 (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews