Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars achingly beautiful, 18 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: For Lovers (Audio CD)
as a devout libertines/babyshambles fan, when first hearing this song i felt slightly let down...quite cheesy i thought. however after further listening i can safely say that could be no further from the truth.
for lovers is an achingly beautiful song which reminds us how much talent pete could be throwing away..
back from the dead was a real surprise. really gritty, hard edged, up there with some of the best of the libertines.
the video is a waste of time though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Pete and his Wolfman, 27 July 2007
This review is from: For Lovers (Audio CD)
And for all the swine who thought Pete was some lost soul, think again. if you must listen to any love song from this chap with the sad owl face, then this is the one, a magnificent beauty of a song.
The B-side is Back From The Dead, not the version from the Down In Albion album, but some other version, which i think is actually better than the album version. Plus you get the For Lovers video too.
Listen to the lyrics and the sad melody. Maybe wipe a tear from the eye too, up to you really, but do listen with the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for lovers .......? Yes definatly !!!, 23 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: For Lovers (Audio CD)
What a beautiful song ! - Pete shows exactly what his talent is worth !
I loved this song so much it was my first dance at my wedding - thanks Pete for a truely amazing song that I wont ever forget
I am a devout Libs fan and will miss the Libs - but Pete shows on this song what he is capable of ... well done to the Wolfman too
If you havent heard this yet - buy it - you will come to love the song as much as I have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Beautiful Song, 20 Mar 2004
This review is from: For Lovers (Audio CD)
What a great song by Pete Doherty and his buddy Wolfman, the melody slowly swirls, creeps and just builds into a truly gorgeous little number.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter and the wolf, 21 Mar 2004
This review is from: For Lovers (Audio CD)
A wonderfully simple but beautiful song, that overshadows many of the NYC bands. Pete is a wonderfull talent, a english eccentric that we need more of. For lovers sounds like it was recorded in wolfman's back room, with its simple piano and drum melody. This song swallows you up and wraps in the comfort that there is hope for the lovers. With pete throwaway tones that hark back too early smiths. The song is a far cry away from the urchin guitar sound we have come to know from the libertines, it's a completly new sound that suits pete but maybe not the libertines. but it couldn't have been done without the Wolfman (whoever he may be). Anyway a beautiful love song and a instant classic thanks pete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the man, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Lovers (Audio CD)
Pete and his friend Wolfman a brilliant combination. Something different from Mr Doherty,and a must for all Doherty fans buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of 2004.....so far!!!, 13 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: For Lovers (Audio CD)
This track is simply beautiful, and anyone who follows the Libertines will not be surprised at all of the quality of songs Pete Doherty can produce. Most music press have built the Libertines up to be nothing but a garage rock band with a bit of talent but they couldnt be further from the truth. They can right deep, poetic track til the cows come home!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top class, 20 Mar 2004
This review is from: For Lovers (Audio CD)
This is a beautifully written track by Pete and his mate Wolfman that sends a shiver down the spine when listened to. Pete's honesty and frankness in the way he sings the song means that it is impossible not to think of a special someone when hearing it. Very different from the stuff Libs fans are used to, but that doesn't make it a disappointment. The sheer beauty of this song is the simple piano, Pete's melancholy voice and the way in which the hairs stand up on your neck everytime the song is played. definitley the single of the year so far and one that will possibly get Pete the credit he deserves as THE songwriter and inspiration to a generation. Blindin! The videos not bad either, just like the song- simple yet effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's Done It Again, 17 Mar 2004
This review is from: For Lovers (Audio CD)
Once again Pete Doherty of the awesome Libertines has made another excellent record. His distinctive voice over a beautiful piano led harmony has the word masterpiece written all over it. I have to admit ive never heard of Wolfman before but from this record i must say he is great. Its slightly different from any of the Libertines music but that little change is just right for Pete. Whatever you do go and get this record as soon as you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars smashing single, 20 April 2004
By 
l delahay (great yarmouth, norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: For Lovers (Audio CD)
This is so stunning, i reluctantly played the song due to the hype of thelibertines, but this is such a great song.
This is a classic tune of2004, people need to hear this song its a gem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For Lovers
For Lovers by Wolfman (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews