Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.0 out of 5 stars28
2.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2004
This CD is not at all what you expect, despite the fact that it isn't very expensive. From the first listen it becomes clear that these are not the original recordings, but some re-recordings, probably by a '70's incarnation of the group to judge by the synthesiser and disco-type beat on some tracks. For the unwary, the cover also looks remarkably similar to the Phil Spector recordings
0Comment|204 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2007
Beware this CD is not the original band 'The Crystals' which is probably why it is so cheap!
0Comment|83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2007
The Crystals were a great girl group of the sixites, but this CD denegrates their reputation.

The music tracks have been messed with so much that they are unbearable to listen to. So much electronic and beat music from electric drums is ruinous in comparision with the Crystals original recording. After listening to the first five tracks, this CD was thrown in the bin. It's not even worth using for a coffee coaster!! I never even got as far as "Da Doo Ron Ron" - goodness knows how aweful that would have sounded.

I haven't given up on the Crystals - I will get a good CD that is worthy of them, but this one ain't it. Don't judge them by this CD - just save your money for the real thing. You have been warned...!!!
11 comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2008
Wasted a week of my life waiting for this rubbish to arrive. I mistakingly neglected to read the revues already on site. It should have stated on the C.D. that these were NOT original recordings. Not good for Amazon image either.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2008
Ought to be sued for this one as its fooling people.Using a photo of a one time group is legally wrong and somehow you know by the titles its a con.Calling a song Going to the chapel is pig ignorance for a start-Chapel of love was originally made by the Ronettes and a hit for the Dixie Cups while Rescue Me was nothing to do with even a girl group
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2007
These tracks are cheap drum-machine driven 80s-sounding remakes of the classic 60s originals - do not on any account touch this item, even with the longest of barge-poles!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2009
If I could give it zero stars I would.

Same as all the other reviews - horrible discoish re-recordings (and Amazon should highlight this a little better I think).

I just hope the original singers get some royalties from my wasted cash.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
I am afraid this is not worth the time, much less the money, spent! No liner notes, no information on the band or the recordings, whatsoever. And what's worse, these classic tunes appear here with a production treatment that includes new instruments, especially on the rhythm and beat of the tracks. The result is an apparently "updated" collection that does not stand the pass of time half as well as the original recordings.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2010
When you buy a CD called "The Best of The Crystals", which has a photograph of the original group displayed prominently on the front cover, you can perhaps be forgiven for expecting that the tracks from which the CD has been compiled are also original. And when you then insert the disc into your player you'd also expect to hear the fantastic sound of the Wall of Sound Orchestra, supporting the dulcet tones of Darlene Love, one of the best voices of the 1960s.

If this is the case, then boy, are you going to be disappointed! What you get is a compilation of cover songs, produced by a group of singers misrepresenting themselves as the Crystals. I have rarely been so disappointed with an Amazon purchase. In fact, never. This CD is the same as you'd get if the resident band at your local working men's club were to rename themselves "The Beatles" and then record covers of Beatles songs to release on an album entitled "The Best of The Beatles". It would indeed be "The Best of The Beatles", but not actually recorded by them and certainly not the original hits.

What a con! I feel ripped off. I'll have to be more vigilant in future.

japhid
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2010
THIS CD IS AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE AND IS A REAL CON FOR THE UNSUSPECTING BUYER. IT BEARS NO RELATION TO THE ORIGINAL SPECTOR TRACKS AND ITS A SHAME THAT IT IS ON THE AMAZON SITE. AVOID (IN BIG LETTERS!)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)