Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madder than a million, million monkeys.
I bought this tape on a whim, and I am very, very glad I did. Words honestly cannot accurately convey how entertaining substandard drum and bass, animation that could only charitably be described as minimal and an english translation that's so deadpan it^s untrue could be. Do yourself a favour and buy this magnificent piece of escapist tosh. Especially...
Published on 6 July 2000 by John Clayton III

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the worst remake in history!
I accidently come across this title, lets just say i thought it was the manga version. But i realised it was a live action film, so i thought must be hollywood remake let's see if they make a mess of a classic, so i sat down and watched. my was i right! This film is dreadful! I am a fan of manga and especially fist of the north star and this remake is a joke.
The...
Published on 22 Feb. 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the worst remake in history!, 22 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
I accidently come across this title, lets just say i thought it was the manga version. But i realised it was a live action film, so i thought must be hollywood remake let's see if they make a mess of a classic, so i sat down and watched. my was i right! This film is dreadful! I am a fan of manga and especially fist of the north star and this remake is a joke.
The sets are really really small compared to the vast backdrops of the original (i know the original is cartoon and what not but still) and the effects are terribly poor and cheap.
The thing what really made me laugh was how they made people who got beat up die. I mean in the original heads exploded, people split in half and all sorts of crazy things, so any good film producer would look at this and think, 'i dont think we could remake this as the deaths are too over the top and are impossible to do in real life', but no, they had to have a pop good ol hollywood. The deaths were laughable not to mention the way the main actor did the killing, it was like he was dancing around them. It made me laugh, the trouble is it is not supposed to! Also, the cast in the film were poor, bad guys were fat, the good guy was pretty boy and as for malcolm mcdowell, what the hell was he doing in it, tremendous dent in his career!
I dont think this film even deserves 1 star.
very very poor,
shame on hollywood, they like ruining classics from japan and the far east dont they!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Could've been massive., 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [DVD] (DVD)
I'm unfamiliar with the earlier animated versions so I didn't feel the crushing weight of disappointment which appears to seep into some other reviews. I just see this as a post apocalyptic martial arts movie. Some bits work well; Gary Daniels makes an engaging lead, he's very athletic and despite some poor camerawork his moves come across very well. The final fight and his tussle with those twenty guys in the foyer are especially well handled. The sets and costumes look good in the main; these visuals helped me get past a weak script where the story is a little muddled. The love interest has embarrassingly little to do apart from looking rather good. A couple of the effects are entertaining, a dislocated jaw stands out as well as a couple of exploding heads! The movie ends very abruptly, which is a shame because with a decent ending and maybe the addition of a voicover to compensate for poor writing this could've been half decent. I wonder what was left on the cutting room floor! If you want to see this kind of thing done extremely well check out The Challenge - La Sfida
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Potential but...., 1 Jun. 2006
By 
S. LEECH "evest27" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [DVD] (DVD)
This film is the kind of thing a 14 year old boy would think is really cool, having stayed up late to watch it against his parents wishes (I did back then!). To be honest, it's still a guilty pleasure. Its set in Mad Max type world where the strongest will survive and the people need a hero. Gary Daniels is that unwilling hero and with his haunted expressions he made for a good Kenshiro. However, the script is dreadful and if you care to watch the Daniels interview, he admits himself that the superbly choreographed fight scenes were then completely mis-shot and edited. This is a real shame because his talents are not portrayed fully due to way the fights were edited. The final fight scenes provide the best action but the rest is relatively poor. A cameo by Malcolm McDowell was unusual and I can't really think why he would accept such a minor role in this genre.

Another major beef is that the film doesn't really reflect the plot of the anime version. It has Shin and Kenshiro as the main characters, but this isn't really the true plot. I suppose it works in it's own right as a film, but this won't please fans of the original story. Even so, there isn't any history of the whole Kensiro-Julia-Shin relationship, so you're left so deduce that Shin a basically just a maniac. Frustrating.

They did manage, I think, to capture the atmosphere of the world in which Kenshiro endures, and the casting of him and the other main characters was very good. It's a shame that the budget was clearly limited as I believes to do it justice, this would need two or possibly even three films.

I have to mention that they have made a real good effort with the DVD extras - better than you get with most films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Fish of the north star!, 28 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. David Rutter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [DVD] (DVD)
If you love fist of the north star.
STAY AWAY from this utter utter tosh its possible the worst film Iv'e ever seen right up there with double dragon it doesn't even hold as a deicent martial arts flick I watched it alone and still felt embarrassed I just wish I could give this slice of dross 0 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madder than a million, million monkeys., 6 July 2000
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this tape on a whim, and I am very, very glad I did. Words honestly cannot accurately convey how entertaining substandard drum and bass, animation that could only charitably be described as minimal and an english translation that's so deadpan it^s untrue could be. Do yourself a favour and buy this magnificent piece of escapist tosh. Especially recommended if you remember the "Monkey" TV show. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get the Anime not this., 11 Dec. 2004
By 
Mr. R. M. N. Wharram "wij201" (Brighouse UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of the reviews on here seem to be referring to the Animated movie. This is not it. This live-action version is awful. One of the worst films ever made. Check out the IMDB rating. The animated version is great though. Look for that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An example of how not to adapt a manga!, 14 Oct. 2001
Right when adapting something there a few unwritten guidlines... 1) Only change the plot where necessary 2) Keep characters that are in the original feature 3)Make it good!
What's special about this film is that it fails all three criteria! First of all the plot for the original manga involved biker punk gangs taing advantage of weak people and one man the fist of the north star becoming a saviour. The film sticks to that but what it fails to do is revolve around what really happens, Shin does not rule all these gangs in the end, the film hardly touched on destroying the southern cross (Although the manga series released after this shambles was released did).
So if taking out the main plot was bad enough they decide to omit some key characters, most easily noticeable? The claw fingered legend that is Rei and the huge brother Raoh. Unforgiveable!
The final nail in the coffin is the fact that the fight scenes are poor, only two scenes were worth watching. Namely the end fight, and a brief one before it! Also the fist techniques were not very good, the multiple fist strike that caused heads to implode was replaced by a silly slapping technique! The lack of the character Rei meant even more memorable fights scenes vanished, but the omission of Raoh is beyond credible, for in the manga the ultimate battle involved fighting for the right to be fist. The kung fu is also very sloppy in many parts and on the whole this film is two hours of boring amateurish tripe!
I suggest that if you are after a real adaption of a manga then check out "Crying Freeman" as that is 100 times superior to this dull offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can you give products negative stars?, 24 Oct. 2008
By 
R. Hill "Rikk Hill" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [DVD] (DVD)
This is, without a doubt, the absolute very worst film ever produced by humanity. It's worse than Battlefield Earth. It's worse than the Highlander sequels. It's worse than A Nymphoid Barbarian In Dinosaur Hell.

Having seen this film on TV, I bought the DVD because I felt the need to demonstrate to my friends just how bad this film is. Since I don't have any friends, it's never been viewed. In fact, it's still in its plastic wrapper. I'm worried that if I unwrap it, the badness will leak out into my other DVDs, and the next time I watch Batman Begins or Fight Club, they'll all mysteriously suck.

Worst Film Ever. Run now, and save yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, cringe worthy film, 19 Jun. 2004
By 
Mr Mark Tonin (Penicuik, Mid-Lothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [DVD] (DVD)
Never have I ever witnessed such a poor martial arts film in my life; not only are the sets used very cheap, but the acting is far worst, with the lead character (Gary Daniels) extremely wooden and painful to watch.
Having been a fan of the manga comic series and of the animated film, I was extremely disappointed after having wasted the best part of two hours on this C-movie (at best!). The fighting scenes are pitiful, with none of the flair or excitement of the traditional japanese animated series being translated to this film.
Avoid at all costs, as this film will leave you wishing you were blind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the cast and crew should face a firing squad, 4 Jun. 2007
By 
This review is from: Fist Of The North Star [DVD] (DVD)
as someone who has seen both the animated series and movie

i will say this DONT SEE THIS FILM it is bilge water

excremental in its writing and plot and acting

this film is an example of why hollywood should stop nicking ideas from asia

the ring anyone! and if you still buy this DVD after reading this

review and the other eight on this site who all are telling you

that its not anime tv and film series then may kenshiro practice

his fist of the north star on your brain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fist of the North Star [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£3.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews