Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best pure pop of the 70s
The Bay City Rollers have always sufferred from a bad reputation (among those that have never heard their music). So it comes as some surprise to hear just how great they were. It is just an injection of the purest pop you will ever hear. Don't try to analyse the lyrics, just go with the flow, and pretty soon you will be up out of the chair chanting S-A-T-U-R-D-A-Y...
Published on 26 July 2006 by Veronique Guemise

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'An Enjoyable Collection'
Awarding a score to this album is not an easy thing to do. Why? Because in reality a lot of the songs on this collection aren't very good. This said, however cheesy and throw away songs like 'Remember (Sha La La)', 'Shang-A- Lang' and numerous others are they are genuinely happy three minute (or less) pop songs and that's something sadly lacking I feel in today's world...
Published on 8 Nov 2007 by Antony May


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'An Enjoyable Collection', 8 Nov 2007
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of Bay City Rollers (Audio CD)
Awarding a score to this album is not an easy thing to do. Why? Because in reality a lot of the songs on this collection aren't very good. This said, however cheesy and throw away songs like 'Remember (Sha La La)', 'Shang-A- Lang' and numerous others are they are genuinely happy three minute (or less) pop songs and that's something sadly lacking I feel in today's world of the 5-6 minute self indulgent deadly serious 'single'. Maybe for this reason, this album is as much worth buying for the nostalgia trip that listening to it will take you on as it is for the music. All of the Rollers hits are here and most of the other tracks are of a similar ilk and at least passable. At times the sickly sweet lyrics do get a bit much but as a review of the Rollers most popular years this is hard to beat. Ironically, artistically, the best song on this whole set was the Rollers first flop single after a run of 11 consecutive hits 'The Way I Feel Tonight' (a more adult sounding ballad) from the 'It's A Game' album. A word of warning now. Nowhere on the packaging does it state that these recordings are the original versions and a few of the tracks on this collection sound to me as if they may have been edited slightly ('Keep On Dancing' barely makes 2 minutes for example) so real Rollers fans might need to check this out before purchasing this. For the rest of us however (who no doubt simply want to be reminded of their younger days and/or some fun teenage pop songs)I suspect that this collection will do nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best pure pop of the 70s, 26 July 2006
By 
This review is from: The Very Best of Bay City Rollers (Audio CD)
The Bay City Rollers have always sufferred from a bad reputation (among those that have never heard their music). So it comes as some surprise to hear just how great they were. It is just an injection of the purest pop you will ever hear. Don't try to analyse the lyrics, just go with the flow, and pretty soon you will be up out of the chair chanting S-A-T-U-R-D-A-Y Night, Shang-a-lang, bye bye baby, and all the rest of their classics. The music is as fresh today as the day it was recorded. If you are a fan, or just curious to hear what the "worst band of all time" sounded like, this is the place to start.

(and Saturday Night was released in the UK, before Les joined the band and wasn't a hit, but was re-recorded, with Les, soon after for their debut album. And it was this version that got to US number one a few years later).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of...., 7 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Very Best of Bay City Rollers (Audio CD)
To be perfectly honest the Rollers weren't my cup of tea back in the 70's BUT credit to them they had a great if not short chart career. Nice to hear the original recording of their Top 10 Hit from 1971, "Keep On Dancing". On all their other best of albums this one always seems to pop up as a re-recording. I'm not so sure that, "Give a liitle love" is the original recording having listened to it a couple of times...perhaps its been remastered as they like to call it these days? If you're a big fan of the Rollers then this album is definetly a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bay city rollers, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this album a few surprise songs I had never heard before and others that still get played at most venues these days really brought back my childhood
Great value from amazon to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars baycity fan, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They are still my favourites to listen to. Even my grandchildren like them.would recommend this to anyone.brings back memories of my youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Bay City Rollers., 16 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. C. J. Drage (Warwick, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Bay City Rollers (Audio CD)
Great if you like the Bay City Rollers - all their hits in one place. I bought off the Market Place - what a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Bay City Rollers (Audio CD)
its great, the more you listen to it the better it gets and it gonna be great for a party I am throwing next week
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Bay City Rollers (Audio CD)
Excellent product and service. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Bay City Rollers (Audio CD)
Great c.d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good product great service, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Bay City Rollers (Audio CD)
brings back memories ( bad for me good for other half)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of Bay City Rollers
The Very Best of Bay City Rollers by Bay City Rollers (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews