Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Difference Between Me And You Is That You're All Wrong,
Five stars. See that? It's simple. Well done, 'slainbyelf' (but it's a shame about your name). This is a band that no longer exists. They were criminally ignored, and will be mourned by a very small group of people. This album is excellent, but be warned, people expecting another 'Mclusky Do Dallas' or 'My Pain And Sadness Is More Sad And Painful Than Yours' will be a tad...
Published on 16 May 2005 by jon c james

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Difference Between A Good And Bad Record
The songs in this release tend to drag on - this record sounds like a living tribute to Jesus Lizard and Shellac - while that probably gives them some punk rock points (along with the ones garnered from Albini's production) it doesn't make for a very good record in this case. There is a certain amount of very fresh and humorous lyricism in this record (the band singing...
Published on 3 Aug 2004 by Mr. N. D. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Difference Between Me And You Is That You're All Wrong,, 16 May 2005
This review is from: The Difference Between Me And You Is That Im Not On Fire (Audio CD)
Five stars. See that? It's simple. Well done, 'slainbyelf' (but it's a shame about your name). This is a band that no longer exists. They were criminally ignored, and will be mourned by a very small group of people. This album is excellent, but be warned, people expecting another 'Mclusky Do Dallas' or 'My Pain And Sadness Is More Sad And Painful Than Yours' will be a tad disappointed as this is a decidedly more dark affair. Don't be put off by that, all the usuals are still present here- a savage, all-too-rare, intelligent sense of irony and humour, chaotic walls of noise and, of course, startling originality. From the opening guitars and 'doo-doo-doos' of Without MSG I Am Nothing through to the feedback drenched ending of Support Systems, this is an album most bands would sell their souls to be able to create. But for the most part, these songs lack the catchy pop hooks you might expect. As if to reassure all doubters that this general lack of catchiness was a concious decision, this album includes what is easily the catchiest, poppiest song Mclusky have ever recorded. It is called 'She Will Only Bring You Happiness' and it is brilliant. So is everything else on this album. If you buy this album and you are not impressed, you can blame me, and I will happily send you a written apology. But it will be an empty, meaningless apology, riddled with dirty limericks and sly comments about how rubbish your taste in music is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly below 'Do Dallas' but still best UK album 2004, 28 Nov 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Difference Between Me And You Is That Im Not On Fire (Audio CD)
Frankly, anyone who tries to suggest this album isn't worth owning needs their head examined. While it's not up to 'Do Dallas' standard, this is more like saying 'The Bends' isn't as good an album as 'OK Computer' (which is true but misses the point). While 'Do Dallas' flows from track to track in seamless brilliance, 'The Difference Between...' is simply a collection of great songs (with maybe a couple of slightly 'off' ones).
The major difference is the new drummer who proves that he's about a billion times their old one in terms of ability. Also, there must have been more money available here because the whole album sounds excellent, particularly the drums that boom out with impressive depth.
The band play around more with production here, as evidenced by the genius of 'Slay', while still maintaining their worthy commitment to hideous, ear-bleeding Pixies-tinged noise. This album undoubtedly marks them out as the only important UK band of the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Difference Between Me And You Is That You're All Wrong,, 16 May 2005
This review is from: The Difference Between Me And You Is That Im Not On Fire (Audio CD)
Five stars. See that? It's simple. Well done, 'slainbyelf' (but it's a shame about your name). This is a band that no longer exists. They were criminally ignored, and will be mourned by a very small group of people.
This album is excellent, but be warned, people expecting another 'Mclusky Do Dallas' or 'My Pain And Sadness Is More Sad And Painful Than Yours' will be a tad disappointed as this is a decidedly darker affair. Don't be put off by that, all the usuals are still present here- a savage, all-too-rare, intelligent sense of irony and humour, chaotic walls of noise and, of course, startling originality. From the opening guitars and 'doo-doo-doos' of Without MSG I Am Nothing through to the feedback drenched ending of Support Systems, this is an album most bands would sell their souls to be able to create. But for the most part, these songs lack the catchy pop hooks you might expect from this Welsh trio. As if to reassure all doubters that this general lack of catchiness was a concious decision, this album includes what is easily the catchiest, poppiest song Mclusky have ever recorded. It is called 'She Will Only Bring You Happiness' and it is brilliant. So is everything else on this album. If you buy this album and you are not impressed, you can blame me, and I will happily send you a written apology. But it will be an empty, meaningless apology, riddled with dirty limericks and sly comments about how rubbish your taste in music is. I love you all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mclusky are amazing.. and that's all you need to know., 10 May 2004
By 
B. Marwood (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Difference Between Me And You Is That Im Not On Fire (Audio CD)
I was desperate to pick up a copy of this album - i eventually managed to get it the week before it came out. My excitement was based on Mclusky's past performance, and true to form they don't disappoint.
This third album marks somewhat of a turning point for Mclusky as it sees them trade their normal punk feel for a hard rock one, and the end result is an all-out eardrum assault. The first track sets the tone perfectly, as "Without MSG I Am Nothing" is everything you expect from Mclusky: sharp (but quite random) lyrics, a killer distorted bass riff and so much fuzz on the guitar that you can barely hear the strangled vocals. This is true for most of the Albini-produced album, with only the odd slip-up: "KKKitchens.." sounds very 'muddy' and unpleasant even for a mclusky track, whilst "Slay" is just pointless noise. The rest of the album more than makes up for this though, as the catchy choruses of "That Man Will Not Hang" and "She Will Only Bring You Happiness" snare you instantly.
Still present in the songs is the singalong element, but there are now nice vocal timing twists where both Chapple and Falkous sing the same line but in a round robin style. This adds to the songwriting and is a brilliant touch, meaning songs like “..MSG..” and “She Will Only Bring You Happiness” (where the line ‘our old singer is a sex criminal..’ is repeated until you’re in tears) are easily the most refreshing things Mclusky have done in a long time. If you haven’t heard Mclusky before, whilst their first albums sounded like the harsher moments of The Icarus Line and , this album is much more akin to rock acts such as Idlewild, Weezer and Modest Mouse (only with much harsher lyrics) whilst it preserves that hardcore feel. There are moments in this album where the songs are almost relaxed as evident in "Forget About Him I'm Mint" (yep, the song titles are still brilliant), with passing mentions to boogieboards, X-Wing and "man-legs".. all of which sounds more like art-school ramblings of Blur and Franz Ferdinand than the Mclusky of old. Definitely a welcome change though.
Curiously, this album has a number of surprising omissions. None of the singles that they released on the run up to this album feature anywhere on it, yet they have elected to include “1956 and All That”, which was one of the b-sides. Frustrations aside, “The Difference Between Me And You Is That I’m Not On Fire” is proof that Mclusky can continue to be excellent with their new drummer and new style of writing (it is also proof that even if you lock Mclusky in a room with a big name producer like Steve Albini, they’re still not going to grow up – so many bands feel the need to dumb down what they do once they get to this level in order to sell more records). I urge you to check this out if you’ve liked anything they’ve ever done, as well as if you’re a big fan of the hard rock/screaming vocals combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Kick!!!, 4 July 2011
This review is from: The Difference Between Me And You Is That Im Not On Fire (Audio CD)
This album kills, kills, kills!! Truly amazing. I'm both addiceted and in love. OWN IT, LIVE IT, LOVE IT! Wahaa!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mclusky new record, 18 May 2004
By 
Mr. S. J. Turner "P. FACT" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Difference Between Me And You Is That Im Not On Fire (Audio CD)
'The difference between me and you is that i'm not on fire' is not quite as good as 'Mclusky do Dallas', but it isn't far off. The Steve Albini production is as usual superb showing once again what can be achieved with the guitar (turned up), bass (also turned up) and drum (relentless). Despite obvious nods to Shellac, Jesus Lizard and Girls v Boys, Mclusky are still very distinctive. I'm thoroughly excited by this band and so should you be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i'm not on fire, 12 Jun 2004
By 
E Parry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Difference Between Me And You Is That Im Not On Fire (Audio CD)
This album is a bit darker and more subtle than Mclusky's previous two. Ok that's partly because on certain songs the words are buried under walls of guitar noise, but it's also because the songs themselves are different in certain ways. At first I basically thought "this is ok, but not as good as Mclusky Do Dallas", that album basically being essential. The fact is though, '...Dallas' was full of instantly memorable songs, which was great, but this one is more of the 'songs-that-are-great-but-need-time-to-grow-on-you' variety. Admitedly that won't take long. It's a pleasure in fact to keep noticing great lyrics that you didn't notice before in amongst the ones that you did. It's more of an album of album-songs - not in a bad way, it's just that most of the songs seem to be made to fit into the course of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Things can only get better, 22 May 2004
This review is from: The Difference Between Me And You Is That Im Not On Fire (Audio CD)
When I first got to listen to Mclusky, I was pleasantly suprised by the honesty of their music, loud and aggressive, full of good tunes and witty lyrics. The new album just carries on, as a band they just seem to get better and better, which makes a refreshing change when you consider the amount of tripe out there at the moment, buy this cd you won't be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Difference Between A Good And Bad Record, 3 Aug 2004
By 
Mr. N. D. Jones "sheeeep" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Difference Between Me And You Is That Im Not On Fire (Audio CD)
The songs in this release tend to drag on - this record sounds like a living tribute to Jesus Lizard and Shellac - while that probably gives them some punk rock points (along with the ones garnered from Albini's production) it doesn't make for a very good record in this case. There is a certain amount of very fresh and humorous lyricism in this record (the band singing "our own singer is a sex criminal" in "She will only bring you Happiness" comes to mind) most of it seems bludgeoned, perhaps by guitars, perhaps by seriousness. If you haven't heard Mclusky before check out "mclusky do dallas" if you have and you really liked that then maybe consider buying this, maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was Blown away until............, 2 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Difference Between Me And You Is That Im Not On Fire (Audio CD)
This album is a classic - in it's own right! Unfortunately it's not consistantly great throughout. Some songs I just stood back and thought "WOW" this band really has it going on but once I thought that and moved to the next track it's like they give up - literally! 50% of this album is probably the best you will hear this year but unlike most albums you hear and let grow on you, the other 50% will not grow on you no matter how you try - believe me I tried!
Overall I would have spent twice the money I did to hear the half album that is absolutely great but unfortunately that rating has to take a serious punch in the stomach because of the six songs that really bring it down. I can't wait for the next one though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews