Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Torch For General Use
I bought one of these along with its bigger brother the 2D Torch. It comes nowhere the larger version in performance but it's not meant to. If you need a torch to attach to your keys or bag then this torch is for you. Ideal for close work and is very durable, it even comes with a battery and keyring attachment!
I would prefer a switch on the body rather than the...
Published on 20 Jan. 2008 by Dan

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expected better
I got a lot of use out of this little torch, because finding the right key/keyhole any light is good! However, I expected a lot better from Maglite.

Style:
Love the Style. Really nice design, simple operation. Its not much bigger than the AAA battery it contains.

Build:
The build quality is the best "feature" of the light. Mine was...
Published on 3 Jan. 2012 by J. Hanvy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Torch For General Use, 20 Jan. 2008
By 
Dan (Amazonia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maglite Boxed MGLK3A102 AAA Solitaire Torch - Silver (DIY & Tools)
I bought one of these along with its bigger brother the 2D Torch. It comes nowhere the larger version in performance but it's not meant to. If you need a torch to attach to your keys or bag then this torch is for you. Ideal for close work and is very durable, it even comes with a battery and keyring attachment!
I would prefer a switch on the body rather than the twist action on the lens. Otherwise it is hard to fault. You may find you'll be so impressed with the quality you will want the bigger torch for the house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expected better, 3 Jan. 2012
By 
J. Hanvy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maglite Boxed MGLK3A102 AAA Solitaire Torch - Silver (DIY & Tools)
I got a lot of use out of this little torch, because finding the right key/keyhole any light is good! However, I expected a lot better from Maglite.

Style:
Love the Style. Really nice design, simple operation. Its not much bigger than the AAA battery it contains.

Build:
The build quality is the best "feature" of the light. Mine was excellent. It did feel like it would last forever. Can't fault it.

Finish:
Maglite opted for level 2 annodisation (rather than level 3) so the surface scratches when in a pocket with keys. I recommend getting the silver colour as the silver doesn't show this up as badly.

Light:
This is what lets it down, and the reason I gave it such a low score (it is the reason you buy it!). The light is terrible. Maglite still haven't moved away from incandescent bulbs! In the world of LEDs, this is pretty pathetic. I got a £5 set of aluminium lights from the petrol station, and although terrible build quality the AAA light in the set was about 100x brighter - as it has an LED bulb. Even the tiny watch battery lights that came with the set were at least 10x brighter! The only advantage is that its a natural (yellow) light rather than blue/purple/white of cheaper LEDs. The brightness is just awful. You can use it to pick the right key and get it the right way up in a lock 2 feet away from your face, but don't hope to find your footing in the dark or find something in a dark room - its just too dim. Check out some photos of the beam in a comparison of AAA lights [...]l - search for "maglite" to get to the right section). You can see how bad it is compared to the competition!

Battery life:
As it has an incandescent bulb the batteries don't last that long. Mine ran out in about 2 months of light use. Considering LEDs with much brighter lights can last a lot longer its very short.

Conclusion:
Its such a let down. For a similar price you can get something like the Fenix E01 that has level 3 annodisation and a decent LED lght. For much less you can get a better, no-brand LED light from a petrol station or supermarket. Even the tiny watch-battery lights you can get for £1 will be brighter and probably last longer due to using an LED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to fault, 28 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Maglite Boxed MGLK3A102 AAA Solitaire Torch - Silver (DIY & Tools)
It's strange, all the things we consider unimportant. After all, isn't a torch a torch?
This one is so simple yet so robust and functional. Very tough and turned on/off and focused by rotating the lens end of the unit. The batteries last well due to the small yet bright-for- the-size bulb (spare included in end cap). In addition to focusing, the torch features a 'candle mode': unscrew the lens end completely, turn it glass downwards and insert the base of the torch into it -- and the exposed bulb gives a small but reasonable general lighting effect. Probably also quite good for candle-lit suppers in a mobile home/caravan, not that I've ever tried it.
Bearing in mind that this is a rather small torch working on two small batteries (i.e. not a floodlight), it is a reliable friend whose simple yet impressive functionality is elegance itself. If you're looking for something small to keep on your person, or stow in a car or caravan, or indeed use as a small inspection torch thanks to the adjustable focus, you'll be delighted. It's a pleasure to use, and it's surprising that there's so much good to find in a mere little torch.
Also makes a great business gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good built but too dim, 1 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed MGLK3A102 AAA Solitaire Torch - Silver (DIY & Tools)
The body of this torch is very smooth and well built. However, the light is extremely dim. In the days of LED lights, this is simply not up to the job. If you need this torch as a small portable light to use to see anywhere in the dark, forget about this and get a LED torch instead. I wanted to get some LED upgrade, but for this AAA Solitaire the LED bulb that I could find didn't seem very good (not fitting properly into the case) and they were more expensive than a new LED torch.
I later got a Fenix E05, and although its build feels much more rough and less finished, there is no comparison with the amount of light.

I could see that this torch might make sense if you need an intentionally small amount of light (e.g. if you need to use the torch right in front of your eyes for near objects) - but even in that case, the short life of incandescence bulbs might not make this a very good option anyway.

So, it's a bit of a pity that this nice torch body is left with an obsolete dim bulb - Maglite, just put a LED in this and it will be a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable little torch, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed MGLK3A102 AAA Solitaire Torch - Silver (DIY & Tools)
I got this for camping as it is small and fairly bright. You have to twist the top to turn it on and focus the beam which became a bit dodgy after i got a bit of sand in it and it became hard to twist and the light took a while to come on. I left it in a drawer over the winter and the battery leaked and messed up the torch even more. I guess for £5 i shouldn't have expected the best torch in the world. I've now upgraded to a head torch by Petzl which is much better. Should have just forked out the extra bit of cash in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not for serious use, 24 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Maglite Boxed MGLK3A102 AAA Solitaire Torch - Silver (DIY & Tools)
Ok, I know that this a pocket flashlight, but I would expect more from maglite.
Better if it had a led.
With new alkaline battery you get a 1.5m long fade out yellow beam.
Even for use inside the house is not good for me.If you want to look into
your bag it is ok.
However I am really font of
-its extra small size
-its spot to flow ability (not expected in such a compact design)
-its "candle" feature (take out the lens and you just got the bulb)
-the spare bulb on the screw end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great little torch, 14 Dec. 2010
By 
Ms. E. Shepheard-Walwyn (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed MGLK3A102 AAA Solitaire Torch - Silver (DIY & Tools)
The torch is very small - but that can be both a good and bad thing. I think it's great as it can fit on a key-chain no problem, is small and very light. I would have gone with the AA size one, but it is a gift and I had a maximum budget of £5 so this was the only maglite I could get. It is very bright, and looks good. It comes in a neat little box and works great. I bought it for my brother-in-law as he is off travelling soon, so I hope he likes it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for what it does, 30 Nov. 2010
By 
Ian O'Donnell "Adventsparky" (Tipperary, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maglite Boxed MGLK3A102 AAA Solitaire Torch - Silver (DIY & Tools)
As per the title of this review I feel this torch is good at what it does, but you need to know what that is. It definitely isn't strong enough for finding your way in the dark for example as the light isn't near strong enough. However for indoors, searching for something in a dark room if the electricity went it does the job.

It is small compact and cheap, what more can you ask of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mini Mag-Lite, 22 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Maglite Boxed MGLK3A102 AAA Solitaire Torch - Silver (DIY & Tools)
Small in size, light in weight & bright in the dark. Absolutely perfect combination for a mini Mag-Lite torch. It attaches to your keyring for convenience and is readily available for prompt utilisation. I was very pleased with the prompt delivery and would recommend this purchase to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Little Lights, 4 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed MGLK3A102 AAA Solitaire Torch - Silver (DIY & Tools)
Great little torch - surprisingly powerful beam and very handy, useful. It's a pity that the removable strap is so difficult to fix onto the end of the torch:- Not made for arthritic fingers.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews