Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tool for operating underground stopcocks
This works well for shutting and opening stopcocks in the garden or street that are located underground where it's very hard to do it by hand. The crutch is made of cast iron and fits easily over the stopcock handle and the tool is long enough to allow access to deep stop cocks but make sure it is long enough for your needs. The cross bar handle is not long but it gives...
Published on 9 Nov. 2009 by Jasfourfun

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor handle
Not great quality - quite thin steel. Main problem is that the handle 'T' piece is only six inches long and this means that there is insufficient leverage to turn even a moderately stiff stopcock. Rather than returning it I made two wooden extensions which increased the handle length to twelve inches so now it is ok. Can't understand why the manufacturer would skimp...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. T. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tool for operating underground stopcocks, 9 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Monument 339c Stopcock Key 42in - Crutch Pattern (DIY & Tools)
This works well for shutting and opening stopcocks in the garden or street that are located underground where it's very hard to do it by hand. The crutch is made of cast iron and fits easily over the stopcock handle and the tool is long enough to allow access to deep stop cocks but make sure it is long enough for your needs. The cross bar handle is not long but it gives enough turning force to operate the stop cock without problems in my case, and it should help get underground stopcocks turning when they have got stiff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, great price, fast delivery, you guessed I like it?, 9 Feb. 2010
By 
N. J. Gent - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monument 339c Stopcock Key 42in - Crutch Pattern (DIY & Tools)
If all things in life were this easy.... I spent a little time in local DIY store but coud not get a stop cock key long enough. I ordered this from Amazon and it arrived by the next day. It was actually not Amazon direct but a company called Toolbank. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job!, 4 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Monument 339c Stopcock Key 42in - Crutch Pattern (DIY & Tools)
Can't turn off and can hardly get at our stopcock. Was advised to get a stopcock key from B&Q. Got this one instead. Does a great job and was less than half the price of the one in B&Q! And it arrived within three days. Great product and great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 2 Jan. 2012
By 
N. Harbron "Nigel @ Trustplumbing" (SCARBOROUGH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monument 339c Stopcock Key 42in - Crutch Pattern (DIY & Tools)
I used to get very mucky turning a customer's water off from the street in an emergency but not since I bought this tool, ace. Very often water stop cocks are protected from frost by infilling the chamber with soil, tarmec or whatever and i used to dig it out, not any more. I just wind this into the mess until I feel the tap and robert is your father's brother. A good length and a blade one end of the handle in case you forgot your screwdriver to lever the lids off. Worth having.
Also consider the draper or monument inspection cover tools, they are very useful too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great tool, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 339c Stopcock Key 42in - Crutch Pattern (DIY & Tools)
this is the best stopcock key ever use very long very strong very meaty bit of metal would recommend to every one fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Useful Product, 16 July 2010
By 
nyquist (Hitchin, Herts., UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monument 339c Stopcock Key 42in - Crutch Pattern (DIY & Tools)
Ordered Monday 14 June, received from Buckingham Nurseries via Fedex on 17 June, within delivery estimate 18 - 22 June. Well packed, perfect condition.

Strong construction. The crutch was also handy for getting mud out of the very deep hole where my stopcock is located.

Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Dec. 2013
By 
F. Gray (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 339c Stopcock Key 42in - Crutch Pattern (DIY & Tools)
My stop cock is at the side of the washing machine, so when a washer went and I couldn't turn the tap off, I struggled to move the washing machine and turn the stop cock off as it's old and very stiff. Bought this and gave it a test run - just perfect, totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stopcock, 4 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Monument 339c Stopcock Key 42in - Crutch Pattern (DIY & Tools)
MANY THANKS THE ITEM WAS/IS 100% WHAT WAS REQUIRED AND HAS BEEN OF GREAT HELP GETTING AN AWKWARD JOB DONE.
SERVICE/PACKING 100% PERFECT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Secondary feature wasted by poor design, 24 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 339c Stopcock Key 42in - Crutch Pattern (DIY & Tools)
This tool does the job, my criticism is that the T-piece on mine has been welded on with the flat vertically rather than horizontally, see Faithfull STOPCOCKU Stopcock Key - Universal, so 0/10 for quality control at the factory. Also the flat is not very flat , so I think I would buy the Faithfull key if I needed another one as it looks to be a higher quality. This one is a bit TOO cheap and cheerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor handle, 16 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. T. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monument 339c Stopcock Key 42in - Crutch Pattern (DIY & Tools)
Not great quality - quite thin steel. Main problem is that the handle 'T' piece is only six inches long and this means that there is insufficient leverage to turn even a moderately stiff stopcock. Rather than returning it I made two wooden extensions which increased the handle length to twelve inches so now it is ok. Can't understand why the manufacturer would skimp on such a vital piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews