Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2004
If you're expecting another Silverchair album like the almighty Diorama, then you'll be in for a shock when you hear this. The Dissociatives are not Silverchair, but are just as good in their own way. The album is very experimental, almost as experimental as trying to crossbreed a camel with a penguin... Back to the point, the album is filled with atmospheric sound effects and ambience, overlaid with piano/keyboard parts and light guitars. Don't try and listen out for heavily distorted guitars boys and girls, cos there ain't any. The music is very soft, poppy, easy on the ears (a bit like some tracks on Diorama I guess), and quite commercial. The work that Paul Mac and Daniel Johns have put into this album is very imaginative using all sorts of different arrangements and styles throughout. The strongest point for me is Daniel Johns' vocals. His melody lines, harmonies, lyrics and general song writing is brilliant, and he hasn't taken a step back at all for this project. He is still consistent and powerful as ever with this band as he is with Silverchair. A born genius. So the bottom line is, if you're open to something a bit different to Silverchair and you like Daniel John's vocals, then you'll be proud to own this album and place it next to your Silverchair collection within the midst of your CD racks. It shall not be put in the "to burn and destroy"' pile where you may find the likes of Linkin Park and Evanescence! Anyway, I definitely recommend this album to anyone, it takes a while to get into, but hey, that's always the fun part. Enjoy!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2006
While many bands lately are experimenting with rock music to all degree's, from the enchanting sound of Arcade Fire's 'Funeral' to the electro beats ridden within the likes of Panic! At The Disco and Head Automatica, The Dissociatives seem to capture the perfect balance of all of these sounds with their own unique flare into a brilliant album. Many artists end up sounding 'messy' when trying to experiment and come up with fresh sounding music, however The Dissociatives have produced an album that flows and keeps you intrigued and captivated throughout. Whether you want a cd to chill out to, dance to, or just to have as background music, this album is perfect for everyone!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2005
WARNING: THIS IS NOT SILVERCHAIR. And it is for that very reason where its strengths lie. If you aren't too elitist to appreciate edgy, crunchy electro-pop, then this may well be for you.
In my humble opinion, the album's strengths lie in the combination of Paul Mac's intelligent musical structure and techno-bloops, versus Daniel Johns' lyrical and melodic eccentricities. It's a two-man show - the band wouldn't exist without the two geniuses clunking about together; for all his acclaim, Johns could not have done this by himself.
Standout tracks for me are We're Much Preferred Customers, which literally takes me to another place entirely, and Horror With Eyeballs - a carnival-esque, musical dodgem-ride around Johns' musical brain. The singles (Somewhere Down The Barrel & Young Man, Old Man) are fun, and more accessible.
All I can say is that this record is a little gem to someone who loved Silverchair massively, but was a little fed up of all the angst. It is mature but fun, experimental, melodic and intelligent. Enjoy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
If your a Silverchair fan, it takes a few listens before you really begin to appreciate the sound of this disc. However, once you do catch on to what is really going on, it's hard not to listen to it over and over. Hope J. Daniels and Paul Mac put together another album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2005
I first heard "Young Man, Old Man" on the radio (I'm on holiday in Australia right now) so I knew immediately it was Daniel John's vocals.
The Dissociatives was a project I was made aware of (being more of a fan of Natalie Imbruglia) whose married to Daniel Johns.
I was keen to hear the material and I'm 100% satisfied enough to have purchased the album and now I cannot stop playing it continually. Dan's a vocal and songwriter genius! Paul (Mac) is a talented musician too and I hope to see them live and hear more from them in the future and here's hoping for a 2nd album!
The UK and European release of The Dissociatives album is in April/May and they're doing some promo tours to coincide. I prefer the Dissociatives more than Silverchair as their songs (Silverchair) at times is too rock guitary (for me) but the Dissociatives album is melodic pop with brilliant sounds (its like they're playing live in my house) and it seems lighter and less angsty! The first song from the album to be released in the UK is going to be "Young Man, Old Man" and not "Somewhere Down The Barrel" which was the first Australian single (I'm not sure why this is the case) but I prefer "Young Man, Old Man".
Please buy the Dissociatives album - its a beautiful easy to listen to album and I'm sure it'll not dissappoint you, but as mentioned in the other reviews -- if you are looking for Silverchair music, then you won't find it on this cd.
Best of Success to Dan and Paul - aka The Dissociatives.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2004
When you listen to something for the first time and you just don't knowwhat to think of it, it’s extremely easy to just dismiss it and call itaverage, or even rubbish for that matter. But you get the odd album thatcalls you back to listen to it again, and again, and again, and again,until it gets to the point where you can't take it out of your player;that's when you know what you're listening to is something special. Andthat's exactly what The Dissociatives debut is, special. A combined effortfrom (now ex-Silverchair front-man) Daniel Johns, and Aussie sound ‘guru’,Paul Mac.
Like Silverchair's Diorama, I was really unsure of what to make of it tobegin with, purely because the music is so different to anything you'relikely to have heard from any other artist in recent memory (apart fromcertain tracks from Silverchair’s Diorama). But as I said before, if youpersevere with it, you'll get utterly enthralled by it. I’m not sayingthat musically this is exactly like Diorama, because it’s not. The onlysimilarity between the music I’ve noticed (apart from Mr. Johns’ vocals)are some song styles: ‘Tuna in the Brine’ Vs ‘Horror with Eyeballs’ forinstance.
The album opens with “We’re Much Preferred Customers”, a pounding andbuilding intro to the album. It’s strangely basic on first listen, but hasmore layers to it that you first think: a great opener to the album. Nextare “Somewhere Down the Barrel” and “Horror with Eyeballs”, the formerbeing the first single off the album. Both songs are hugely captivating,and if given half the chance on radio (in the UK) they would be fantasticsing-a-long summer tunes. The happy feel to this album really shows on“Lifting the Veil from the Braille”, and just goes to imply how much funboth artists had in recording this album. A song compiled of whistling,‘nah-nah-nahs’ and some great backing samples makes this one of thehappiest damn songs I’ve ever heard: put this track on in the morning andyou’re sure to start the day a happy chappy. On about 4 or 5 of the trackson this album, the guys have used a backing choir; such is the case on“Forever and a Day”, and it really does work. It reminds me of the GerardMcMann song ‘Cry Little Sister’ from the film “The Lost Boys” when youhear the kids singing ‘Thou shall not fall….’. You’ll know what I mean ifyou’ve seen the film. “Thinking in Reverse” is another pounding andenormously catchy tune… and the song blatantly tell us where some of hisinspiration came from ‘… the hospitals my favourite church’. “Paris Circa2007slash08” is another instrumental. Odd title, as are most of the tracknames on this album, but it’s catchy, which is pretty hard to achieve froman instrumental song. “Young Man Old, Man (you’re not better than therest)”: what a great song. It was a favourite right from the beginning,and had me singing along to the chorus pretty much from the word go.Daniel even does some beat boxing at the beginning, sounds odd but my Godits cool. Strange title: “Aaängry Megaphone Man”… again, catchy, up beatand fun. More rockier moments in this one as well, which is fine in mybooks. The album closes on a song called “Sleep Well Tonight”, a song thatthey had remixed for a b-side the Somewhere Down the Barrel single. Iactually like the remixed version of it better than the album version(it’s got a kind of bluesy feel to it), but the album version totally fitsin and closes the album off just as well as After All These Years did onDiorama.
Both guys have produced an amazing album here that’ll appeal to people ofall ages, and it’s great to hear something different than the tired,repetitive output release over the past half decade. I hadn’t heard muchof Paul Mac work, but the guy has my respect. And Daniel Johns… an amazingsongwriter bordering genius. Actually, he is a musical genius; Paul Mac(more than 10 years his senior) even thinks so.
Don’t think twice about buying this album, get it. But dear God, don’tmake the mistake a lot of people make by dismissing it on first listens.You won’t realise what a happy, great record you’ve missed out on.
10/10 on every track.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Terrific article & super-fast delivery. THANKS !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2004
well one can't expect the silverchair riffing on 'One way mule' or the early stuff but hey this album deserves a very good rating. I mean some songs get close to the diorama ones and that's really good. I mean DIORAMA (the masterpiece)!!! The vocal harmonies on the first track are awesome (being a singer i keep an ear open on them :) Daniel's voice is wonderful. 'Somewhere down the barrel' somehow reminds of Blur!! that's kind of weird (i love blur btw). This is some good, twisted, eerie alternative pop. That's my description. A definite buy!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2004
buy this album. you will not regret it. beautiful.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)