Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wave of Mutilation - The Best of the Pixies (Audio CD)
This album has seasons where it's hard to find for some reason so, I bought this hard copy and now I'll never need to look for it again, great buy! Good price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked!, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wave of Mutilation - The Best of the Pixies (Audio CD)
Lots of really great tracks and plenty of them packed onto this CD. Have played this a lot and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 19 Oct 2012
By 
BJB (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wave of Mutilation - The Best of the Pixies (Audio CD)
If The Pixies released this album today it would go to the top of the charts. It's hard to believe this music is as old as it is. Very heavy, but very beautiful at the same time, and compelling to listen to. This music covers such a range that I reckon most people would enjoy at least part of it. My only star-loss criticism is that the version of Here Comes Your Man on this album is not as good as the remix version available on iTunes. Otherwise it's the definitive Pixies collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great intro to pixies, 1 Jan 2012
By 
h c (huddersfield) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wave of Mutilation - The Best of the Pixies (Audio CD)
I bought this for a foo's fan - they love it! Great selection of tunes, soft and loud at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True genius!, 10 Jan 2009
This review is from: Wave of Mutilation - The Best of the Pixies (Audio CD)
The Pixies are quite simply genius, I got this best of album after not having listened to them for years. It was great re-immersing myself back into that teenage world again, the fun and the angst. The Pixies lull you in with a gentle embrace, then when you feel secure, punch you in the face! The songs are a mixture of pop and brutality, I could go on and on, just buy this as a starter, and I bet you'll get the back catalogue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Place To Start, 18 July 2007
By 
nm1270 (Tonypandy,Mid Glamorgan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wave of Mutilation - The Best of the Pixies (Audio CD)
It isn't difficult to see why bands like Nirvana were so influenced by The Pixies.Songs based around a big thick bass sound with wailing,thrashing six strings crashing in with the chorus.Coupled with the high-pitched,screeching vocals of Charles Thompson, it all created a quite stunning effect.
If you are unfamiliar with or missed this wonderful Massachusett four piece during their brief six year career then this is the best place to start.
The Pixies musical styles are many and varied and this disc captures the very best of their songs from their four albums 'Surfa Rosa','Doolittle','Bossanova','Trompe Le Monde' and the mini-album 'Come On Pilgrim'.
The manic,frenzied assault of 'Broken Face',the chugging,menacing 'Bone Machine',the georgeous 'Where Is My Mind',the pure pop of 'Digging For Fire',the surf pop of 'Here Comes Your Man' and the mighty 'Gouge Away','Debaser' and 'Wave Of Mutilation' (from their best work-1989's 'Doolittle.')are some of the highlights from the 22 gems on offer here.
Complaints?Well there will always be unexplained inclusions and omitions,I personally would have left out 'Vamos' and included 'Break My Body','River Euphrates' or the dark,brooding 'Cactus' from their first album 'Surfa Rosa'.
All in all though a brilliant introduction to a truly unique band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like a pick-axe - not subtle, but ground breaking, 5 May 2004
By 
R. B. Moore "rmoore322" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wave of Mutilation - The Best of the Pixies (Audio CD)
Only 4 stars? Well, the Pixies were one of a kind, and this album sums up their career pretty well, so it's a good album if you haven't already got the back catalogue. The track listing is above and has the big hitters you'd expect, Planet of Sound being my personal best but if you really like them, you'll have all this already. And this is the crux with this album and with the Pixies, most people either love them or hate them. So you'll either have it all or want none. It's aggressive, it's passionate, it's creative, and noisy. Ragged guitars are driven by a solid bass and the vocals crawl all over the top in a real scream. It's never particularly an easy listen and there isn't too much variety, but it does capture the essence of them.
I got Trompe Le Monde free by saving crisp wrappers and that's how I found them first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indespensable., 5 May 2004
By 
Elliot Davies "ahttt" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wave of Mutilation - The Best of the Pixies (Audio CD)
The legacy of the Pixies is truly awe inspiring. It is fair to say that they are the godfathers of modern alternative rock. Without The Pixies there would be no Nirvana, no Radiohead, even Coldplay would cease to exist. We have to thank the Pixies. Without them we would have no choice but to listen to gareth gates et al.
And now we are blessed with the ultimate compilation of the most essential of Pixies songs. True, most of the existing fans would already own all of these songs, but this is the perfect opportunity for a new evolution of music fans to thank the Pixies for everything.
Every song is a classic. Caribou and Where Is My Mind are truly beautiful. Debaser is a rock anthem. Nimrod's Son is intensity defined. There is something here for every taste, for every mood. The songs are just the right length. They do not go on for too long yet they stay with you forever.
And best of all is Black Francis's songwriting. He simply cannot write a love songs. Instead we get songs about incest, about sending bloody clothing across the country, about surreal films. This may well be the best album ever made. Truly indespensable. Recommended to anyone who appreciates "proper" music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great starter for the new fan, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: Wave of Mutilation - The Best of the Pixies (Audio CD)
Well i just wish i'd listened to this band yesteryear in there prime but sometimes things just avoid you. I bought this cos they were talked of as better than Nirvana by quite alot of people i knew so i gave this a whirl to see what the main hits were like. The answer was OUTSTANDING and i have since backlogged and filed up my Pixies catalogue. I just need some B-sides. My thoughts are that some great songs aren't on this best of cd which i usually find with my favourite bands. You buy the big hits but find some brilliant underplayed songs. My favourite album is Doolittle but it isn't head and shoulders above everything else by the Pixies such is rhe quality from this band. They now sit proudly amongst my favourite bands and musicians of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pixies - and the devil is six, 17 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Wave of Mutilation - The Best of the Pixies (Audio CD)
There is another universe in this collection. Genius inhabits it. Pseudo or what. This - and Death to the Pixies (incl live bonus CD!) are as good a place to start as any. The current high anxiety is not for nothing. Pre-rap music started here and be thankful. Listen to Tame and weep (Radiohead, Nirvana, Ash). A whole constellation of your top ranking music simply would never have existed. The Pixes are that good. A top pop song? - no prob - Waiting for Your Man. Finally listen to Monkey Gone to Heaven, the most fabulous 3 mins on this earth, possibly. Rock me Joe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews