Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic.
What more can you ask from a black & white thriller?. When i first saw this film (I was 8) i was completely hooked. This was the first outing for Basil Rathbone as Sherlock Holmes and by far the best version. You can just image yourself cuddling up to a loved one on a rainy Saturday afternoon and watching this. The atmospherics and acting are superb.
Published on 10 May 2004 by Mr. M. G. Stone

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why no remastered version?
Having enjoyed a friends Region 1 DVD I thought I'd get this one as it was the same. Wasn't it? No, for some reason the British DVD buying public don't need a remastered version just a VHS version shuffled out onto DVD. It was a huge disappointment.
The picture jumps, pops and fizzes all over the place and has a greenish tinge to it. No extras either. It wasn't...
Published on 8 Feb 2005 by Nicky


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic., 10 May 2004
This review is from: The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939] (DVD)
What more can you ask from a black & white thriller?. When i first saw this film (I was 8) i was completely hooked. This was the first outing for Basil Rathbone as Sherlock Holmes and by far the best version. You can just image yourself cuddling up to a loved one on a rainy Saturday afternoon and watching this. The atmospherics and acting are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why no remastered version?, 8 Feb 2005
By 
Nicky (God's Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939] (DVD)
Having enjoyed a friends Region 1 DVD I thought I'd get this one as it was the same. Wasn't it? No, for some reason the British DVD buying public don't need a remastered version just a VHS version shuffled out onto DVD. It was a huge disappointment.
The picture jumps, pops and fizzes all over the place and has a greenish tinge to it. No extras either. It wasn't like there wasn't a remastered version available, it's been out on Region 1 for some time.
That aside, this is a cracking film, hugely entertaining. Even if it doesn't stick faithfully to Sir Conan Doyle's story. Basil Rathbone in one of his best Holmes film, gives a brilliant performance and is ably supported by Nigel Bruce playing a rather dim-witted Doctor Watson. The film still has a creepyness about it, and there is a lot going on in it that's never fully explained and red herrings aplenty (Dr Mortimer denying he has a dog for instance).
My advice to you is, if you've got a region-free DVD, then get the remastered version as it's even better when cleaned up and adds to the moody atmosphere of the film. If you haven't then wait for the sales before buying this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The First and the Best?, 24 Feb 2005
By 
T. Williams "Maranatha!" (North West, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939] (DVD)
I have seen many adaptations of The Hound but this is the one I enjoyed the most. The fabulous set designs and constant mist transplant you to a bleak and threatening Dartmoor effortlessly. It is true to say that the older films do evoke a sense of nostalgia and crackle with charm but this film has more to merit watching it than that. I found the end of the film to possess great tension, tension that had me gripped unlike any other adaptation previously witnessed. Basil Rathbone's first turn as Holmes is assured and Nigel Bruce's portrayal as Watson (although purists disagree) is a joy to watch - providing just enough levity to this foreboding tale. The film was originally made as a Richard Greene vehicle and he Plays Sir Henry with a wonderful sense of naivety, but it is undoubtedly Rathbones film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939] (DVD)
Very rare but a classic - scout it out and and enjoy. Rathbone and Bruce at their best - though it is not always true to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite Dartmoor, but nice to hear Okehampton get a Name-Check in Hollywood., 8 Dec 2014
This review is from: The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939] (DVD)
An amusing and satisfying whodunnit to which everyone knows the solution. Efficiently directed with no fat. Perhaps lacks a bit of something when Rathbone, a great enunciator and charismatic player, is off-screen, though Nigel Bruce does an almost Oliver Hardy turn at times as the definitive old-style Watson. John Carradine is dignified as the sinister butler. Still watchable and likeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Sherlock Holmes stories., 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939] (DVD)
I thought this was a great film and I liked the Basil Rathbone/Nigel Watson partnership. Very watchable too - and the moors were ghostly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the hound of the baskervilles, 22 May 2004
This review is from: The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939] (DVD)
To me this film has always been the one to watch. It may not be as true to the novel as say Jeremy Brett's tv film, But to me Basil Rathbone as Sherlock Holmes makes up for this. Also the fact that the film is in black and white adds more darkness to the moor. It still has the main plot to that of Conan Doyle's book. The end of this film really has some good bit's. For one Basil Rathbone getting locked in where the hound had been kept. Something that was'nt in the book. But to me a much better ending. And the way the hound it self run's after Sir Henry and jumps on him will have you fooling off your set. At the end of the day your like it or not. If you want something more like the book buy Jeremy Brett's one. But to me this is still a very good watcher and all down to Basil Rathbone as Holmes. And when you think it's over 60 year's old it still look's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rathbone did a good job of acting in this film, 27 Nov 2014
By 
Maurice C "InulasHelp" (Reading Nr. London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939] (DVD)
This is a classic and in the collection because of that as well as B. Rathbone did a good job of acting in this film. I think J. Brett is better though , bit not by a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dad loves this DVD.........., 19 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD for my dad as a christmas present, he said he throughly enjoyed watching it as he likes the old Hound of the Baskervilles films with Basil Rathbone in. I was made up when I found the DVD on Amazon as I couldnt find anywhere else that sells the same DVD and especially for the price I paid, it was a really good bargain. Very happy with this purchase :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Dear Watson, 18 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939] (DVD)
In my opinion one of the best Sherlock Holmes films ever made, and starring one of my favourite actors Basil Rathbone. They don't come much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939]
The Hound Of The Baskervilles [DVD] [1939] by Sidney Lanfield (DVD - 2004)
£11.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews