Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£9.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2005
as a devout libertines/babyshambles fan, when first hearing this song i felt slightly let down...quite cheesy i thought. however after further listening i can safely say that could be no further from the truth.
for lovers is an achingly beautiful song which reminds us how much talent pete could be throwing away..
back from the dead was a real surprise. really gritty, hard edged, up there with some of the best of the libertines.
the video is a waste of time though!!
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2007
And for all the swine who thought Pete was some lost soul, think again. if you must listen to any love song from this chap with the sad owl face, then this is the one, a magnificent beauty of a song.
The B-side is Back From The Dead, not the version from the Down In Albion album, but some other version, which i think is actually better than the album version. Plus you get the For Lovers video too.
Listen to the lyrics and the sad melody. Maybe wipe a tear from the eye too, up to you really, but do listen with the heart.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2006
What a beautiful song ! - Pete shows exactly what his talent is worth !
I loved this song so much it was my first dance at my wedding - thanks Pete for a truely amazing song that I wont ever forget
I am a devout Libs fan and will miss the Libs - but Pete shows on this song what he is capable of ... well done to the Wolfman too
If you havent heard this yet - buy it - you will come to love the song as much as I have
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2004
What a great song by Pete Doherty and his buddy Wolfman, the melody slowly swirls, creeps and just builds into a truly gorgeous little number.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2004
A wonderfully simple but beautiful song, that overshadows many of the NYC bands. Pete is a wonderfull talent, a english eccentric that we need more of. For lovers sounds like it was recorded in wolfman's back room, with its simple piano and drum melody. This song swallows you up and wraps in the comfort that there is hope for the lovers. With pete throwaway tones that hark back too early smiths. The song is a far cry away from the urchin guitar sound we have come to know from the libertines, it's a completly new sound that suits pete but maybe not the libertines. but it couldn't have been done without the Wolfman (whoever he may be). Anyway a beautiful love song and a instant classic thanks pete.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Pete and his friend Wolfman a brilliant combination. Something different from Mr Doherty,and a must for all Doherty fans buy it now
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2004
This track is simply beautiful, and anyone who follows the Libertines will not be surprised at all of the quality of songs Pete Doherty can produce. Most music press have built the Libertines up to be nothing but a garage rock band with a bit of talent but they couldnt be further from the truth. They can right deep, poetic track til the cows come home!!!
0Comment9 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2004
This is a beautifully written track by Pete and his mate Wolfman that sends a shiver down the spine when listened to. Pete's honesty and frankness in the way he sings the song means that it is impossible not to think of a special someone when hearing it. Very different from the stuff Libs fans are used to, but that doesn't make it a disappointment. The sheer beauty of this song is the simple piano, Pete's melancholy voice and the way in which the hairs stand up on your neck everytime the song is played. definitley the single of the year so far and one that will possibly get Pete the credit he deserves as THE songwriter and inspiration to a generation. Blindin! The videos not bad either, just like the song- simple yet effective.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2004
Once again Pete Doherty of the awesome Libertines has made another excellent record. His distinctive voice over a beautiful piano led harmony has the word masterpiece written all over it. I have to admit ive never heard of Wolfman before but from this record i must say he is great. Its slightly different from any of the Libertines music but that little change is just right for Pete. Whatever you do go and get this record as soon as you can!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
First class
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.