Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow
A great CD, of the Golden age of pop music from the 60's. This great group of singers had some great hits and sadly not to well remembered now except on some of the 60's revival albums. Worth a listen too?
Published 13 months ago by sharp cookie

versus
202 of 202 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware - this is not what you expect!
This CD is not at all what you expect, despite the fact that it isn't very expensive. From the first listen it becomes clear that these are not the original recordings, but some re-recordings, probably by a '70's incarnation of the group to judge by the synthesiser and disco-type beat on some tracks. For the unwary, the cover also looks remarkably similar to the Phil...
Published on 29 Jun 2004 by Adrian Dunn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

202 of 202 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware - this is not what you expect!, 29 Jun 2004
By 
Adrian Dunn "adriandunn" (Peebles, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
This CD is not at all what you expect, despite the fact that it isn't very expensive. From the first listen it becomes clear that these are not the original recordings, but some re-recordings, probably by a '70's incarnation of the group to judge by the synthesiser and disco-type beat on some tracks. For the unwary, the cover also looks remarkably similar to the Phil Spector recordings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not 'The Crystals', 4 Jun 2007
By 
C. Yorston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Beware this CD is not the original band 'The Crystals' which is probably why it is so cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money....., 1 Oct 2007
By 
M. H. Ibbotson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
The Crystals were a great girl group of the sixites, but this CD denegrates their reputation.

The music tracks have been messed with so much that they are unbearable to listen to. So much electronic and beat music from electric drums is ruinous in comparision with the Crystals original recording. After listening to the first five tracks, this CD was thrown in the bin. It's not even worth using for a coffee coaster!! I never even got as far as "Da Doo Ron Ron" - goodness knows how aweful that would have sounded.

I haven't given up on the Crystals - I will get a good CD that is worthy of them, but this one ain't it. Don't judge them by this CD - just save your money for the real thing. You have been warned...!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Crystals - Not likely, 3 May 2008
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Wasted a week of my life waiting for this rubbish to arrive. I mistakingly neglected to read the revues already on site. It should have stated on the C.D. that these were NOT original recordings. Not good for Amazon image either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Crystals Tribute Act?, 26 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Ought to be sued for this one as its fooling people.Using a photo of a one time group is legally wrong and somehow you know by the titles its a con.Calling a song Going to the chapel is pig ignorance for a start-Chapel of love was originally made by the Ronettes and a hit for the Dixie Cups while Rescue Me was nothing to do with even a girl group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage, 29 Nov 2007
By 
WPW (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
These tracks are cheap drum-machine driven 80s-sounding remakes of the classic 60s originals - do not on any account touch this item, even with the longest of barge-poles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 8 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
If I could give it zero stars I would.

Same as all the other reviews - horrible discoish re-recordings (and Amazon should highlight this a little better I think).

I just hope the original singers get some royalties from my wasted cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a real rip -off / avoid like the plague, 23 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
THIS CD IS AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE AND IS A REAL CON FOR THE UNSUSPECTING BUYER. IT BEARS NO RELATION TO THE ORIGINAL SPECTOR TRACKS AND ITS A SHAME THAT IT IS ON THE AMAZON SITE. AVOID (IN BIG LETTERS!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How to butcher a classic, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Moises Navarro Sabater (Alicante, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
I am afraid this is not worth the time, much less the money, spent! No liner notes, no information on the band or the recordings, whatsoever. And what's worse, these classic tunes appear here with a production treatment that includes new instruments, especially on the rhythm and beat of the tracks. The result is an apparently "updated" collection that does not stand the pass of time half as well as the original recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars trash, 26 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Should have read the reviews first. This a third rate rip off of the original Crystals. It is an insult to a cheap CD player never mind an expensive one, and it is an insult to those us us who remember the original stunning recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of
The Best Of by Crystals (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews