Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini-Magnificent!
Wow - I ordered the MINI maglite and the light from such a small torch is fantastic. The focussed beam is a great bonus too - you turn the nozzle and the wide beam is drawn in until it forms a spot of light that reaches 70 foot to shine brightly on a car about this distance away, so probably could do even better than that if put to the test. Small and conpact but slightly...
Published on 27 Nov 2008 by N. L. Wiseman

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spend a bit more and get an LED flashlight
Maglites have always looked good and felt good but their single-bulb technology is now a bit dated. Set the maglite to produce a wide angle beam and you will find a black hole in the middle of the beam, which is the bulb blocking out the reflected light.
Look instead at LED flashlights which offer a much brighter beam, without the black hole, and much better battery...
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by George Martin


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spend a bit more and get an LED flashlight, 21 Mar 2011
By 
George Martin (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed Mini Mag AA Torch - Black (DIY & Tools)
Maglites have always looked good and felt good but their single-bulb technology is now a bit dated. Set the maglite to produce a wide angle beam and you will find a black hole in the middle of the beam, which is the bulb blocking out the reflected light.
Look instead at LED flashlights which offer a much brighter beam, without the black hole, and much better battery life. I have both an LED Lenser flashlight and an AA Maglite. The LED Lenser is so much brighter than the Maglite that it makes the Maglite look like a toy. LED flashlights are a bit dearer but you get a much more usable flashlight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini-Magnificent!, 27 Nov 2008
This review is from: Maglite Boxed Mini Mag AA Torch - Black (DIY & Tools)
Wow - I ordered the MINI maglite and the light from such a small torch is fantastic. The focussed beam is a great bonus too - you turn the nozzle and the wide beam is drawn in until it forms a spot of light that reaches 70 foot to shine brightly on a car about this distance away, so probably could do even better than that if put to the test. Small and conpact but slightly longer than you'd expect from the picture, but still easy to carry if out after dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The swiss knife of flashlights, 14 Oct 2009
This review is from: Maglite Boxed Mini Mag AA Torch - Black (DIY & Tools)
Now, it's a flashlight ok. It doesn't wash your laundry, it creates light. And as a flashlight it's damn good. Sure you can probably buy some no-name flashlight from your local store for a fiver, but it's always going to be so and so. Maglite on the other hand is a quality product. Something you can count on when you really need to.

I think I got my first maglite maybe some ten years go. And after that it has been the only brand I've owned. I think this is my third one. They last really well, especially considering what I put them through.

The flashlight itself is made of metal and feels very sturdy. You turn it on by turning the head, which also focuses the beam. So you can either get a wider light or a focused beam, which is very handy. If you turn it some more, the head comes off, leaving the bulb exposed, which can also come very handy sometimes as it then lights a much bigger space. Sort of like a candle, but like a candle it will burn your fingers if you touch the fire ;)

This is the small Maglite (altough the AAA version is even smaller). Basically slightly longer than the two AA batteries it uses (batteries included). So small enough to keep with you, when your out and about, you know back bagging, camping etc.

It comes with a black box for it to keep it in. Though to be honest, what kind of person keeps a flash light in a box. You keep it in your pocket, luggage, with your other stuff. Basically anywhere expect in a box of its own. It's not a fountain pen, it's a tool. A tool you keep with you, like a swiss knife.

Need a flash light? (stupid question, of course you do), look no further. But of course consider also the AAA model, which is slightly smaller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trusted Quality, 7 Jan 2010
This review is from: Maglite Boxed Mini Mag AA Torch - Black (DIY & Tools)
Does exactly what it says on the tin. Maglite (including 2 Duracell AA batteries) in black. Maglite are a trusted quality brand that I have used before and I would recommend this torch for anyone who might be into camping, in the forces (get a red filter), survival, adventure holidays etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Product, 8 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Maglite Boxed Mini Mag AA Torch - Black (DIY & Tools)
Well made and easy to use, batteries seem to last a long time as well - now just need to make sure I don't lose it like the last one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tidy Torch, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Grahame Beacher "grabags109" (Bradford England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maglite Boxed Mini Mag AA Torch - Black (DIY & Tools)
A very neat, light and sturdy product you might add to your key bunch. It works easily with just a twist -- and a twist to to vary its focus. The beam is enough for checking where your footing is difficult, for locating door locks etc.

The only problem I have with it is why does it have a strong and weighty box? Not necessary guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love my maglite!, 28 Aug 2009
By 
J. Long (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed Mini Mag AA Torch - Black (DIY & Tools)
I had previously owned a mini maglite and loved it. But it got lost, and I invested in it's larger counterpart - but larger didn't mean better! So I bought a new mini mag. It's incredibly powerful for such a little one, and only uses 2 AA batteries. Small enough for your pocket but big on it's beam! Beam is adjustable so you can pinpoint things, or see a larger picture. It's a brilliant value torch for what it delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great torch but much improved with LED upgrade, 27 Aug 2009
By 
Steve Ward (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maglite Boxed Mini Mag AA Torch - Black (DIY & Tools)
I have several of these torches. The light is good and the ability to adjust the beam is useful. You can also remove the lens and use the torch as a candle. However, having also purchased an LED Lenser Police Tech torch and upgraded one of Mini Mags to LED, I recommend this upgrade to get a better light and longer battery life. Note that you lose the candle option if you do this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It used to be good..., 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Maglite Boxed Mini Mag AA Torch - Black (DIY & Tools)
I own it for almost 20 years now and it has served me well. But honestly, why would you want to by one of these today? There's just no reason for it anymore.
LED is the standard today, and unfortunately the trusted old Mini-Mag just cannot compete - it sucks the two poor AA batteries empty in no time, and returns very little, badly focused light. Shop around a little and you can find an array of LED torches that don't cost more, but do the job sooo much better. Led Lenser and Fenix make some excellent flashlights in my experience.
If you like the design and want a Maglite, upgrading to the LED version of this model may be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maglite for ever, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Boxed Mini Mag AA Torch - Black (DIY & Tools)
What's not to lie? These Maglites have been around for ages. And I keep leaving them on holiday, or people pinch them. The design is near perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maglite Boxed  Mini Mag AA Torch - Black
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews