Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Girl Makes Great Little Film.
You could not but love Shirley Temple.
This is a great film of hers and you could not help but be touched at the sadness and injustice worked out in the story. Shirley Temples friendship with the little maid is a great touch too.
I think little girls today would love this story and maybe little boys too if they were not surounded by their peers.
They would...
Published on 16 Sept. 2005 by D. Finlay

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD features largely absent
I'm not commenting on the film's quality. (I strongly suspect that everybody reading these reviews already holds Temple to be both adorable and a great actor.) What I would like to point out is that DVD capacity is totally wasted in this product. It should not be described as "main language English", but as "ONLY language English". There are no other dialogue tracks, and...
Published on 6 July 2008 by Capucine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Girl Makes Great Little Film., 16 Sept. 2005
By 
D. Finlay (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Princess [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
You could not but love Shirley Temple.
This is a great film of hers and you could not help but be touched at the sadness and injustice worked out in the story. Shirley Temples friendship with the little maid is a great touch too.
I think little girls today would love this story and maybe little boys too if they were not surounded by their peers.
They would have to admit they enjoyed it too. This innocence and optimism is missing from so much of film today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Princess [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
This is my favourite Shirley Temple movie and not just because it is set in Victorian England. It is a pure fairy tale of riches to rags to riches - pure escapism which we can all enjoy safe in the knowledge that this was one child star who never suffered any kind of abuse or exploitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shirley temple, 31 May 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Princess [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is great seen it many times as a child and it still has the same magic about it,a must for any old film fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's my go-to when I'm home sick and just want to see something great. Shirley Temple is adorable but real, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a lovely, lovely little film. It's my go-to when I'm home sick and just want to see something great. Shirley Temple is adorable but real, and the story is something you gotta love. Really great, and one I re-watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull Film, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Princess [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
Shirley Temple has always been a joy to watch since my school days. I love her cheeky ways. would recommend it to friends and family. Perfect viewing anytime and for the rest of the family too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Princess [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
She was such a good little actress and so talented, never forgot all the Shirley Temple films from years ago, she was the same age as me when I watched her films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original, 29 April 2007
By 
M. G. Hatfield "trekle5" (North Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Princess [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
This film has been remade for the new generation as many of Shirley's film have like Heidi which was better.

I have no problems with this film but both seem to change the ending to Sara (Shirley) is reunited with her solider father after he is report missing in action if you know the story Sara never sees her father again.

If you want a film that closely follows the book you won't find them here I don't think there is a film of this story which sticks to the book 100% the newest Heidi is the best film for sticking to the story but is you are a fan of Temple films this may be for you.

Both versions pull a the heartstrings by both and you can decide which is your favourite but it's a great film which ever you choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD features largely absent, 6 July 2008
By 
Capucine (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Princess [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not commenting on the film's quality. (I strongly suspect that everybody reading these reviews already holds Temple to be both adorable and a great actor.) What I would like to point out is that DVD capacity is totally wasted in this product. It should not be described as "main language English", but as "ONLY language English". There are no other dialogue tracks, and it lacks all subtitling, even in English. So forget about any other bells and whistles.
Perhaps I was spoiled by previous DVD purchases, which all included them. Perhaps nobody else would imagine that they would be included, at this price. But, since I would have appreciated being forewarned, here goes my warning to others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Family Entertainment, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Princess [1939] [DVD] (DVD)
Nobody can make you want to cry more than Shirley Temple.
By far her best film as child star.
More shirley Temple films should be shown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Shirley Temple Movie, 27 Aug. 2008
Imagine this:
You are an actual princess but your dad gets called away to the army and no one believes you so you end up as a maid in a boarding school and everyone thinks you are a liar - except for an Indian Punjab. The Punjab wants to make you happy so while you are sleepign he decorates your entire room to be a princess room in a scullery maids room and this gives you the strenght to survive until your father comes home and rescues you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Princess [1939] [DVD]
The Little Princess [1939] [DVD] by William A. Seiter (DVD - 2004)
£3.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews