Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pocket knife, 18 Jan. 2013
By 
555 "555" (555) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorinox 02503 Army Knife Recruit (Sports)
Light, easy to handle, awesome quality swiss made, easy to clean and maintain so that makes perfect knife for food preparation outdoors, it has a good grip since no unnecessary tools will get in your way.
Even its just a 2 layer knife from the 84mm range (smaller than the normal 91mm spartan for example) its still action packed with tools and very friendly to first time users with the price and handling.
the main blade is just 5mm shorter than on the 91mm knifes, but still big enough to do the same duty as bigger knifes.
The only downside of it is that its almost impossible to get a belt pouch for it.
The best pouch i found (not for belt carry tho) is this one Victorinox Leather Pouch - Black its made to fit both this 84mm knife and any classic range 58mm knife.
Ideal for 1st time victorinox users, outdoors, camping, field or home kitchen and many more uses, simply a great pocket knife.
You will not get a better price as here, such a high quality Swiss made product for just a tenner.
And of course it is UK carry legal, NON-locking with blades under 3"
the main blade is about 2.5" and the small one is 1.5"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great first pocket knife, 22 Mar. 2010
By 
M. ROGERS (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorinox 02503 Army Knife Recruit (Sports)
great first pocket knife as it doesn't have a stupid corkscrew or a reamer (which no one wants), for the price of a mini one with much fewer features. only one downside is a lack of scissors but these are rarely needed as the 2 blades make up for it easily. one thing is that this is a perfect present for a student possibly attending university, and that the stigma attached to knifes should be ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very happy with this item., 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorinox 02503 Army Knife Recruit (Sports)
I needed this for opening hay bales and general horsey bits and bobs around the yard. Very pleased with it. Would buy another if I needed to and I highly recommend it. Size is good, good range of blades, sturdy construction. Only thing preventing a 5 star review is the nail notches for opening the blades are always too small and my nails break. But this is the same for all pocket knives I find. So maybe a 4 star is a bit harsh?

Very pleased overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Knife, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorinox 02503 Army Knife Recruit (Sports)
Build
This is wonderful knife and really solid. I own three Victorinox knives of different models, a small one that my wife uses on her key ring, and a larger one I keep in my backpack. This one is just the right weight and size for day to day use.

Carrying Around
I keep on my key ring with my car keys and probably the biggest knife of the series that you'd want to carry on a key-ring. The good thing with the keyring holder on this knife (unlike some of the other models), is that the keyring loop is opposite the longer knife, which makes it easier to use the knife when it's still on you keyring, why the other models have the loop at the joint of the main knife sort of confuses me and is slightly thoughtless in design. I guess I'd have preferred the bottle opener at the same side as the main knife as well for the same reason, as I'd guess for most people these are the most used tools on the knife.

Blades and Tools
Blades are really sharp out of the box, although if you're into sharpening then I've no doubt you could get it honed like a samurai sword. But for the manly purposes of cutting up your apple and oranges, and opening boxes, I find it perfect!
The bottle opener is a excellent, and amazingly, so are the screw drivers on the ends. And, I have opened a can with the can opener and it works (and it is a little work), like a charm.

Here is a positive and negative at the same time. You only get the tweezers and toothpick on the plastic handled knives, which is great, and they are useful. BUT. The handles do scratch up quickly and look a mess. For vanity purposes, I've actually put some cellotape down each side to minimise that. But ultimately, it is a tool and not a piece of jewellery, so I guess I'm being a bit picky and it in no way distracts from just how good this knife is. Postage was great, delivery fast even to here on Shetland!

Packaging
It comes it a pretty rubbish cardboard slip, so if you're getting this as a present, be prepared to buy something to present it in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A simple, but well-made knife., 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorinox 02503 Army Knife Recruit (Sports)
I bought this knife primarily for every day carry, though I also carry the smaller, but more complex MiniChamp knife. But unlike my MiniChamp this comes with a longer and wider blade, which will be perfect for cutting apples etc. The smaller blade on the MiniChamp can work it out, however the Recruit is just better for the task.

I noticed that this knife is very light - almost too light. A low weight is good for pocket carrying (you simply cannot feel the knife in your pocket). But it can also hit the spot where it feels a bit like a toy. I am not saying that it can't live up to its tasks, it is sturdy and will last quite a few years, nevertheless it could easily be a bit heavier.

I think this knife is made to make a bridge between the small 58 mm knives and then the bigger knives (up to the big lock-blade knives).

Buy this if you need a light, but reliable tool with you everyday. It is a fine knife, and for the price it is almost a no-brainer. I also bought this knife just to have it. And for the price - well, if you have an extra 13 pounds to spend on fun - buy it. Have fun with it and buy a new one in 10 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of functions, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorinox 02503 Army Knife Recruit (Sports)
Plenty of functions on this basic knife that my adult son wanted. Slim enough to slip into any pocket with blades small enough not to be too dangerous. I was tempted to buy one that was more sophisticated, thinking this model would be too basic, but unless the other add-ons are needed & are going to be used there is no point. My Son was very pleased with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, basic knife, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorinox 02503 Army Knife Recruit (Sports)
Bought this for my son's friend as a birthday present. It perhaps does not have the street cred of the much bigger models with 28 blades and tools, but as a first pocket knife it seemed an ideal choice. Quality is as you would expect from Victorinox. Price and delivery were very acceptable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid knife, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorinox 02503 Army Knife Recruit (Sports)
The Victorinox knife is splendid for use when camping and walking. It is relatively compact and stores well plus it is relatively light. The knife is really sharp and the opther gadgets are all usefull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars handy pocket knife., 13 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorinox 02503 Army Knife Recruit (Sports)
Does exactly what you expect from a victorinox what more can you say .A great edged blade and handy secondary attachments.A must have in any rucksack or pocket when out in the great outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent knife, destined for conversion., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victorinox 02503 Army Knife Recruit (Sports)
Arrived one day earlier than expected which was great. The packaging was a bit squashed but this had no effect on the knife. It is an excellent item as expected from Victorinox. Both blades were shaving sharp and had no trouble whittling a piece of mahogany. I plan to customize this knife by making the can opener into a skew chisel, the large screwdriver into a straight chisel and the small blade into more of a lambsfoot/wharncliffe type profile. This will give me a whittling knife that is a fraction of the price of one built for the purpose. And still retainmost of the main functions of this knife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Victorinox 02503 Army Knife Recruit
£10.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews