Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cartoon of the 80's bar none
This cartoon series consisting of 13 episodes are a sheer delight and perfect representation of what the 80's had to offer.
The story consists of 14 Knights that have been embued with magical powers which they can use for good or evil. There are two main factions within the world, the Spectral Knights led by Leoric and the Darkling Lords led by Darkstorm. The...
Published on 10 May 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cover doesn't look brand new
This is for a fun birthday present, if it was to be a main present I would be disappointed. The DVD's look like copies & quality not great, The first DVD doesn't play straight away & looks like a VHS tape with to much use
Published 11 months ago by Steven Day


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cartoon of the 80's bar none, 10 May 2004
This review is from: Visionaries: Knights Of The Magical Light [DVD] (DVD)
This cartoon series consisting of 13 episodes are a sheer delight and perfect representation of what the 80's had to offer.
The story consists of 14 Knights that have been embued with magical powers which they can use for good or evil. There are two main factions within the world, the Spectral Knights led by Leoric and the Darkling Lords led by Darkstorm. The characters are well fleshed out given the limited time they had to develop, with each having their own agenda and such. The magic powers that each knight possess, is the ability to turn into their animal totem which reflects their personality, and secondly 8 of the Knights have power staffs which they can use once before recharging, again - each staff reflects the users personality, 4 of the remaining 6 Knights can power vehicles with magic so they work in the post science world the Visionaries inhabit.
The episodes are of high quality with only one episode really being a comedy which is a dissapointment, the animation is generally good and the voice acting always superb. The series is also pulls no punches violence wise. Above all the series is just a simple joy from start to finish, the fact that only 13 episodes were ever made is criminal given the quality, it was highly under-rated.
This will bring back many memories if you caught the series on the first run and the fact that the series is getting a DVD release is an absolute revelation, this will be a fine box set in anyones collection and will remind people that they simply do not make cartoons like this anymore. Childrens entertainment today simply pales in comparison.
[STARS]TyranT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical powers they fight, 7 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Visionaries: Knights Of The Magical Light [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this from when I was younger as being one of the best tv shows ever, and as a 19 year old have frantically searched for any memorabilia from the franchise. The dvd has been greeted with desperate arms, as I had been trying to get the episodes on VHS, which is always a gamble with such an old cartoon.
The dvd quality is very good, the conversion is smooth, and brings out the epic features that made the cartoon such a great experience, both in its content and quality of animation. The only thing that stopped this getting 5 stars was the lack of special features on the discs. Granted, not a lot of material can be taken from this, but character profiles, or a little history would be interesting to the avid fan.
Overall, a greatly recieved series, a developed story, even though it lasted only one season and 13 episodes, and an innovation in animation. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome 80's Cartoon!!!, 31 May 2006
By 
A. Brooks (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Visionaries: Knights Of The Magical Light [DVD] (DVD)
I was very happy to see that someone finally put this great cartoon on DVD. Great voiceover cast and animation, thrilling storylines, you can't ask for much more. To bad that it was short lived. Anyway, you must by this DVD. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars May the Light Shine Forever!, 12 Jun 2004
By 
Mr. C. McMartin "c_man_uk" (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visionaries: Knights Of The Magical Light [DVD] (DVD)
My earliest memory of this old classic was when my gran recorded the first few episodes of for me and sent me the tape. I loved it right from the start! Visionaries is a world of magic and medieval style fighting born out of a world that had lost all of its technology.
The characters are excellent, and none are 1 dimensional. The villans of the show are for example known for occasionally doing the right thing, like the animal loving cyndar for example. Getting this DVD was a real blast from the past and it finally gave me a chance to see the episodes i had missed out on when this was on TV. I recommend it to all 80s cartoon lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80'2 cartoons are the best, 25 May 2004
This review is from: Visionaries: Knights Of The Magical Light [DVD] (DVD)
I have 2 of these episodes on a bought VHS - The Lion Hunt and Feryl steps out. Had the pilot somewhere on betamax but i didnt bother converting it to VHS all those years ago when i had the last chacne to. It is an amazing show and i cant believe how lucky i am to own it.
had all the toys, even that massive darkling lord transport vehicle thing. Watching this over reminds me how great the 80's really were.
This truely is one of the best things you can buy on here. Its not often a company will give you EVERY episode of an entire programme on one DVD.....so you have to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 80's cartoon, 19 May 2004
This review is from: Visionaries: Knights Of The Magical Light [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this show from my youth and must admit that this was my favourite 80's cartoon.
Excellent script, decent animation and good character definition.
If your looking for a good cartoon with plenty of action, a bag-full of fantasy and a solid piece of good vs evil, look no further this this cartoon.
Only 13 episodes but each one of them is excellent.
Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET THIS DVD SET!!, 21 May 2004
By 
Kenny (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Visionaries: Knights Of The Magical Light [DVD] (DVD)
I just got home to find that my "Visionaries" DVD set had arrived all the way from the UK...and boy was I in for a treat. I have had one episode on a vhs for years now, watching it over and over. I poped in the disc and was sent back to my childhood! This collection is a real gem for any 80's cartoon nut like myself. You will be delighted as the stories unfold like nothing on tv today and for the price you can't beat it with a stick! At this point I can't even believe your still reading this...GO BUY THIS SET NOW!! The sooner you click that button the sooner you can be watching "VISIONARIES". That my friend is pure bliss in my book...and yes, my girlfriend loves this show as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Wait?, 7 Feb 2010
This review is from: Visionaries: Knights Of The Magical Light [DVD] (DVD)
I have just spotted this thanks to recomendations (luckily i might add), ive not even bought the product yet and it has a 5 star review. I cant get it through the checkout fast enough. I agree with a lot of posts on here, it may not have been the best cartoon of the 80s, but its gotta be top 5.
A classic i'll enjoy watching again, with my sons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medieval magic at its best, 4 Jun 2004
This review is from: Visionaries: Knights Of The Magical Light [DVD] (DVD)
This retro 80s cartoon series brings back wonderful memories. I remember anticipating each weekly episode. From Flint Dillie who wrote many GI Joe and Transformers episodes, this creative thinktank has combined the best of medieval elements and weaved them into a kid-friendly format. The animation still remains one of the best in the era.
The poetic magical incantations were a big hit with my mates and I back in primary school. Highly recommended for any lads who lived in the 80s and wished to relive it once more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visionaries, 4 April 2007
By 
Mr. A. Daniels (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Visionaries: Knights Of The Magical Light [DVD] (DVD)
Just recieved this dvd and am very pleased that it is still just as good as it was back then when I was a kid. It was my favourite program.

There is only 13 episodes and a second series was planned but never done. The running time is only 5 hours for the whole series and time flys whilst watching it. It all seemed so much longer back then.

This definately deserves 5 stars and a pleasure to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visionaries: Knights Of The Magical Light [DVD]
Used & New from: £14.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews