Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy with one or two minor issues, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case (Electronics)
My dillema was the 10x30 or 12x36 so I spent a lot of time looking at all the options and reviews. I was fortunate enough to try both models and eventually opted for the 12x36. I had a bit of a problem with slight shimmering with the 10x30 when the IS was on but that may just have been me. With the 12x36 there is none of this. The extra magnification does make a significant difference which for me is great because I spend a lot of time on mountain hikes / viewing wildlife and need the extra magnification .The IS works pefectly and even allows the user to track moving objects. The fact that the image is steadied allows for much more detailed observation.In both models the image is crystal clear . Although not small enough to be attached to a waist belt they are small and light enough to be carried in a pack or around your neck without any discomfort.

The problems : As previous reviewers have said they do not have objective lens dust covers . The eye lens covers are cheap plastic but will do .The carry bag is thin and hardly affords any real protection for such high tech equipment. I did some internet search and found a supplier who provides rubber objective lens covers with O rings attached that secure the covers to the binos so there is no chance of losing them. They also have a very good leather carry case that the binos fit in to perfectly.

August : I have just come back from a 4 week hiking / game viewing trip in sub Saharan Africa and feel an extra comment is warranted. In spite of the dust , occasional rain and the bino's constantly been bumped about they performed perfectly . They are well suited to people who wear spectacles and of course those who don't. For me watching wild life entails keeping the bino's on the animal for a long time so I can study their movement .In this respect the extra 2 x magnification (from the 10x)made a huge difference . Being able to pan with the image stabilizer added that much extra value.In spite of hours of use I never once changed the batteries.That said objective lens covers are essential as is a decent carry case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Image stabilising is a big bonus, 3 July 2009
By 
Paul W (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case (Electronics)
Having image stabilising on a binocular is a massive bonus - especially with 12x magnification. I'd previously avoided anything above 8x.

The image stabilising ( IS ) works quite well and lets you actually concentrate on what your viewing rather than trying to see it between the shaking and judders.

Optically they are good but not top notch. At £600 you are probably getting £200 binoculars in terms of optical performance. The actual image is clear, quite bright and prefectly acceptable for all but the most demanding circumstances. The biggist optical downside is a little bit of chromatic aberration - mostly only noticable when looking at bright straightlines - for example a white window frame - but it really isn't that bad unless your a perfectionist.

I compared them to my leica trinovid 8x20 binoculars I've had for years and they do have less chromatic aberration but with the Canon's 12x magnication, brighter image and image stabilising I can see a lot more detail. If the two binoculars were the same weight the Canon would be my first choice for all trips.

The image stabilising is good on the Canons but I have read Nikon has better IS. Nikon call it Vibration Reduction ( VR ). However the Nikons are quite a bit heavier and bigger so while they may be better optically I suspect their weight will mean they are often left behind if you want to travel light.

I would definately recommend these - the IS is a real bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compromise for an excellent product, 15 Jan 2008
By 
K. Smith "Capt Flugga" (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case (Electronics)
The Canon image stabilizer Bino's are excellent,they have a solid build feel with the coating of hard rubber, and excellent viewing. The purchase of which level to go for obviously depends on each individuals use for them. The reason I selected this version is because it's a compromise of weight, magnification and price. I feel the 12 x mag fits in the middle nicely. Field of view is 87m at 1000 and weight 660g ideal for a multitude of uses (I enjoy back packing in the Scottish mountains) and these are excellent if you are out of breath or have an unsteady hand, the stabilizer really does the trick.
I would like the 15 x or 18 x but the weight and cost may defeat the purpose. No objective lens caps was a disappointment for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Safari and birds, 31 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case (Electronics)
Used these on tour and safari across Namibia. Great binoculars. Would have liked 10x50 but too expensive however what these lack in power they make up for in pure useability. They are so light and compact that they are easy to hold steady in any event but with the IS button they are superb. I wouldn't go back to traditional binoculars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but pricey, 11 April 2011
This review is from: Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case (Electronics)
These binoculars work very well. Good optics and the stabilisation is very effective. Makes a big difference to, say, looking at the moon or a distant bird on a swaying branch. Works particularly well when following birds in flight. I went for the slightly bigger magnification as the extra weight (and tremor) is offset by the stabilisation, so you benefit from the greater magnification.

No downside to the binochs themselves, but why no hard case or eye piece cover? Considering the price that's just cheapskate stuff, and I'm not sure they're worth such a huge chunk of cash (mine were a lovely present), hence only 4 stars, although to be fair that may be more to do with the suppliers than the product?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb but expensive, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case (Electronics)
These binoculars are superb but one small niggle is the lack of objective lens covers. However, these can be purchased from:
[....]
When on the site choose Scope Covers and then choose Quake Bushwacker Size 7 Black Scope Lens Cover. You will need 2 of course. They are a perfect fit. The binoculars still deserve 5 stars.Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't hesitate to buy these binoculars!, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case (Electronics)
After reading the reviews of these 12 x 36 IS II's,I bought a pair. By good fortune, the heavens happened to have a brilliant full moon on the first evening. Wow!! Fantastic view of the moon with lots of detail that I never realised was there before. For such a distant object, the bins still need to be held with a fairly steady pair of hands, but then the image barely moves and is certainly stable enough to allow you to appreciate the features of the moon. Can't wait for Jupiter or Saturn to be visible.

These bins are not cheap, but they are certainly worth the money. I am very fortunate because their cost is part of a long service award from my company.

Buy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very stable image, 23 Aug 2010
This review is from: Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case (Electronics)
Obtaining stability with high magnification is always going to be a compromise. I know that if you put all your cash into Leica optics for example with no stabilisation then you will get better image quality. But if you like the idea of 12x magnification then stability also becomes an issue. These binoculars give great results offering really close up vision that doesn't jump around with every movement of your arms. The IS system seems to work very well, just switching it on and off, easy to do with the button on the top, shows just how much difference it is making.
Not exactly compact, but not too big either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case, 7 Jun 2012
By 
J. burnham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case (Electronics)
These binoculars were bought as a Christmas present for my husband. He was really pleased with them and the Image Stabilising element of this product works a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars canon Binoculars, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon 12 x 36 IS II Image Stabilising Binoculars with Neck Strap & Soft Case (Electronics)
This binocular is excellent in its performance,very good for wildlife,,bird watching,no barrel or chromatic aberration,low ligt performance is very good, like IS on the canon lenses though expensive but worth very penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews