Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars "It Wasn't Me!" (who cut this film)
There are some movies you could show the most humourless person on earth and if they don't laugh at it then they're beyond saving. "Rocketman" is such a film. Before I saw this movie, I never really knew that comedy could be so wacky yet so endearing and impossibly hilarious, all at the same time. The incomparable Harland Williams stars as highly eccentric computer-genius...
Published on 20 Mar. 2011 by Atli Hafsteinsson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet swirling onion rings...
Fred Z. Randall is a geeky spacecraft designer, who gets the chance to make his dream come true.

Travel to Mars as a member of the first manned flight there....

Liking this film really depends on whether or not you like the main star, Harland Williams. Here in the UK, he's only really famous for his scene in Dumb and Dumber, and everything else he's...
Published 17 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars "It Wasn't Me!" (who cut this film), 20 Mar. 2011
By 
Atli Hafsteinsson (Reykjavík, Iceland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocketman [DVD] (DVD)
There are some movies you could show the most humourless person on earth and if they don't laugh at it then they're beyond saving. "Rocketman" is such a film. Before I saw this movie, I never really knew that comedy could be so wacky yet so endearing and impossibly hilarious, all at the same time. The incomparable Harland Williams stars as highly eccentric computer-genius Fred Randall, who becomes the last-minute choice of a third crew member on the first mission to Mars. From before the training to the mission itself, Fred manages to turn both NASA and Mars upside down with his hilarious, but always innocent, escapades. Accompanied by his three partners - cocky commander William Overbeck, no-nonsense scientist Julie Ford and pranky chip Ulysses - Fred's adventure to Mars still leaves me in stitches. And this is coming from a man who's seen this movie many times.

As Beau Bridges in the role of Bud Nesbitt rightly states, Fred is both a complete genius and a total fool. When Fred manages to keep his mouth shut (which isn't often), you might find him flying through the corridors of NASA on a runaway chair or conducting a worldwide chorus of "He's got the Whole World in his Hands". There's lots of stuff to make you gasp of breath for laughter, often in succession that leaves you little room to catch your breath. Rocketman's humour, however wacky and often ridiculous, somehow (don't ask me how) manages to keep its integrity. There is also a lot of clever stuff for the less slapstick-loving viewers.

However, the release of this DVD is another one where Disney makes the stupid decision to cut for no apparent reason. The very first scene of the movie, where Fred attempts his own 'landing' as a kid, is all-but cut, making it completely pointless and, what's worse, ruining the mirroring words of Fred as an adult. I don't understand why this cut was made, and for that, I am detracting a star from the score. However, if you want a movie that just gives you pure laughs, then this is the movie to go (even if it is a little historically incorrect).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet swirling onion rings..., 17 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Rocketman [DVD] (DVD)
Fred Z. Randall is a geeky spacecraft designer, who gets the chance to make his dream come true.

Travel to Mars as a member of the first manned flight there....

Liking this film really depends on whether or not you like the main star, Harland Williams. Here in the UK, he's only really famous for his scene in Dumb and Dumber, and everything else he's done non-Farrelly, has gone straight to DVD and disappeared without a trace.

What appealed to me about this movie, and you will know where I am coming from if you've read my other reviews, is that its one of those films from the late nineties that were rife and were released almost every other week.

Comedies that shouldn't be good, but for some reason, you seem to have some endearment for them.

Carpool, Gone Fishin', Most Wanted, the list is endless, and the films are as watchable as ever.

It's a straight forward movie, silly geek gets a job that is over his head, every one hates him and takes liberties to begin with, but come the end, he's the hero and he falls in love.

It's straight forward silly stuff, with a few laughs that you can switch your brain off to for ninety or so minutes.

If you haven't seen it and like this sort of movies, catch it, its quite funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It wasn't me!, 24 Sept. 2000
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This movie takes a serious look at the perils of space. What is you reaction to a sudden influx of methane in your space suit. My reaction was to express excess laughter. We know this movie is a work of art by seeing how one passes the time in deep space. And the chimp is on dummy. You barley have time to recover from one situation before a funnier one comes along.

How appropriate to have an alien (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) Harland Williams in a space movie, kind of like William Shatner.

See Jessica Lundy (Julie Ford) again in "The Stupids" (1996).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 22 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Rocketman [DVD] (DVD)
one of my all time fav comedy films, a must see if you havent already, got my dvd in no time at all, very pleased with the service amazon provided
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... we no longer have a video recorder and we enjoyed it just as we did many years ago, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocketman [DVD] (DVD)
Went back in time as my boys who are very much older than they were when we first and continuously watched this film wanted to buy the DVD as we no longer have a video recorder and we enjoyed it just as we did many years ago, a totally family feel good film 😊
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rockman, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Rocketman [DVD] (DVD)
Love this film was sooo funny great for the family to watch it was delivered on time and i was informed of its whereabouts the whole time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best film ever made!, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocketman [DVD] (DVD)
this is a wonderful and very funny disney film for all ages! I have watched it probably about 40 times over the years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rocketman, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocketman [DVD] (DVD)
I just had to have this movie. Harland Williams is really funny it this one. Rocketman is cool! Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocketman [DVD] (DVD)
Everything I expected and more. Very funny and kept you totally engrossed. I wish there was a Rocket Man 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rocket Man, 28 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocketman [DVD] (DVD)
What a funny family film this is. The story is daft and the whole family will be rolling on floor laughing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocketman [DVD]
Rocketman [DVD] by Stuart Gillard (DVD - 2004)
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews