Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Before Time
It was only a metter of time before Mr Clapton recorded this album. RObert Johnson has been in his blood since way back when. In all of his music down the years you can hear it. It was something which he was born to record.
Having now recorded it, we can be very thankful. Sit back and let it all flow over you. The music, the playing, the lyrics. He - and the band -...
Published on 26 Mar 2004 by David Cranson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Me & Mr Johnson? - I think I prefer Mr Johnson by himself
I was a bit disappointed in this CD as I had hoped that it would be just Eric and an acoustic guitar. Instead most pieces are backed by musicians and many have electric arrangements.
Published on 13 July 2009 by Dr. Tom Carnduff


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Before Time, 26 Mar 2004
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Me And Mr. Johnson (Audio CD)
It was only a metter of time before Mr Clapton recorded this album. RObert Johnson has been in his blood since way back when. In all of his music down the years you can hear it. It was something which he was born to record.
Having now recorded it, we can be very thankful. Sit back and let it all flow over you. The music, the playing, the lyrics. He - and the band - make it sound all so easy. Which is most of the genius of the whole thing. How can a white guy from London in the 21st century feel so much of the pain and joy of a black man from 20s/30s Chicago?
Yet he does. It oozes from every note and chord, and it's wonderful to behold.
The one track that's missing - IMHO - is Crossroads Blues (or just Crossroads) which I for one was expecting. Maybe we'll get that one with the other 14 which haven't made it on to this collection. Surely we'll get a Vol 2 - PLEASE!
It was worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fitting tribute to Johnson, in the style of Clapton, 6 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. Dominic L. Brown (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Me And Mr. Johnson (Audio CD)
Eric Clapton is perhaps the most influential British blues guitarist in history (with the exception of Peter Green). He is in a better postion than any other British guitarist to do justice to this powerful material, but while he is undoubtedly a hugely experienced and talented player, when I bought this album I wondered if his touch was a little too light to pull it off.
My first impression was that Clapton's arrangements do not immediately evoke the dark, powerful feel and vivid imagery of Johnson's music. Johnson was not a technically gifted singer, but he sang with great passion, and this is not easily evident in the recordings here. As a guitarist, Johnson shone above his contemporaries, and his combined lead work and bass runs are still evading guitarists today. He was a versatile player with great feeling, and the same can be said for Clapton, who plays within the spirit rather than the letter of Johnson's style here.
And this is really why I like this album - I expect that it will not satisfy some purists, and certainly the choice to use a full group, including electric guitars, is a controversial one, but Clapton is a fine blues musician, and this a tribute to one of his heros, not an album of note-for-note transcriptions. What you get here is an expression of Clapton's genuine love for the music of a blues great, and it is a joyful, accomplished expression, that has as much to do with the blues of the 21st Century as that of the 1930's.
In fact, Clapton's group creates a powerful momentum that does service to this music. It is an easy-rolling, foot-tapping power, that pulls you along without you even realising it, and provides a great platform for the vocals and instrumental solos. For me, Clapton does a fine job with the singing on this album - his voice is not so haunted and emotional as Johnson's, but he obviously knows this music incredibly well, and his timing and phrasing are perfect. The range of his voice is at times surprising too. Some of the tracks here are simply superb; "Hellhound on my Trail" and "Milkcow's Calf Blues" are both taken a low tempo, but drive along relentlessly in the band's skilled hands. "Me and the Devil Blues" and "Come on in My Kitchen" are more acoustically lead, with some great slide work.
Overall, this is an immensely enjoyable album, and an admirable tribute to Robert Johnson, albeit a tribute in the style of a modern blues musician. The musicians here are in great form, with Clapton proving he still has much to say, and the exceptional Billy Preston adding some tremendous organ solos. This is an album that Eric Clapton was destined to make, and I think that it's an important one - but if you want to hear Robert Johnson, buy some recordings by Robert Johnson, as well as this excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like The Blues - You'll like this, 1 April 2004
This review is from: Me And Mr. Johnson (Audio CD)
At long last, EC gets "Up close and personal" with the legendary Robert Johnson and his music. Not withstanding EC's previous renditions of some of RJ's songs (Crossroads when he was with Cream probably being his most well known but he has performed others down the years, for example Walking Blues and Malted Milk from the Unplugged album) this is an inspired and authentic piece of work. Apparently the album came about as a result of EC and his band jamming RJ songs as a way of relaxing whilst working on his next "original material" album (due for release in '05 apparently - Guitarist Magazine May 2004 issue). The playing by all band-members is great - Doyle Bramhall II is inspired in his slide work, and Billy Preston demonstrates some wonderful "blues with a feelin'" on his Hammond.
14 tracks are listed, all are delivered with Eric Clapton's unmistakably soulful vocals, with some great guitar work by the Master, but he also gives his band members space and time to perform their own talents. It really is like listening to a highly polished and fluent blues jamming band - the tonal quality of the amps is captured wonderfully, Class A valves driven to the edge of distortion!
Delta Blues, delivered with feeling - buy it, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Me and Mr. Clapton, 30 Mar 2004
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me And Mr. Johnson (Audio CD)
You may be excused for asking 'do we need another collection of Robert Johnson songs by a British blues guitarist so soon after Peter Green's recent CDs?' The answer, rather surprisingly, is yes!
Eric has covered Robert Johnson songs throughout his 40-year career and this is his take on the classic songbook. It's not an attempt to create the Robert Johnson sound, the CD is very much a band record with some fine ensemble playing throughout. (It's almost a tribute to Muddy Waters as well, using his blueprint Chicago sound to filter the songs of Mississippi.) There are no long guitar solos and the material is treated with great respect- in some ways too much respect, some of the songs, like 'Kind Hearted Woman', seem to work better when they have radically different arrangements, and I could have done with a bit more of EC's guitar.
It's also Clapton's taste that raises this CD above the Brit blues norm, both his taste as a guitarist and his taste in selecting the musicians- for such a disparite bunch of musos they turn in some wonderful performances and really gell well as a band. Jerry Pornoy on harp is great and the rhythm section just swings like mad on songs like 'Travelling riverside blues' and 'If I had possession over judgement day'. Also, honorable mentions to Andy Fairweather-Low and Doyle Bramall on guitars and Billy Preston on keyboards (mostly piano).
My one gripe would be that all these songs are all a bit too familiar, and en masse a bit samey, but as a fan of Clapton's since his days with the Yardbirds its a pleasure to hear him playing real blues again. He's in great voice throughout the record and this must be his best CD since 'From the cradle'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnson would have loved this, 16 Dec 2006
By 
McDravid "McDravid" (Ripon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Me And Mr. Johnson (Audio CD)
In common with another reviewer (perhaps the next one down from this), I find the negative comments about this Clapton blues masterclass very puzzling. Trust me, this is a great album; well interpreted, well played and well sung by Clapton and his talented fellow musicians.

I came into it via Clapton's 'Sessions for Robert Johnson' and, having already been immersed in Johnson's original recordings, I wanted to hear how Clapton treated some of the numbers missing from 'Sessions'. I was not disappointed. 'Hell Hound on My Trail,' (probably my favourite Johnson song) was different, but right, and 'Red Hot' (tomales) is a rockin', rollin' honkey tonk number with swinging solos by Billy Preston (piano), Jerry Portnoy (harmonica) and Doyle Bramhall II (guitar - and probably one of the best around). Johnson afficianadoes would probably say he didn't play like that, but he was getting his own bands together at the end of his tragically short career and, I suspect, it may well have sounded very similar to Clapton's interpretations.

Peter Green's Splinter Group versions are also mentioned in one of the reviews, and I love those as well. Listen to 'Hell Hound' by Johnson, then Green, then Clapton. I do, and I love them all. Wonderful music, wonderfully done by all of them.

As I said, I think Mr Johnson would have loved this album and would have been happy to join in the sessions. We can only dream of the resulting CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tame but Entertaining, 3 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Me And Mr. Johnson (Audio CD)
I must admit that I bought this album with high expectations, mainly due to Eric Claptons ability and versatility as a recording artist and a blues guitarist, and I was a bit disappointed. The music of Robert Johnson is soulful, passionate and haunting, and E.C. hasn't really done him justice on this CD. That aside, it is a very entertaining piece of music, and a great introduction to the music of Johnson. Clappo has put together a great band, with the addition of the excellent Billy Preston, and this is a great addition to a blues fans CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Me & Mr Johnson? - I think I prefer Mr Johnson by himself, 13 July 2009
By 
Dr. Tom Carnduff "Tom the Pom" (UK - Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Me And Mr. Johnson (Audio CD)
I was a bit disappointed in this CD as I had hoped that it would be just Eric and an acoustic guitar. Instead most pieces are backed by musicians and many have electric arrangements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible album fromEC., 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me And Mr. Johnson (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums I have ever bought! The production values are high and the option to over-arrange and bury these simple and moving songs into vast tiers of sound has been avoided. With a very direct live acoustic sound which helps greatly in fixing on the traditional nature of these precious tunes. What can you say- it blew me away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Me and Mr Johnson, 29 July 2012
By 
H. J. Gough (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me And Mr. Johnson (Audio CD)
I was expecting a technically interesting, but bascially solo, acoustic rendering of theses songs. I was delighted to find that they were superb arrangements, some of which really rock. One of the best blues CDs in my collection. A must for everyone interested in original blues and modern recordings of them. One of Clapton's very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clapton does Robert Johnson, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me And Mr. Johnson (Audio CD)
This, not (most of) the stuff on Old Sock, is what Clapton should do; and if it's to be done in the blues tradition, Clapton as much as anyone is the one who should do it. I also love it a la Cassandra Wilson, for example, but it's different. If you like traditional Clapton and his kind of blues, this is money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Me And Mr. Johnson [VINYL]
Me And Mr. Johnson [VINYL] by Eric Clapton (Vinyl - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews